We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Regular customer. Favourite restaurant in Inverness” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dores Inn

Dores Inn
Dores, Inverness IV2 6TR, Scotland
01463 751203
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #9 of 181 Restaurants in Inverness
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Fusion, Gastropub, Scottish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Families with children, Special occasions, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dessert, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Inverness, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Regular customer. Favourite restaurant in Inverness”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

I have been going to the Dores Inn regularly for the past four years. I love it. The service is impeccable. The menu always changes and always has something interesting. The best local produce. It is better then the top of the range restaurants in Inverness. We go Summer and Winter and when we have visitors its the only place we bring them. the view over the Loch is outstanding and the inn/pub is welcoming, cosy and we've spent many a sunday afternoon there eating and drinking, reading the papers in the bar. But its the food thats the star, mouthwatering. Venison, prawns, pork ....everything they put on a plate is delicious and different. I normally go for the specials, its seasonal. Great value for money although the drinks are pricey. Hotel prices. They do an amazing battered haddock too. We have vegetarian friends and every time they visit it's the first place they want to go to. the quality is always consistent. It should be number one on the Trip advisor list to go too. I don't ever want it to change. Its perfect.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

800 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    499
    220
    52
    16
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Maulden, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“One of my favourites!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

I have never failed to be anything but delighted with this pub/restaurant. The staff are friendly and attentive (not too so). The food , especially the specials are always such a treat. For someone who never has Sunday Roast out I was pleasantly surprised, beef cooked perfectly.The main menu does change regularly and can seem "ordinary" but the specials make up for that.
Sadly we won't be travelling to Inverness as much but when we do I will always make the time to return here!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ripon, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“A fantastic Wednesday night”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

We were recommended to go to visit The Dores Inn by our hosts at the antfield house farm b&b
Expecting food and nothing more, our evening turned out to be an excellent night of fine food revellry and entertainment,
The food was exceptional with international dishes, cooked to perfection and presented well,
How ever the portions were massive!!
My wife would have loved some pudding but didn't have any room
We thoroughly enjoyed our selves, the ales and lagers were first rate, they had an extensive range of malts,
Entertainment was from two gentlemen singing and playing guitar and guest accompaniment of a harmonica player, they were brilliant, the locals are friendly and welcoming.
If you are in the area drop in you won't regret it.
Top rate!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inverness, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“Family Celebration”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

This is our local and we have been customers since moving to Strathnairn 5 years ago. It's always our first choice based on location,value for money and friendly service. The public bar is also dog friendly an added bonus and incentive after walking our King Charles Cavalier spaniel in the nearby fields ,along the beach or foreshore of Loch Ness. In August the larger lounge/restaurant was the venue for day 1 of a weeks run up to our son's wedding. The relaxed ambience in an iconic location was the perfect ice- breaker when 20 key members of the bride and grooms family met up for the first time as a prelude to the ceremony later in the week. Highly recommended

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inverness, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Fantastic Vegetarian choice, delicious food and friendly service .”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

As a Vegetarian family living in Inverness we struggle to eat out , most Restaurants in Inverness offer Pasta or Pizza as a veggie option . Today we went to The Dores Inn ( my 3rd visit ) . It is so refreshing to see a local Restaurant offering more than the bog standard fare , the menu was inventive , the food was delicious and fresh to boot . There were 5 / 6 veggie options , amazing for Inverness . I can highly recommend The Dores Inn for vegetarians .

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dores Inn also viewed

Inverness, Scottish Highlands
 
Inverness, Scottish Highlands
Inverness, Scottish Highlands
 

Been to Dores Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dores Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.