We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great night” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Chieftain Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added The Chieftain Hotel to your Saves list
The Chieftain Hotel
3.0 of 5 Inn   |   2 Millburn Road, Inverness IV2 3PS, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #138 of 220 Inverness B&B and Inns
Inverness, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“great night”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

we arrived on friday 19th jan for a party and one nights stay.very friendly warm welcome and shown to our room.then very well attended party and lovely buffet.after an excellent nights sleep we went down for breakfast which was massive.as much fresh tea and coffee as we wanted.price was fantastic for our triple room and breakfast,i would certainly recomend this hotel to everyone

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kerri L, Manager at The Chieftain Hotel, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
Hi Mrs Gow, Thank you for writing the lovely comment on Trip advisor, we are really happy you enjoyed your stay at the Chieftain Hotel & hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    17
    5
    12
    18
See reviews for
17
25
4
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
perth scotland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013 via mobile

we had a lovely night at this hotel at our friends party. everyone was so helpful and the service wad excellant. the rooms were lovely and warm. check in was fast and efficiant nothing was to much troublel woukd not hesitate to reccomend this hotel to anyone and would certainly return

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kerri L, Manager at The Chieftain Hotel, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
Hi Thank you for taking time to write a lovely review on Trip advisor we really appreciate this, it was a great weekend & we hope to see you at the Chieftain soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elgin, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

Excellantly priced hotel with wonderful hosts in Liz the manageress and her daughter Kerry whom considering it was hogmoney would do anything for you to make your stay pleasureable. They made us feel welcome from the minute we arrived. Hotel is in excellant condition having had a major refurbishment earlier in the year and rooms are all of a good size and well decorated to modern standards. Breakfast is nicely cooked with good choice. Ate evening meal on both nights and thought on both occassions value for money taking into account the actual room price compared to others in the area! Would certainally go back.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the side as the ones to the front can be noisy due to the close proximity of the m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kerri L, Manager at The Chieftain Hotel, responded to this review, January 6, 2013
Hi Kevin, Thank you for taking time to write a review on Trip advisor. We are happy that you were pleased with your stay at the Chieftain Hotel, it was lovely having you stay over Hogmanay! We hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012 via mobile

After staying at the Chieftain Hotel recently I felt I had to write about my experience.
As I walked into the main lobby I was greeted with a very friendly lady who gave me a sense if nothing was to much for her. I later learned this was the manager and she and her staff went out of their way to make our stay the best they could.
We hadn't had anything to eat on
our journey and the kitchen was shut but they took it upon themselves to rustle us up with some soup & sandwiches, a generous and thoughtful touch.
To add to this it was a warm, very clean & beautiful room, the food was delicious and the whole experience was very good value for money and I'd love to return again in the new year.
Thank you very much for a pleasant stay :)

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kerri L, Manager at The Chieftain Hotel, responded to this review, December 27, 2012
Dear Guest, Thank you for reviewing the Chieftain Hotel. I appreciate your business and positive comments. We look forward to seeing you at the Chieftain Hotel in 2013.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elgin, Illinois
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

Place looked lovely but what do you expect from a makeover!! Thought the staff were friendly and polite but the food was not matching the decor. Shame really wanted it to work. It is a good finish to the hotel and I hope it gets back to what it really was in the first place but it seems its all mixed up right now. Is it a pub? Is it a restaurant and hotel. Not sure and its a shame

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kerri L, Manager at The Chieftain Hotel, responded to this review, December 22, 2012
Hi Guest, Thank you for your review. I apologise that your time at the Chieftain was confusing for you on this occasion, this is never our intention.
We like to think we cater for all at the Chieftain Hotel. If you would like to stay & have a quiet drink/meal with us then the hotel & lounge area is for you, or if you would like a lively atmosphere then the public bar would be for you! We hope to see you soon at the Chieftain Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inverness, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

Having had amazing meal deals courtesy of groupon all over Scotland I was excited at treating my friend for his 65th birthday to a 2 course lunch at the Chieftain. Especially since the refurb I thought we were in for a real treat.I was stunned at the reception we got - a v surly 'groupon - right you can have ...and instead of what we were promised in the voucher a choice of any 2 courses from the menu we were told we would have garlic mushrooms and a choice of macaroni cheese or MINCE!!!! it was onlyy after creating a fuss and the clear indicaation we were NOT happy that we were allowed to choose from the main menu. I felt for the 2 groups who came in after us with the same offer - all tucking into MACARONI CHEESE!!!!! thanks but no thanks. We will NOT be returning and we have told all our friends to steer clear. Surly jobsworth staff and mediocre service. It was really enbarassing for my male friend whose birthday it was whilst I negotiated what we could and could not eat...

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kerri L, Manager at The Chieftain Hotel, responded to this review, December 23, 2012
Dear Guest, we are disappointed to hear that you were not happy with your groupon menu which was valued at £4.50 per head for 2 courses. We have had positive feedback from all other guests regarding the portions, choice & value of the food. We would love to have you back to sample our full menu.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fife
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

Just returned from an enjoyable stay at the newly refurbished Chieftain Hotel. As soon as you enter the front door you'll be amazed at the transformation. The tasteful decor and the realistic wood burning stove in a traditional setting all adds to the ambience of a warm highland welcome.

We appreciated the personal touch from the friendly staff.

Our spotlessly clean bedroom had new furniture including an extremely comfortable bed. The ensuite has been totally refitted to a high standard.

There was a varied menu, the food was delicious, well presented and served by a very attentive staff.

The efforts and hard work of the new management team will ensure that the Chieftain is top of our list when visiting Inverness.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kerri L, Manager at The Chieftain Hotel, responded to this review, December 22, 2012
Dear Guest, Thank you for reviewing the Chieftain Hotel. I appreciate your business and positive comments. We look forward to seeing you at the Chieftain Hotel in 2013.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Chieftain Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Chieftain Hotel

Address: 2 Millburn Road, Inverness IV2 3PS, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Inverness
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #138 of 220 B&Bs / Inns in Inverness
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Chieftain Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Chieftain Inverness is a family run Inn just 5 minutes walk from the city centre. Here Liz Lawson and her family ensure that guests enjoy the refurbished rooms, bar & restaurant, where food is available all day from a good value menu.The refurbished 14 en-suite rooms are situated on the first & second floors and have everything you would expect from a Scottish Inn. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your The Chieftain Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Chieftain Hotel Inverness, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Chieftain Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.