We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“1st time in a Scottish guest house - by far satisfied” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pitfaranne Guest House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Pitfaranne Guest House to your Saves list
Pitfaranne Guest House
57 Crown St., IV2 3AY, Scotland,, Inverness, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #51 of 227 Inverness B&B and Inns
Ioannina, Greece
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“1st time in a Scottish guest house - by far satisfied”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2014

We were a group of three and booked a cottage house for the weekend. Everything was perfect! The house inside was beautifully decorated with modern furniture and all the amenities included!! Most importantly the house was in an immaculate condition just as feeling at home. We also had breakfast (salmon with scrambled egg really rocks) which had everything you need to start your day (variety of cereal with milk, marmalade, juice etc).

Not to forget that the owner of the Pitfaranne was a sweet Scottish lady who really gave us a warm welcome and catered for all we needed.

Definitely will return!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    45
    15
    3
    0
    1
See reviews for
15
28
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Worcestershire
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

Stayed for two nights in May in room 5 from memory. Comfortable & clean with good breakfast - Pearl introduced me to veggie haggis for breakfast instead of black pudding - very good. Close to all of Inverness city centre & the station. Off street parking.

Room Tip: Can only speak of our room which was 5 - clean, comfortable & quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tredegar, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2014

have to say this is one of the best guest house i have stayed in. The owner pearl lives up to her name she is a real gem lovely rooms with all the little extras water and biscuits left daily, proper shampoo in the shower and best of all pearl herself she couldnt do enough for you, she was a fund of information about where to go, best places to see and eat and to top it all she does a lovely breakfast . Stay here you wont be dissapointed

Room Tip: we stayed in room 3 but every room was lovely and she also has a one bedroomed cottage
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2014

Three of us stayed at Pitfaranne guest house for one night in May 2014. Great clean and tidy B and B perfectly situated. Pearl couldn't have done enough for us. Motorbike friendly with off street parking and a great local pub with good food. Highly recommended.

Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chonburi, Thailand
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2014

Superb brekkie, kippers were to die for....even my tahi family loved them. A good old blether after too!!! Very clean and extremely friendly establishment. THE ALSATION was superb too!!!
The recommended Castle Inn, 5mins, was superb too.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxted
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2014

Warmly welcomed on arrival by Pearl who is a delightful, friendly and helpful hostess. Our room was the front twin on the ground floor. The room was immaculately clean and cosy with everything provided - the only thing missing was a soap holder in the shower which is a minor detail. The beds were very comfortable as were the two club chairs. Not long after arriving and settling in, the power went off right across Scotland. Within minutes, Pearl was at the fusebox checking nothing amiss. She also had a supply of torches available for her guests. Pearl recommended we go to The Castle Tavern for dinner. With the power off, they couldn't operate their tills so we went for an exploratory walk returning to The Castle about 9pm - they serve food up to 11 pm. Good beers on tap and excellent wines available. The food was fantastic so Pearl's recommendation was 100%. Pearl gave us fresh fruit salad for a starter at breakfast - delicious. Her cooked breakfast is plentiful and superbly cooked. We were so impressed with Pitfaranne that we booked a return visit after our travels round Scotland. For the 2nd visit, Pearl gave us the family room on the 1st floor. Very comfortable indeed - again with all provided. We had to be at Inverness Station for 7.30 am. Pearl insisted on cooking breakfast for us for 6.30 am. Again, a substantial and delicious cooked fare having had fresh fruit salad starter. Pearl's B&B is homely, well established and reflects Pearl's warmth and gracious hospitality. We definitely recommend Pitfaranne which is very reasonably priced and in a super, quiet location: 3 minutes walk to the centre of Inverness/4 to 5 minutes walk to the station.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2014

Stayed on this on a business trip and could not fault it one bit.
We loved this guest house. Warm, cosy, clean and extremely friendly. Pearl was a fantastic host and her breakfast was second to none. Were made to feel extremley welcome and we will certainly be back. Thank you Pearl :)

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Pitfaranne Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pitfaranne Guest House

Address: 57 Crown St., IV2 3AY, Scotland,, Inverness, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Inverness
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #51 of 227 B&Bs / Inns in Inverness
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Pitfaranne Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pitfaranne Guest House Inverness, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pitfaranne Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.