We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very curious design, solid kitchen, worth a visit” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Kitchen Brasserie

The Kitchen Brasserie
15 Huntly Street, Inverness IV3 5PR, Scotland
01 463 259119
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #23 of 194 Restaurants in Inverness
Price range: $29 - $49
Cuisines: Seafood, Scottish, Brasserie, Pizza & Pasta
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Bend, Oregon
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Very curious design, solid kitchen, worth a visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2014

First stay in Inverness and our inn-keeper suggested this and a handful of other spots. We chose The Kitchen by default because it was very close to our B&B and they could seat us right away.

The building is not what we in the U.S. would consider a restaurant. There are three levels--street seems to be mostly bar, a second floor dining room seemed quieter and hidden from the massive stairway and then the top floor with patio. We were seated on top. Cool industrial chic--exposed metal beams and glass, great view of River Ness.

The menu offered a variety of tradition and new twists. Being a foodie and traveling with a food fussy 16-year-old will help you fathom the breadth of range a kitchen can meet. This place passed. Pizza for the kid, food that would have been at home in Portland, Seattle or Monterey for the adults.

The only, albeit small, drawback was the service seemed awkward. Whenever we asked for something it took a bit (probably the stairs) and it was always someone else who brought it. It was like there were five servers and waiters assigned to our table. Regardless it worked and we would happily go back.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

820 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    408
    246
    88
    54
    24
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kelso, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Excellent dining”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2014

Having dined here with my sister before, on this visit to Inverness I took my husband to The Kitchen as a treat. We requested a window table and we're not disappointed. The staff were all welcoming, helpful and very efficient. The menu choice was extensive, with interesting 'specials' on the board. We enjoyed our meal very much, both having the 'monkfish special' as a main course. Food is tasty and attractively presented. There is a very pleasant, lively atmosphere and I recommend this restaurant to all visiting Inverness.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundee, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Lovely jubbly”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2014

This was a great place. My partner and I went for the two course lunch deal and seeing as the weather was at its best, we sat on the top floor terrace. The staff were very friendly and happy. The food was unique and of high quality. It was lovely to get a little basket of bread at the beginning too!

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A little disappointed...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2014

We arrived early after being sure to make a reservation. The location and setting is amazing. The service was slack. Food was so-so. Overall worth taking a chance but be aware that service is not polished. Enjoyed the architecture. There is no bar area so if you're early, you sit in a corner.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Amazing food with a gorgeous view”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

We went here for our first date situated in the river is just amazing even if the street is ripped up at the moment. The staff are so friendly and attentive nothing is a problem which always makes a difference. The food is yummy black pudding and strath blue bon bons and the burger is what I had all freshly made. I can't reccommend this place enough and hope to take my dad for fathers day. I will be back very soon I love it. If your looking for a romantic or just leisurely meal you should definitely book the kitchen.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Kitchen Brasserie also viewed

Inverness, Scottish Highlands
Inverness, Scottish Highlands
 
Inverness, Scottish Highlands
Inverness, Scottish Highlands
 

Been to The Kitchen Brasserie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Kitchen Brasserie, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.