We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely fantastic place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ackergill Tower

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Ackergill Tower to your Saves list
Ackergill Tower
5.0 of 5 Castle   |   Ackergill Tower By Wick, Wick KW1 4RG, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 4 Specialty Lodging in Wick
Certificate of Excellence 2014
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Absolutely fantastic place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2012

Me and my wife just got married here and we couldn't have picked a better place. Everything ran like clockwork, the food was fantastic, the staff were always there when needed and the whole day was an absolute dream for the two of us. We stayed in the beach house that night which is a fantastic place, literally right on the beach. I'm sure we will be back for a wedding anniversary or two.

Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nick E, Manager at Ackergill Tower, responded to this review, August 15, 2012
Thank you for your kind comments, it was a pleasure having your special day with us at the Castle.
We look forward to welcoming you back for your Anniversary.
Best wishes.
Jeanette
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

128 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    107
    9
    4
    3
    5
See reviews for
17
69
1
14
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2012

Feeling pretty stressed out and tired my husband always finds the best places for me to wind down and enjoy time to myself but have our children around at the same time.
Ackergill Tower is one of the most beautiful places I have ever seen or been too, with a private beach that just goes on for miles and the fresh coastal air had me fixed and ready to go with in days of being there. It was a great place for the children and I enjoyed picking up the little crabs and fish with my three year old, while my fourteen year old bombed about in the most colourful sea I have ever seen ( including that of Dubai). A real retreat, the cottage in which we stayed was just enough with a great bed ( a must for sleep), the stairs were a little steep of the upstairs so should keep that in mind if you have small children as my youngest had to sleep on a make shift bed on our floor as the stairs were just that little too much. Apart from from that, wonderful place and we also took along our two westies as well.......what more could you ask for?!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nick E, Manager at Ackergill Tower, responded to this review, August 15, 2012
Many thanks for your comments, we are delighted you enjoyed your time at the Castle, we feel it is a very special place and we look forward to welcoming you back.
Best wishes.
Jeanette
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arbroath, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2012

My husband and I always try and ensure our wedding anniversary is marked in a special way. This year was our 29th...and it turned out to be very special. The room, the service & the food were all but faultless. (I am now on the hunt for sour cherry ice cream!) The view from our room was straight out to sea, which we watched from the four poster bed, the chair at the window and the bathroom! Not only romantic, but after a busy 6 months for both of us a good stress reducer. If you wanted to make a grand, romantic, never forgotten gesture....this would certainly be a place to do it!

Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2011

Amazing service levels where everyone from the gardener to the bar staff are interested in making your stay exceptional!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medstead Hants UK
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2009

Wonderful stay. Our second visit for Hogmanay. Can't fault the service and attention to detail and the friendliness of the staff and the owners where nothing is too much trouble. We will be returning anothe year for Hogmanay and also hope to do a May Houseparty sometime soon. Highly recommend this place to anyone who wants to get away and relax.

  • Liked — Comfortable, warm and inviting. Excellent beds.
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Healdsburg, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2007

We just completed a 5 day family reunion of 18 people ranging in age from 18 months to 75 years. It was a fantastic success for all of us. Falconry, sheepdog trials, the fishing camp, the Halkirk Highland games, a trip to the Orkney Islands, hiking, skeet shooting, picnics, a beach bonfire as well as a final dinner in the Great Hall preceded by a pipe band concert were set against the very finest staff support. This was a unique and special experience for all of us.

  • Liked — Historic luxury
  • Disliked — ?
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midlands
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2006

I have just returned from facilitating a 3 day teambuilding a strategy event for our business. The experience we have had at Ackergill has been truely outstanding. The venue is amazing and provides the perfect place for both team activities and relaxed environments for groups to work in (comfy chairs and fire side chats). Moreove the service from the team at Ackergill is fantastic they manage to combine the home from home atmosphere and friendliness with absolute professionalism, flexibility and speed you need for a business team making decisions. I cannot rate them highly enough.

  • Liked — the staff service
  • Disliked — no thing
  • Stayed December 2006, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Ackergill Tower? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ackergill Tower

Address: Ackergill Tower By Wick, Wick KW1 4RG, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Caithness and Sutherland > Wick
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Specialty Lodging in Wick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Ackergill Tower 5*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Standing proudly above its own private beach, at the northernmost tip of Scotland, this is one of the most atmospheric, iconic and legendary Venues imaginable. Steeped in over 500 years of fascinating history, bursting with authentic character and showded in mystery and romance, Ackergill Tower is an incomparably dramatic, luxurious and inspiring setting for events that are utterly magical and gloriously memorable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Ackergill Tower reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ackergill Tower Hotel Wick
Ackergill Tower Wick, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ackergill Tower, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.