We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mac Dougall Clansman Hotel

Mac Dougall Clansman Hotel
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Inverness
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Mac Dougall Clansman Hotel
Save
You added Mac Dougall Clansman Hotel to your Saves list
Church Street, Highland, IV1, Inverness, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 34 Hotels in Inverness
Sydney
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2012

The owner of this hotel is lovely and the service provided was excellent. The rooms were very nice considering the rates.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    17
    5
    3
    0
See reviews for
9
10
6
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Teesside
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2012

While this was very reasonably priced for a city centre hotel, and the lady owner was very helpful and accomodating, the building itself let the side down. The room was okay, a bit basic, no hairdryer, and a sticky shower door. There was quite a lot of noise in the early morning from trucks going past in the street. The decor was a bit tired, and there were pictures of the Queen around which appeared to be newspaper pull outs. When we came down for breakfast the ceiling of the breakfast room was leaking in two places, with towels and bowls on the floor to catch the drips. Not a great start to the day.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pegnitz, Germany
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2012

Centrally located the small Hotel / Guesthouse was a good choice. Since it was Sunday parking was no problem, on other days the lack of private parking space could be a matter. The interior was old fashioned, but clean and working. The room itself was fair sized, the bathroom small with toilett, sink and small shower.

The breakfast was freshly cooked and tasty, the service was friendly. Free Wifi was available.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest, Hungary
Top Contributor
127 reviews 127 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
102 helpful votes 102 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2012

It's everything a tourist needs in a hotel: centrally located (5 minute walk from train station), reasonably priced (40 pounds a night for one person), very friendly and accommodating management and staff, good breakfast, clean bathrooms, a good place to change clothes and shower and rest. No safe or fridge in rooms. Not much atmosphere outside, but inside the lobby is more like a living room. Dining area was Scottish, with mural of clansman and tartan drapes. If you don't want to pay an arm and a leg for your hotel, and you want all of the convenience of a nice tourist stop, I recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winston Salem, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2012

I spent two nights in this small family run hotel. I arrived in Inverness late after 10pm without a booking, and although the front door was locked, a phone call found staff at the desk and he was exceptionally willing to assist me. He went the extra mile.
Since I'm a trad music fan, I was interested in this hotel additionally because it was close to one of Scotland's best pub music venues. Additionally, the hotel was close to the major road through the city, but not so close that it made it noisy, just convenient.
The room was not flashy, but clean, comfortable and maintained. Breakfast was above average, though it would be nice if it started at 730 instead of 8.

I would definitely seek this hotel out if I were going to be in the Inverness area again.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portree
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2012

We stay here every time we come down from Skye! I love it! It is a little old fashioned family run hotel. It is how a hotel should be. It is quaint with character and run by a super friendly family. It's like taking a step back in time to what a good Hotel would of looked like in the early 70's. We absolutely adore this hotel! They do a great breakfast and do their upmost to provide their customers with good old fashioned kindness and gratitude! They just don't make them like this anymore!!! FABULOUS!!!!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tofino, Canada
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2011

The hotel has a great location. It's a short walk to the bus station, castle, river, & many shops. I stayed for several nights. It was clean, comfortable, and the owners were very accommodating by leaving me out some items to eat for breakfast as I was leaving by bus early in the a.m.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mac Dougall Clansman Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mac Dougall Clansman Hotel

Address: Church Street, Highland, IV1, Inverness, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Inverness
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 34 Hotels in Inverness
Number of rooms: 13
Also Known As:
Mac Dougall Clansman Hotel Inverness, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mac Dougall Clansman Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.