We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quaint and cosy B&B” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rossmount Guest House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Inverness
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Rossmount Guest House
Save
You added Rossmount Guest House to your Saves list
32 Argyle Street, Inverness IV2 3BB, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 227 Inverness B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Singapore
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Quaint and cosy B&B”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2010

The rooms were very well thought and planned out. I especially appreciated the heated towel rack and packets of lotion in the bathroom. The beds were very comfortable and the room had a nice, cosy feel to it. Not much of a view though, but since we were only inside after dark it didn't really matter.

The dining room was a cheerfully decorated room overlooking the street. Breakfast can be customized from either continental or cooked. I personally had the cooked breakfast, which was fabulous, but the continental (ham and cheese) was delicious too.

In terms of location, there is a bit of a walk to the restaurants and shops, but it won't take longer than 15 minutes (if you're strolling) to get there.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

205 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    174
    29
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
27
92
50
13
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bendigo, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2009

Bob and Ruth were very accommodating. My wife and daughter's dietary requirements were no problem for these two lovely people. And it was a pleasure to be somewhere in the UK where the plumbing worked well. A high pressure shower was marvelous.

We would definitely stay here again.

Stayed September 2009, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2009

Staying here was the best part of our fantastic two weeks in Scotland. Breakfast was absolutely to die for -- wonderful home-cooked food with generous portions that kept us energized for the day. The owners are so friendly, helpful and genuine we felt like one of the family. The place was clean, cheerful and quiet and we'd stay here again in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, GA
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2009

You couldn't ask for more friendly and helpful hosts! They were very accommodating and helpful with directions to and from and even took us to the train station! We thoroughly enjoyed getting to know them and spending time in their home. The room was a little small since we had so much luggage and the beds weren't that comfortable but if you aren't there for very long, it wouldn't matter. The food was good and parking was free. The location was a little off the beaten path and walking to and from was a little far but doable.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2009

Everything you want in a B&B. The breakfast was delicious, the room was comfy and the hospitality was "like visiting good friends".

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2009

We stayed at the Rossmount B&B as an overnight before travelling onto Orkney and another overnight on the way back. All week in Orkney I was looking forward to the stay back in Inverness! Robert collectecd us from Inverness when we arrived and immediately made my son (10) and I feel welcome and at home. He dealt very well with the most talkative boy in the world ( a mean feat I can tell you!). We left early the next day for our trip "up north" and Ruth made us sandwiches especially as we had to leave too early for breakfast. The room we stayed in was fabulous, immaculately clean with everything you could possibly need (the chocolate eclair sweets are particularly comforting after a long day travelling by the way!).

On our return Robert again collected us from the bus station, took our bags up to the B&B and dropped us into town so that we could have something to eat.

Overall it was the highlight of my hoilday and I would love to go back there again! Both Ruth and Robert were fantastic hosts and put themselves out to make us feel at home. Brilliant! and thanks! :-)

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint-Petersburg
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2009

I needed a room for one night to stay in Inverness and found this lovely B&B through internet. I sent a request and got a reply shortly after that.
This little guest house is a great place to stay: very cosy and homelike. The owners are very friendly and willing to help. I had a single room which was very spacoius and lovely and had all the necessary facilities in it. The breakfast was very tasty. Everything was very clean and spotless. But the most important thing about this B&B is a very special atmosphere of warmth and friendliness.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Rossmount Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rossmount Guest House

Address: 32 Argyle Street, Inverness IV2 3BB, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Inverness
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 227 B&Bs / Inns in Inverness
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rossmount is a Victorian stone built townhouse dating from 1870. The house has been recently, sympathetically, refurbished to a high standard by new owners, Robert & Ruth, and retains a wealth of original features.Conveniently situated in the quiet, residential Crown area of Inverness a 5 minute walk from the town centre shops & restaurants, Inverness castle , Eden Court Theatre & both train & bus stations, Rossmount is an ideal base for exploring the Scottish Highlands . ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Rossmount Guest House Hotel Inverness
Rossmount Guest House Inverness, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rossmount Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.