We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“bad night” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Nico's Bistro and Bar

Nico's Bistro and Bar
8-15 Ness Bank | Glen Mhor Hotel & Apartments, Inverness, Scotland (Formerly Nico's Seafood and Grill House)
+44 1463 234308
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #63 of 195 Restaurants in Inverness
Cuisines: French, Seafood, Scottish, Grill, Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Description: Set on the tree lined banks of the River Ness in the shadow of the Inverness Castle - Nico's is a moments walk from all the attractions in the city centre and sits directly opposite the Cathedral and Eden Court Theatre. We couldn't be better placed for an evening out in Inverness, a dinner before theatre or a leisurely drink by the river with friends. There is no better pre-show dining venue, but booking is advisable. Nico's is inspired by French home-style cooking, offering guests a relaxed and informal dining experience. We regularly run food promotions like our Early Bird Menu, Steak Friday, and our head chef, Chris Bond, revels in the bespoke menus for those special eating occasions.
Inverness, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“bad night”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2013

we went to nicos, as we had been before for a evening meal ,but sadly this time it was very poor,the food was not the standard I would have expected,the prices are a bit expensive ,The staff were good but our previous visit was excellent,Our food was steak and I feel that the cooking of the steak was not done to the standard that it should have,It was chewy and over cooked and the chips were hard ,So sadly we will not be returning to nicos anytime soon,

  • Visited November 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glenmhormanager, Manager at Nico's Bistro and Bar, responded to this review, December 3, 2013
We are sorry to hear of your disappointment on your last visit.
You would have expressed your feelings while having your dinner, we would have done our upmost to accommodate you.
If you think you don't have the best cut, please let us know. We will be more than happy to replace....
Hopefully you will give us an other chance.

Yours sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

213 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    106
    58
    23
    15
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dundee, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Reasonable Value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

Nico’s is a very good restaurant - obviously not truly world-class, but it is not priced as such (i.e. it represents reasonable value).I had the Early Bird menu, which was very good and good value. Everything was well executed and very enjoyable. The service was also just perfect..

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glenmhormanager, General Manager at Nico's Bistro and Bar, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Many thanks for your kind review.
We are glad you enjoyed your meal at Nico's.
We look froward to welcoming you again soon.
Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Combe Martin, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Enjoyable”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

Based in the Glen Mhor Hotel, Inverness you get great food and service. The menu has vegitarian food as well. What Mhor do you need.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glenmhormanager, Manager at Nico's Bistro and Bar, responded to this review, October 26, 2013
Many thanks for your very kind regards.
We are glad you enjoyed your dinner at Nico's.
We look forward to welcoming you again soon.
Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“My Party at the Glenmhor!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

I just wanted to say ‘Thank you’ to you, Emmanuel, and all your team for their help and assistance in connection with my PARTY night. We all had a fantastic time and everyone who stayed over had a very comfortable visit!!!
The 'Bar' was the perfect venue for my group of 35! I had many friends from London & Edinburgh and they loved the location of the hotel on the river and with just a 5 minute walk to the town centre! Fantastic!! We will return! Moira

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glenmhormanager, Manager at Nico's Bistro and Bar, responded to this review, October 19, 2013
Many thanks for taking the time to put a review.
We are all glad you enjoyed your party.
We look froward to welcoming you again soon.
Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Good food, hidden costs.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

Went here on a whim for an evening meal with my parents. Got the set menu which they serve until 6.30pm for £12.95 for 2 courses and £16.95 for 3.
Got grilled goats cheese and salad to start, the cheese was very nice, salad was bland not really anything special. Parents got the pate and said it was very nice but needed more oatcakes.
We all got a 6oz steak as a main, steak was a little above average, nothing too special. The main issue with the main was that they asked if we would like sauces/sides. Obviously the sides will cost, mum got mushrooms and step-dad got onion rings, £3.45. Not extortionate but not cheap either for the few we got. The main problem was we all asked for peppercorn sauce, £2.95 for a tiny pot of sauce, I found this awful. You wouldn't pay for ketchup or mayonnaise or gravy on the side of your roast dinner on a sunday. Peppercorn sauce also tasted a lot like packet mix not made by hand or anything and £2.95 was just totally out of order.

Service was fine, had to wait a bit for the sauces once our mains had arrived. Waitresses didn't seem too interested or anything, pretty average as things go.

Probably would try another hotel or restaurant along the river another time.

    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glenmhormanager, Manager at Nico's Bistro and Bar, responded to this review, October 19, 2013
We were sorry to read of your disappointment.
All prices are on our menu. Should you think it is too small portion, please feel free to ask for more! We will be more than happy to accommodate.
However we will be taking into consideration all your comments.
Yours sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nico's Bistro and Bar also viewed

Inverness, Scottish Highlands
Inverness, Scottish Highlands
 
Inverness, Scottish Highlands
Inverness, Scottish Highlands
 

Been to Nico's Bistro and Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nico's Bistro and Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.