We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Take a walk to the Loch” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dores Inn

Dores Inn
Dores, Inverness IV2 6TR, Scotland
01463 751203
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #9 of 181 Restaurants in Inverness
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Fusion, Gastropub, Scottish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Families with children, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Dessert, Breakfast, Lunch, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Palo Alto, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Take a walk to the Loch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

Wonderful food, get the beef rib! Have one of the sweets, and after the meal take a walk to the Loch and watch the sunset.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

802 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    500
    221
    52
    16
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Burnley, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Superb Food and Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

The setting is lovely - on the edge of Loch Ness. The food is FABULOUS, good value and the place is also dog friendly

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grantown-on-Spey, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Date night dinner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

What a great little pub!

My wife and I visited the Dores Inn for dinner on a Tuesday at the end of June. When we arrived the place was packed, which is always a good sign! We hadn't booked and thought we were out of luck. We were offered a table at 8:30 (it was about 7:15) or told we could sit in the bar. As luck had it a couple were just leaving and we were more than happy to sit in the bar.

The pub had a great selection of real ales on tap as well as keg beers. I ordered a pint of Happy Chappy from Cromarty Brewing Co., one of my favourites, it was freshly pulled through and was crystal clear and perfectly chilled.

The meal was fantastic, we shared a starter of sea bass tempura with an sesame oil and soy dip. For our mains we had haddock and chips and a bacon cheese burger. Both were great, the best fish I have had in a long time, crispy batter and very little grease. The Burger was top notch, really meaty and not full of filler. For desert we shared the special, salted caramel and chocolate cake with honeycomb ice cream with was utterly delicious.

A great night and great service, definitely worth the hours drive from Forres, we will be back but will book next time.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
“Lovely food with a great view”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

We ate here with friends on a Sunday night and the food was extremely good, the service fast and friendly and the view over Loch Ness magnificent.

There's a great view of the loch from the pebbly beach near the car park and if you time it right, you can see the sun setting between two hills. That finished off our evening perfectly.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stowmarket, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“dining”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

Excellant food but book a table early as they do gat fully booked however you can as we did eat at the bar or outside.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dores Inn also viewed

Inverness, Scottish Highlands
 
Inverness, Scottish Highlands
Inverness, Scottish Highlands
 

Been to Dores Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dores Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.