We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ghillies Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Ghillies Lodge to your Saves list
Ghillies Lodge
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   16 Island Bank Road, Inverness IV2 4QS, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #60 of 226 Inverness B&B and Inns
Chertsey, Surrey
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Lovely”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2011

Although first impressions of Ghillies Lodge are not great (garden/porch a little scruffy, parking tight, room- floral print, faded/stained furniture and doilies!) I actually loved my one night stay here. The room has a very large window overlooking the river, easy walk into town, very cosy room, lovely little en suite, big fluffy towels, freeveiw, tea and coffee in room... The hostess was extremely friendly and easy to get on with and her breakfast was gorgeous! AND I saw my first ever red squirrel here! I would definitely choose to stay here again if visiting Inverness!

Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    6
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
2
19
3
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Schwandorf, Germany
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2011

After our stay last year we had a warm welcome. We also got the same room and it was beautiful and superb again. Clean and quiet room beside the river ness with splendid cooked (scottish) breakfast (as you like it). Excellent informations to your daily trips are given too. ABSTRACT: Next time in Inverness - again Ghillies Lodge :))

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oviedo, Florida
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2011

we loved this place. loved the walk to town and the walk on the island that is right across the water. our hosts were very attentive and informative. the only improvement would be a nicer guest lounge. the area offered is sufficient but not as nice as some others. otherwise this is just a wonderful place.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2010

I liked this B&B quite a bit. The house has a lot of character and is located in a beautiful woodsy neighborhood right on the banks of the river Ness, but is only a 15 minute walk into town. The owners are very welcoming and friendly, and they helped me plan my visit in the Inverness and Loch Ness areas. Great breakfasts also. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Schwandorf, Germany
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2010

This B & B was the best I've ever been to within the UK. The house lies directly besides the river and the service (breakast and trip informations provided by Mrs Mackay) was excellent. The room (incl. bathroom) was extremly comfortable and very clean. The Ghillies Lodge is about 10 min. walking distance from the town centre of Inverness and is located in a quiet and peaceful surounding. I only can recommend a stay in this lodge. There's nothing to complain about and it should be declared a 5 stars accomodation (officially 4 stars).

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pont-de-Roide, France
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2010

The Ghillies Lodge is the best B&B I've stayed during my week in Scotland ! The house is so cute, the hostess Mary is very nice and welcoming. The B&B is close to Inverness down town, a good location. And when you wake up in the morning, you can take your great Scottish breakfast with a pleasant point of view on the river Ness, it's magic.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ghillies Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ghillies Lodge

Address: 16 Island Bank Road, Inverness IV2 4QS, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Inverness
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #60 of 226 B&Bs / Inns in Inverness
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Ghillies Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your Ghillies Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ghillies Lodge Inverness, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ghillies Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.