We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really enjoyed it” 4 of 5 stars
Review of La Tortilla Asesina

La Tortilla Asesina
99 Castle Street, Inverness IV2 3EA, Scotland
+44 1463 709 809
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #61 of 186 restaurants in Inverness
Cuisines: Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Ireland
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Really enjoyed it”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

Really liked this tapas bar. Nice furnishing, cosy & welcoming. Food very nice, very tasty with plenty of choices. Would return.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

171 reviews from our community

65% Recommend
    62
    51
    24
    13
    21
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Inverness, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Not to shabby”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

It may look a bit shabby from the outside but i must say I thoroughly enjoyed myself here. Not only was the food well cooked and fast out of the kitchen but the service and welcome me and my partner received was second to none. I would highly recommend this lovely wee restaurant.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Randolph, Vermont
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
93 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“When a Small Meal Will Do”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

When you travel, you sometimes find yourself in the position where you want to go out, but you don't want to eat a big meal. In Inverness, this is the restaurant that can come to your rescue.

Basically a Spanish tapas bar, we found their salads to be excellent (three tomato and house salad, featuring tuna). We sampled the paella and some fritters, admittedly not a big sample, but what we had was fresh and well-prepared. The five star rating for La tortilla Asesina is not so much for its food, but for being the right place for the right time.

Service, wine, and ambiance were all equal to the food.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
“Excellent find on a busy night.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013 via mobile

After forgetting to book a meal on a Saturday night we found this place just behind the castle. They squeezed us in and so pleased they did. Excellent service, good food and great value. Highly recommend the Sangria Blanco!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inverness, Scotland.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Fantastic, Si! for yourself”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

Went here today at 1750hrs to be told that if we ordered a bottle of wine( which we were going to anyway) you get 4 free tapas(worth £17) total no-brainer. Food was absolutely superb, we ordered another couple of tapas, a side salad and a shared desert. Loads of food and including the Spanish wine which was great too, came to £36.You do feel like your on holiday! Cannot rate this place highly enough.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Tortilla Asesina also viewed

Inverness, Scottish Highlands
 
Inverness, Scottish Highlands
Inverness, Scottish Highlands
 

Been to La Tortilla Asesina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Tortilla Asesina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.