We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“ruins of castle” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Castle Sinclair Girnigoe

Castle Sinclair Girnigoe
Wick KW1 4QT, Scotland
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 6 attractions in Wick
Type: Castles
Attraction Details
Thurso, Scotland, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“ruins of castle”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

I liked it I have seen it for a distance for couple of years but never got there. you cant really go IN it, per say as it is ruins but its well boarded with plans of what it looked like. I enjoyed going to it and so did my visitor. Was no fee so nice in summer to go take a picnic nut way too cold up here in winter for a visit to it and wild winds off the sea.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    9
    1
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Fabulous cliff top castle”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

I have to say this took some finding, we only spotted it when we were looking for our hotel and ended up down the wrong road.
After a bit of deduction on the sat nav we finally found the castle and neighbouring lighthouse.

It is in a sorry state but is slowly being made safe thanks to prince charles and many charities contributions.

great place to spot local seals too we were engrossed by 4 or 5 grey seals feeding around this area. well worth the walk if castles are your thing.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Armagh
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
27 attraction reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Sinclair Girnigoe Castle”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

Drive to the visit of Staxigoe and keep going until you reach the car park BUT be prepared for a long walk to get just opposite the castle. Lovely ruins on a clifftop - not actually open in the sense of being able to get inside but clearly visible from the top of a cliff across a ten foot chasm to the top of another cliff. It was almost worth the long walk!!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Mediaeval Stronghold”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

Great remote clan stronghold. Worth the drive out. Easy access and dramatically built into the cliff edge. Take the seacoast tour as well.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Lost and decadent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

We was able to arrive there only thanks to the Routard Guide, there no segnalation at all! The castle is really beautifull and it's very nice to be there alone. Also the walk to reach it is very nice.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Castle Sinclair Girnigoe also viewed

Wick, Caithness and Sutherland
Wick, Caithness and Sutherland
 
Wick, Caithness and Sutherland
John O'Groats, Caithness and Sutherland
 

Been to Castle Sinclair Girnigoe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Castle Sinclair Girnigoe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Castle Sinclair Girnigoe to your Saves list