We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointed” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Bilbster House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Wick
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Bilbster House
Save
You added Bilbster House to your Saves list
Bilbster | Caithness, Wick KW1 5TB , Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 20 Wick B&B and Inns
York, United Kingdom
1 review
“Disappointed”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

We spent 2 nights there in September 2013 and were disappointed with the accommodation. The beds were damp and cold - I have been ill ever since then. Breakfast was underwhelming although well cooked - just expected more from a Highland B&B. The only saving grace was the owner. Also very disappointed at having to pay full price for second night when we had to leave too early to have breakfast (in effect charged for 2 nights bed and breakfast when we only had 2 nights bed and no breakfast on the second day).

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    6
    1
    1
    1
See reviews for
5
14
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

This B&B is a real gem. We stopped there as recommended by the travel guide (we trust a lot a french travel guide named routard). The owners were really nice, the room just amazing and after one day of walking around Orkney, we ve got a superb restful night. The breakfast was really good and we also got a little bit of history (which I love) along with advises about what to visit around.
Will definitely go back.
Over the whole trip, this was the best (and the cheapest one) we've had.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Collierville
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

We loved this one night stay in a lovely Scottish Manor House run by a young couple who really know how to make you feel special. Only regret is that we did not book for more than the one night. A huge guest room and bathroom with lovely décor to make one feel at home in such a grand house. Great breakfast and ambience for our brief stay. Our advise is to not miss the upper Highlands when you come to Scotland and if you can, stay at least one night in this B& B near Wick...exceeded our expectations.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Køge
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

Staying in this 300-year old house was quite charming! It has an interesting history without the age of the house interferring with your experience there. The breakfast was impeccable and so was the service. Our host has an immense knowledge of the entire area surrounding Bilbster, Wick and Thurso and was very helpful to all of the guests who were wondering what to do with their time there. I greatly recommend it, the room was large and neat and we'd glady have paid more to stayed there. If we're ever in Wick again, we'll definitely be back.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Augustine, Florida
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

Ian Stewart, proprietor, has created a charming B&B, integrating a piece of history with gracious hospitality. As we were his only guests the first night (we stayed two nights), he situated us in the Pink Room. I felt as if we'd stepped back in time --- the furnishings were grand. The gardens were stunning since all the plants were in bloom and he has quite a green thumb. Breakfasts were filling and the dining room was so quaint. The only critique would be that the linens were a bit stale/musty but a very pleasant experience overall.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stronsay, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

1690 (or earlier) building with acres of garden full of interest which you can explore. The house itself is impressive, we stayed in the pink room which was very large and comfortable, with an equally large en-suite. The style ranges from 17c to the 1970's so don't expect modern chic but you will get a warm welcome.

The coastline is stunning with some great places to pull off the road and walk along the shore or cliffs.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

Time has stopped here. You have the impression to enter a small castle. Ian takes times with every newcommer to explain what you should see in the ares, the harbours, the castles, the cliffs... If you want to try something special, you should go at the Bilbster house.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bilbster House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bilbster House

Address: Bilbster | Caithness, Wick KW1 5TB , Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Caithness and Sutherland > Wick
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Wick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
Bilbster House Wick, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bilbster House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.