We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Value!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cafe 1

Cafe 1
75 Castle Street, Inverness IV2 3EA, Scotland
+44 (0)1463 226200
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #21 of 195 Restaurants in Inverness
Price range: $58 - $59
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Large groups, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Inverness, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Great Value!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

Called in for a light lunch with my wife, excellent value, good food, great staff will call again very soon.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

442 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    292
    76
    45
    17
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chester
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Imaginative menu, attentive service and good value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012 via mobile

A rainy afternoon turned into a very happy 'foody' experience. Quality food served and a pleasure to meet the proprietor.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inverness, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Fantastic!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

The seafood here really is top notch! And the prices are not that extravagant. The service is attentive without being over the top. This place is a regular haunt of mine. Superb!

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, Scotland, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Visit here!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

We had dinner here recently! Had heard of it from someone else and decided to give it a go was not dissapointed.

The inside is very nice the staff were helpful and friendly! Food good and the price very reasonable.

If you go try the crepes! Dusted in iceing sugar with toffee sauce inside was malteser ice cream brilliant.

Id defenitely go back to cafe 1 when I am in inverness again.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Cafe food at restaurant prices”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

Initial impressions were good. My husband was unsure what wine he wanted and therefore the waitress offered him the chance to try it before buying - this was a really nice touch. My starter was very nice goats cheese brushetta, however my main was average - not very warm and not quite what I expected from the menu. My husband had pigeon to start - too well done and I can't remember what he had for the main but I know he wasn't too impressed. When we arrived the waiting staff were attentive but with a large party arriving soon after us and a table of 4 alongside us it was proving quite difficult to get any attention. The food was delivered quite quickly but not once did anyone ask if we required anything else or a general check in on how the food was and as to trying to get someone to take a drinks order this proved quite difficult. A couple on the neighbouring table were raving about this restaurant to their guests but by the end of the evening they were complaining to the staff on behalf of their guests as to their disappoiintment with the meal. The large party nearby also ended up sending back two of their main meals as they were tasteless. We didn't bother to stay for desert!

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe 1 also viewed

Inverness, Scottish Highlands
Inverness, Scottish Highlands
 
Inverness, Scottish Highlands
Inverness, Scottish Highlands
 

Been to Cafe 1? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cafe 1, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.