We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great welcome!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Netherby

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Wick
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Netherby
Save
You added Netherby to your Saves list
6 Northcote Street, Wick KW1 5QP, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 20 Wick B&B and Inns
Derbyshire
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“A great welcome!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2010

My husband and I were touring around Scotland and found ourselves at Netherby. Right from the start we were made very welcome and we felt right at home. The room was lovely and cosy, the cooked breakfast was great. We were told about places to eat in the town and local entertainment which we followed up and certainly enjoyed. The Wick Accordion and Fiddle Club performing at a nearby hotel kept us toe tapping all night! Thankyou Mr and Mrs Gunn.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

18 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    4
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
1
9
1
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sunderland, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2010

Me and my wife went to wick for a family reunion and we stayed at the following hotel and what a wonderful homely stay it was, from the minute we got there we were made to feel welcome and the couple are very genuine and could not of met a nicer couple, the room was very spacious and had everything we needed for somewhere to stay the night, it was very clean and kept upto date, when we got up the next morning the breakfast was just out of this world and we will be going back to stay, i would seriously recommend this hotel to anybody and the couple were very wonderful and just made us feel at home as though we had not left our own home in sunderland.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cheshire
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2010

mr mrs gunn were very welcoming and made you feel at home our room was spotless would stay there again when we go back to wick. what can i say about breakfast there was everything nothing was to much trouble see you next year

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2009

Mr and Mrs Gunn couldn't have been more welcoming. We rang at very short notice and were a bit lost - Mr Gunn wanted us to stay put and he would come and find us! Nevertheless we followed his excellent directions and he was outside waving a huge golfing umbrella to guide us in! The room was very comfortable and breakfast was wonderful. They are a lovely couple (nothing is too much trouble) and can tell you everything you need to know about the area.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sussex
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2008

We booked 2 nights and thoroughly enjoyed staying there. Breakfast was excellent and would have no hesitation in recommending this place.

Stayed June 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Midlands, UK
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2007

Last weekend (mid August 2007) my partner and I decided to visit Wick and John O'Groats. Having never been there before, we telephoned a few B&Bs but all were full. I was recommended by another hotelier to the Netherby B&B near the rail station in Wick. (They are not online, so search using an online phone directory for their number). I can honestly say that I have never stayed in such a hospitable place before. Both the lady and the gentleman who own the Netherby are lovely and make you feel so at home. I didn't want to leave. Nothing was too much trouble, and we were asked when WE would like breakfast, not told when to eat like some other guest houses we have stayed in. Also, she stayed up late for us as we had a 15hr train journey from the Midlands, England and had arrived well into the night. The next day, they even arranged a taxi for us to go to John O'Groats, held our luggage for the rest of the day AND trusted us to pop back for our luggage and post the keys back through the door , as they were out when we returned. VERY reasonable rates too. Fantastic!

Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Netherby? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Netherby

Address: 6 Northcote Street, Wick KW1 5QP, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Caithness and Sutherland > Wick
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Wick
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
Netherby Wick, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Netherby, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.