We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic design and ambience, and the food's not bad either!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Kitchen Brasserie

The Kitchen Brasserie
15 Huntly Street, Inverness IV3 5PR, Scotland
01 463 259119
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #23 of 195 Restaurants in Inverness
Price range: $29 - $49
Cuisines: Seafood, Scottish, Brasserie, Pizza & Pasta
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Balsall Common, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Fantastic design and ambience, and the food's not bad either!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

The Kitchen is a modern architectural gem from the outside - a real eye-catcher from its position on the western bank of the river. It only gets better as you go inside. There are dining areas on three floors, all looking out through plate glass windows onto the Ness. The interior design is consistent, detailed and beautifully contemporary. Ok, so much for aesthetics,,, what about the food? We had the early evening special, offering two courses for only 11GBP, not bad considering it was a busy Saturday night! The salmon I had was good, but my partner's sea bass was as good as it gets. The service varied from the somewhat indifferent to the warm and friendly, depending on who was attending at the time. In summary, thoroughly recommended for a unique dining experience in the heart of the Highland capital.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

820 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    408
    246
    88
    54
    24
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Inverness
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Lovely site, lovely food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

We eat in this restaurant quite a lot. Mainly we go for the early evening menu which is good value at about £10 for two courses. There is a good choice on the menu and the food is lovely. The staff are very friendly and the service is good. The restaurant itself overlooks the river and is glass fronted. It is nice to sit with a glass of wine and good food watching the world go by. The dinner menu is larger but more expensive though still good value as the food is guaranteed to be lovely.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunblane, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Creme Caramel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

Had a fantastic meal and a beautiful view over the river from our table. Food was exquisite, a rather lovely Rose Pinot Grigio as well on the wine list - our waitress did yawn when she took our order but perhaps it was lack of oxygen after climbing the stairs to the 3rd floor with our food.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Service was brilliant!!!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

One of the male managers was so accommodating, he really made us laugh. The food was good, and its worth while going for the pri fixe menu. The location is brilliant and we would return if we were in the area.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Good and lovely view over the River Ness”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

Luckily we managed to get a table as we had not booked, we waited 5 minutes for them to sort a table out and we were so pleased we did. The food, service and atmosphere was great. We sat up stairs and had a fab view of the River and all the goings on outside. My husband had the seafood and I had chicken, very well presented and hot. Would of liked more vegetables but we id not asked for more, so that was our mistake. Will go back again and will book. We visit Inverness alot as we have family up here, we stay at the Columba and eat with our family at their home but always go out at least twice during our stay. This was a good choice.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Kitchen Brasserie also viewed

Inverness, Scottish Highlands
Inverness, Scottish Highlands
 
Inverness, Scottish Highlands
Inverness, Scottish Highlands
 

Been to The Kitchen Brasserie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Kitchen Brasserie, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.