We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very average” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Queen's Hotel

Queen's Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Queen's Hotel to your Saves list
Queen's Hotel
16 Francis Street, Wick KW1 5PZ, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Wick
Douglas, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
“Very average”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

Booked here last minute the night before. Lovely greeting on arrival swift check in and we were asked to pay there and then and taken through to the bar to use the card machine. Directions to the room were given and we retrieved our luggage and found the room in the dark as none of the landing lights were on.
Room was small but very clean with lovely deep carpet, which looked to be new. Large flat screen TV on the wall and nice furnishings. The toilet made the most horrendous noise when flushed and the shower clunked and clonked very loudly, all clean though.
We decided to eat at the hotel and soon found out we were the only ones dining so nil in the way of atmosphere. Food was acceptable but nothing special.
Breakfast is between 7.30 and 8.30, we arrived at 8 and once again we were the only people present. Choice of apple or orange juice, various cereals in plastic tupper ware boxes, 3 over ripe bananas and a bowl of tangerines. There was a toasting machine and plenty of brown or white fresh bread. The cooked breakfast was the poorest offering the whole holiday and the sausage were off and past their sell by date. We both took 1 bite and had to spit out (for the want of a better word) the mouthful. The lady owner must have realised that we had both left the sausage.
To be honest we almost turned around when we arrived, the hotel really does need to work on its curb appeal, it looks dull and a little run down, new signs might help and some colour.
That said once again we could not fault the warm Scottish welcome.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

14 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    4
    8
    0
    0
See reviews for
1
5
2
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Runcorn, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

I stopped for one night as ran out of time to travel any further. The room for the quality was a little expensive but was quiet enough for a good nights sleep bar the tooing and frowing of other guests presumably without an en suite to the communal loo. The shower nozzle and holder were tired and it was impossible to get a good shower without holding the head on you. For my evening meal I chose to have Haddock, chips and peas from the rather spartan menu... It arrived cold & when I bought this to the attention of the staff they said they would re heat it as had no more fish. When it returned the fish was now hot but the chips and peas were cold. I did not complain again and ate the food. Breakfast was ok but again not perfectly cooked and had no black pudding, haggis,tomatoes or square sausage... really more like a half full scottish breakfast. The bar next door is ok but would not recommend it if you are a couple or female traveller as swearing will be heard in here. The staff are friendly and maybe on another day things would have been better but to be honest I would not stay again and really feel this is a 2and a half rating rather than the 3 I have given it.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

Stopped here for one night. Rooms was clean and comfortable. Was concerned main road location and minimal sound proofing might hinder sleep but roads very quiet and was no issue.
Breakfast was cooked for us at a time we wanted.
Downside was empty bars and no late serving of evening food

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inverness, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2012

I stayed here for one night on a business trip with colleagues. As suggested in previous reviews, the outside of the hotel really doesn't do it justice. The rooms (I saw 3 of them) are all different, with nicely picked furnishings and a high standard of finish. I liked the touch of having a bedside radio as well as a TV - and one room even has a 4 poster bed! The owner lit the fire in the bar for us when we arrived, which was a nice touch, and we were made to feel very welcome (in spite of only being there for 1 night).

Room Tip: The 4 poster room is probably the one to go for, but all the rooms I saw were nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
edinburgh
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2011

we got the room for three, good room but small shower room,only small can use,.great breakfast
,if your not used to the rough side of life stay away from the bar.we went in there fight broke out with seconds between a girl and a man, if you want to see where they go later go to the bar called the stars wars bar [champs],this pub is busy at night around ten,not for the shirt and tie mob, back to the hotel very clean. get your car parked at the hotel, the hotel is on the main road into wick

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2011

Stayed in this hotel 7 years back when the owners took over and was nothing to write home about.But this time I was pleasantly suprised ! Its had a full refurb the rooms are decorated to a good standard and are very clean with a wall mounded 28"tv.it has 2 bars public and lounge and good homemade meals.only a 3min walk from wick centre.I did find £70pn a bit expensive but my boss was paying so I can't really moan.will stay again in the future

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annapolis, Maryland
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2011

Stayed two nights. Although its 20-30 mins away, it is convenient if you are taking the John o Groats ferry over to Orkney. Dinner was here was good solid meal, not great, but enjoyable. Owner was very accommodating for an early breakfast so we could make it to the ferry. Excellent b;fast. Room was recently remodeled and squeaky clean.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Queen's Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Queen's Hotel

Address: 16 Francis Street, Wick KW1 5PZ, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Caithness and Sutherland > Wick
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Wick
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your Queen's Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Queen's Hotel Wick, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Queen's Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.