We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic host, great location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Macrae Guest House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Inverness
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Macrae Guest House
24 Ness Bank, Inverness IV2 4SF , Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #93 of 217 Inverness B&B and Inns
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
“Fantastic host, great location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

I stayed in Macrae in January and again March 2013. Both times I was greeted by the lovely and helpful Joyce. It is a perfect location to explore Inverness and its surrounds, only a few minutes walk to the town centre but on a quite road looking over the River Ness. This guesthouse gives you everything you need for a relaxing break. Free wifi is also great for anyone staying there on business.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

31 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    22
    3
    4
    2
    0
See reviews for
4
19
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Shropshire
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

We stayed with Joyce late Sep 12 (sorry for the late review) over the Marathon weekend and booked our room at the Macrae Guest House for its location (close to the centre of town and right beside the riverside). Our family room was at the front of the house and looked out over the river, but wasn't noisy even though a main road runs right outside.

Joyce was extremely welcoming and offered us some good advice over places to go for decent food; unfortunately we had a curry on our first night (which was awful) before we quizzed her about the local restaurants. When you take a look at other reviews of The Macrae Guest House there are some harsh comments - Joyce couldn't help us enough - she provided an extra early breakfast prior to departing for the marathon and even cheered us along when we eventually hobbled past at 25 and a bit miles!! The continental breakfast may not be to everyone's liking, but it was healthy and filled both me and my partner up nicely. I agree with other comments that the en-suite in our room was a little small, but the family room was large and the bed was comfortable. What some people often forget is that most B&Bs are usually homes and are lived in and decorated by their owners - so the taste in decor may not be to your personal liking and the size/shape of the rooms may limit the size of an en-suite.

We would certainly stay here again the next time we visit Inverness. Joyce and her son were very hospitable and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay with them.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marlborough, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

Book ealy for a view over the river! This was the tip on tripadvisor for this b&b! I emailed on 13th September asking about availability for March, no reply received so I asked again on 18th only to be told 'sorry I don't take booking for 2013 until the second week in January ' I know March is 6 months away but I have a special occasion and need to get everything in place. I feel this is a pretty poor response, what difference does it make to them if we reserve a room 6 months in advance!!! Needless to say I will be looking elsewhere, there are plenty of options in the Inverness, 2 of who have already taken my bookings so just one more to book and my trip is organised.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012

Thanks Joyce for a great stay,
Very good location, walking distance to many attractions.
Good security for the car.
Joyce was easy to talk to and gave us her knowledge of the local area, plus thanks to Ian her son for directions in the Isle of Skye.
The room was a delight, with a great view.
Thanks again from two Australians
Linda and Mike

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bundanoon
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

My wife and I have stayed in many B&Bs in the UK during our three month holiday and our one week stay in Inverness was among the most pleasant. The location was within easy reach of the city centre and the river, with many pleasant walking areas, parking was good and very secure. We had a large room with a Chesterfield lounge, a very comfortable bed and a clear view over the River Ness, the en-suite a good size. If anyone wrote a bad review of this accommodation then it is clear that they had never stayed there.

Room Tip: Book early for a view over the river
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2012

Location, location, location! Easy walk from city center, quiet pretty spot by the river. Also nice walk to swimming pool & river islands. Friendly, helpful proprietor had the most warm & nurturing style out of all the places we stayed on this trip. Room was a bit cramped w/ not enough hooks or places to put things, but otherwise nice.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
melbourne
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2011

We stayed two nights at Macrae and Joyce was very friendly and welcoming. Our room was huge compared to some we stayed in although the shower was pretty small - no room to turn around. Other than that couldnt fault the place - just lovely. The bed was beautiful - almost afraid to spoil it by getting in. Very lovely views over the river and nearby walks were just perfect. Walking to everywhere local was easy. Very enjoyable stay. Parking at the rear was very handy too. Breakfast was continental only but you certainly dont go hungry.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Macrae Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Macrae Guest House

Address: 24 Ness Bank, Inverness IV2 4SF , Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Inverness
Hotel Style:
Ranked #93 of 217 B&Bs / Inns in Inverness
Also Known As:
Macrae Guest House Inverness, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Macrae Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Macrae Guest House to your Saves list