We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the greatest I've been on” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Jacobite Cruises, Loch Ness

Jacobite Cruises, Loch Ness
Glenurquhart Rd, Tomnahurich Bridge, Inverness IV3 5TD, Scotland
01463 233999
Website
Improve this listing
Book Now

Ranked #8 of 33 activities in Inverness
Type: Boat Tours
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: Water doesn't get much more mysterious than this 23 mile stretch running through the Great Glen in the Highlands of Scotland.There's no better way to experience Loch Ness than by boat. Jacobite's award winning tours and cruises get you onto the water and into the heart of this iconic landscape. This is a whole lot more than simply sight-seeing. We've been running trips on and around Loch Ness for over 30 years and most of us live here.
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Berlevåg, Finnmark, Norway
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“One of the greatest I've been on”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

This was my first visit to Scotland and of course I wanted to see the great Loch Ness. So I booked a tour with the Jacobite cruises.
However, it turned out that my tour was leaving from Clansman Harbour and that no buses what so ever were going there. So I went to the local tourist office in Inverness and they immideately called Jacobite up and for a few more £ I upgraded to the Sensation, which I heartily reccomend!

The tour felt personal, sensational and educating. Starting off with a guided bus drive down to the cruise boat. And then we went with the cruise boat over to the ruins of Uquart castle, where we got to spend 55 min.
Then we went to the Loch Ness Experience, an exhibition (?) about all the eyewitness' and and scientific research to prove if there is a Loch Ness monster or not.

DON'T MISS THIS!

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FredaNewton, Owner at Jacobite Cruises, Loch Ness, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
Dear Reviewer, thank you for your wonderful 5 star review. Our Sensation is one of our more popular trips and gives a real flavour of every aspect of the area, we're glad you enjoyed it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

605 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    366
    193
    32
    12
    2
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kirkwall, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Lovely views”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

We went on this trip last year, we sat at the front of the boat outside, we felt we owned it especialy with a refreshing bottle in our hand from the bar!

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FredaNewton, Owner at Jacobite Cruises, Loch Ness, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
Dear Reviewer, thank you for your wonderful feedback, we're so pleased you enjoyed your trip with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairn, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Good fun - The audio sounded a bit dated though...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

I went along with my family in the hope of tracking down the elusive 'Nessie'! The trip was well organised, and although the boat was very full (it was peak season, in fairness), there seemed plenty of room for everyone to either sit down in the cabin or upstairs, out in the bracing wind..
Nessie remained elusive, and although we elected to not visit the castle on this occasion, we still managed to get some lovely photos as we docked for others to either jump off or re-join the cruise during the 5 minute stop.
The whole trip took just under an hour, and we all thoroughly enjoyed it. My only complaints? The audio dialogue was very quiet and crackly and I couldn't really understand what was being said... Oh, and the coffee machine on the boat apparently did lovely coffee - only we didn't get any as it took too long to make it for the amount of people wanting a cup..

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FredaNewton, Owner at Jacobite Cruises, Loch Ness, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
Dear Reviewer, thank you so much for your wonderful feedback. We're sorry to hear you didn't manage to get a cup of our lovely coffee, it has been a challenge in peak season to serve so many people in such a short space of time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inverness, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
20 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Wedding celebration”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

Jacobite Queen was chartered for 75 people for an evening cruise from Tomnahurich to Urquhart Castle . Passengers were friends and family, all guests at my son's wedding. These guys were professional throughout, warm , friendly and nothing was too much trouble.We would unreservedly recommend them to anyone, whether individuals, couples or larger groups.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FredaNewton, Owner at Jacobite Cruises, Loch Ness, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
Dear Reviewer, what a wonderful way to celebrate a wedding, the team are so pleased you enjoyed your charter and would like to wish the happy couple all the very best for their future together.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wick, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“An excellent day out.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

My husband and I went on the six hour trip which included a coach tour, a visit to the Loch Ness visitor centre, two hours at Urquart Castle and a lovely long boat ride down the loch and the Caledonian canal. We thoroughly enjoyed it all and the weather was very nice which made it even better as we were able to fully appreciate everything we saw and of course it was practically a full day out. Definitely money well spent!

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FredaNewton, Owner at Jacobite Cruises, Loch Ness, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Dear Reviewer, thank you for your wonderful five star review. We're delighted you enjoyed the Passion tour and were lucky with the weather too.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jacobite Cruises, Loch Ness also viewed

Inverness, Scottish Highlands
Inverness, Scottish Highlands
 
Drumnadrochit, Loch Ness
Inverness, Scottish Highlands
 

Been to Jacobite Cruises, Loch Ness? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jacobite Cruises, Loch Ness, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Jacobite Cruises, Loch Ness to your Saves list