We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great trip” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Jacobite Cruises, Loch Ness

Jacobite Cruises, Loch Ness
Glenurquhart Rd, Tomnahurich Bridge, Inverness IV3 5TD, Scotland
01463 233999
Website
Improve this listing
Book Now

Ranked #8 of 33 activities in Inverness
Type: Boat Tours
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: Water doesn't get much more mysterious than this 23 mile stretch running through the Great Glen in the Highlands of Scotland.There's no better way to experience Loch Ness than by boat. Jacobite's award winning tours and cruises get you onto the water and into the heart of this iconic landscape. This is a whole lot more than simply sight-seeing. We've been running trips on and around Loch Ness for over 30 years and most of us live here.
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
“Great trip”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

Just been on the Sensation tour, which included a trip down the Loch, a visit to Urquhart Castle and the Loch Ness Exhibition Centre. Kenny our tour guide was one of the most friendly and informative guides we've ever met. His commentary on the bus showed how much he knows about the area and really enhanced the journey. This was a fabulous trip and great value for money. I would recommend it to anyone taking a wee trip to Inverness.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacobitecruises, Manager at Jacobite Cruises, Loch Ness, responded to this review, March 17, 2013
Thank you for your great revew. Kenny will be delighted to hear how much you enjoyed his tour and we are all delighted that you had a fabulous trip.

The Jacobite team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

604 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    365
    193
    32
    12
    2
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Washington, England
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Excellent boat trip”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

A thoroughly enjoyable 1 hour cruise on Loch Ness. The boat is comfortable and clean and the staff attentive and friendly. The cruise is accompanied by a very informative commentary about the Loch and surrounding area. Good value at £12.50

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jenannr, Manager at Jacobite Cruises, Loch Ness, responded to this review, March 17, 2013
Thank you for your 5 star review. We are happy that you found the staff attentive and friendly, we will pass your kind comments on to them.

The Jacobite team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
31 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Fantastic Views”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

Having went a trip up North we traveled to Loch Ness to see if we could spot Nessie. We had stopped at a small shop and hotel and decided to take a wee trip down to see the Loch. I'm glad we did as we stumbled across Jacobite Cruises and decided to go on an hours cruise down Loch Ness. The top deck was open so you could get some fantastic pictures and there was a lovely cafe where you could sit and take in the views. You get a great view of Loch Ness & it also stopped at the castle, were there is an option to get off and do a tour.

Really glad we stumbled across Jacobite Cruises as we got to see more of Loch Ness and enjoyed the trip.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacobitecruises, Manager at Jacobite Cruises, Loch Ness, responded to this review, March 1, 2013
We are glad that you stumbled across us too :) Thank you for such a great review, we are really pleased you enjoyed our cruise.

from the Jacobite team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
64 attraction reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Great day out!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013 via mobile

Did the Loch Ness boat trip with a visit to Urquhart castle and the Loch Ness experience in Drumnadrochit. Te bus was on time, the driver very friendly, explaining the procedure of the different groups in a friendly way. The boat trip on the loch was wonderful, with a full commentary. Urquhart castle was a stunning location which Could be visited without a guide which I really like. At the car park we were picked up by the bus again and driven to Drumnadrochit. The driver told us about the scenery and surroundings. Did not visit the Loch Ness experience but walkend into the village. lovely place. After aanhoor were pickedmup again and driven back to Inverness. Real value for money, especially for travellers who didn't bring transport.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacobitecruises, Manager at Jacobite Cruises, Loch Ness, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Thank you for your great review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your day out with us and we appreciate you taking the time to recommend us, especially to travellers without their own transport.
Thank you
The Jacobite team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“Great Day out”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

This is one of the few excursions available through the winter. We had travelled to Inverness by train for a weekend break, so had no transport. This company picks you up in a coach from the city centre and takes you out to the boat. The tour is called the "Sensation". The driver "Sue" was a mine of information about the area and kept us entertained on the coach trip to the boat. Once on the boat, we were transported up the loch to Urqhuart castle. The day was lovely but cold although the boat is windowed and heated downstairs and you get a running commentary all the way. Snacks and drinks are available on the boat. Once at the castle we had 1 hour to explore and see the visitor centre. We were then bussed to the Nessie centre at Drumnadochit. Not much to write home about, but some bits were interesting. After an hour at this venue we were again bussed by Sue, back to Inverness. The commentary from Sue continued and was very enjoyable and informative. All in all a very worthwhile trip and we thought well worth the money (£29 each) for a 4 hour outing. Entry to both venues are included.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacobitecruises, Manager at Jacobite Cruises, Loch Ness, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
Thank you for your great review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your tour with us and Sue will be delighted to hear that your enjoyed her commentary.
The Jacobite team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jacobite Cruises, Loch Ness also viewed

Inverness, Scottish Highlands
Inverness, Scottish Highlands
 
Drumnadrochit, Loch Ness
Inverness, Scottish Highlands
 

Been to Jacobite Cruises, Loch Ness? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jacobite Cruises, Loch Ness, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Jacobite Cruises, Loch Ness to your Saves list