We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best wee B'n'B in the world ever............” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Rossmount Guest House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Inverness
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Rossmount Guest House
Save
You added Rossmount Guest House to your Saves list
32 Argyle Street, Inverness IV2 3BB, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 227 Inverness B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Glasgow
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“The best wee B'n'B in the world ever............”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2010

First of all I have to recommend the owners , a lovely couple who were the perfect, friendly hosts. Breakfast , as you wish it , ( I had everything) was something of a meal, ham , eggs , scone, sausage, mushroms etc ! , you can take less than my portion , cereal for example (hmm I frown ... there's nothing like cooked breakfast)
The beds are comfortable and the rooms are lovely ( i liked the shower too )
Perfect ? YES
Back again ? DEFINATELY
The capitals are intentional , I can't shout enough about this place.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

205 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    174
    29
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
27
92
50
13
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Den Bosch, The Netherlands
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2010

After having enjoyed the first day of our two-day great Highlands Tour, the Rossmount was a very comfy place to come 'home' too. Our room was very clean and tidy, with a modern, fresh 'look & feel', the bathroom was superb, and we loved the little extra things that were provided: the sweets and biscuits, tea, hot chocolate, coffee, etc. After a lovely but chilly late evening stroll around Inverness it was heaven to be able to relax and treat ourselves to a steaming cuppa- and some treats to go with it! Breakfast the next day was served earlier than usual as we were going to be picked up rather early, but Ruth & Robert did not blink - although they did jokingly call our tour guide a slave driver ;-). It was great to be able to select what we wanted to have for breakfast, and we weren't disappointed - it was a great start of the day. Best bit about the Rossmount though was that Robert went to fetch one of their cats on finding out we were great cat lovers - and came back with the biggest cat ever, who was lying back in his arms with a resigned air, every bit as accommodating as his owners (everyone knows you don't really own a cat, right?). A real shame we forgot to take a picture of him... All in all, we would recommend the Rossmount to anyone travelling to Inverness!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dunbar scotland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2010

travelling alone with my bike, this place ticked all the boxes for me for a one night stopover..owners v accomodating..

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2010

We were looking at wedding venues. We needed a central Inverness location. The Rossmount Guest House was warm, comfortable and the breakfast first class. We had our large dog with us and that was no problem. Robert and Ruth were perfect hosts.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orkney
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2010

Staying at Rossmount was like visiting old friends. Our hosts Ruth and Robert were so easy to get on with and endlessly helpful, especially attentive to disabled visitors.
The rooms are comfortable with a well-considered layout . Exceptional décor – lovely, light and airy – ‘boutique hotel’ quality at B&B prices! The rooms are uncluttered but still contain everything you need -- rare in a B&B. Extremely clean and quiet. Good location for the railway station and central Inverness. Breakfast – fantastic! Generous portions, deliciously prepared.
Wish we could have stayed longer!

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2010

We visited Rossmount last week and had a great time with Robert and Ruth. They are a very friendly couple, fun to be with and very knowledgeable on local places to visit. The house is lovely and quiet but close enough to the centre of Inverness to be able to explore on foot. We will certainly go there again.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
edinburgh
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2010

Just come back from two days in Inverness staying with Robert and Ruth staying at the Rossmount Guest House and it was like a home from home we were made so welcome and nothing was a problem advising us how to get to places and good places to eat. Breakfast was delicious and expertly cooked and presented - rooms were spotless and so comfortable. Very easy couple to relate to - highly recommended - Thanks Maureen and Billy

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Rossmount Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rossmount Guest House

Address: 32 Argyle Street, Inverness IV2 3BB, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Inverness
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 227 B&Bs / Inns in Inverness
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rossmount is a Victorian stone built townhouse dating from 1870. The house has been recently, sympathetically, refurbished to a high standard by new owners, Robert & Ruth, and retains a wealth of original features.Conveniently situated in the quiet, residential Crown area of Inverness a 5 minute walk from the town centre shops & restaurants, Inverness castle , Eden Court Theatre & both train & bus stations, Rossmount is an ideal base for exploring the Scottish Highlands . ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Rossmount Guest House Hotel Inverness
Rossmount Guest House Inverness, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rossmount Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.