We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A gem of a hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Castletown Hotel

Save Saved
You added The Castletown Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Castletown Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Main Street, Castletown, Thurso KW14 8TP, Scotland (Formerly St Clair Arm Hotel)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 9 hotels in Thurso
Durham, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“A gem of a hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

We booked this hotel quite by chance, using an on-line agency.
We received a very friendly welcome. Our room seemed small - but we had the most wonderfully comfortable 6 ft bed! The weater was cold and gloomy but the hotel was warm. The room and bathroom were spotless. A small shelf in the bathroom would be useful!
We enjoyed our dinner, good menu and wine choices with friendly efficient service.
I don't usually like self-service breakfasts but this one was exceptionally good.
We will certainly stay again.

Room Tip: Ask for a large bed!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew M, Owner at The Castletown Hotel, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Dear Samsmum43,

thankyou very much for your valuable review, your time is much appreciated. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay and thanks for the suggestion of a shelf in the bathroom.

We do hope we get the chance to welcome you back in the near future,

kind regards
Andrew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

108 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    42
    42
    15
    6
    3
See reviews for
14
46
10
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bath, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

My room had inadequate convector fire on wall, no heating in bathroom and no hot water available for the four nights I stayed at the end of April. The double glazed (!) window let in a cold draught too. On the plus side the staff were great and the food very good. Was told to run the water for 10-15 mins but that didn't work! Would probably be fine in the summer but I was chilled throughout in the bedroom.

Room Tip: Other rooms got hot water with no problem so query whether there may be trouble.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew M, Owner at The Castletown Hotel, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Dear Shirley H,

thanks for taking the time to give us your feedback and please accept our apologies for the lack of hot water in your room, had we known we would have changed your room and called in our plumber straight away. Following your feedback we have been unable to identify why it would affect your room and not any other but we are monitoring the system closely ready to invest in upgrades wherever necessary.

Apologies once again and thankyou for staying with us, we hope you enjoyed the rest of your holiday. We do hope this will not deter you from returning to us in the future when you will be most welcome,

kind regards
Andrew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

Clean spacious room,service good,breakfast was very good(as a sugestion maybe add a choice of scrambled eggs for breakfast),all in all a very pleasant stay i will come again.
The hotel is located in a close proximity to town of Thurso.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew M, Owner at The Castletown Hotel, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Dear Sorina28,

thankyou for satying with us and for taking the time to give us your feedback, we are delighted you enjoyed your stay and thanks for the top on how to improve our breakfast,

We hope to welcome you back soon,
kind regards
Andrew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

Stayed over with a friend, we booked a twin room but it actually had 3 single beds in it so at least we had a choice of beds! Room and bathroom was clean and bed was quite comfortable. Buffet breakfast was nice, fair choice and friendly staff! Overall great value for money and hotel had a nice homely feel to it!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew M, Owner at The Castletown Hotel, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Dear Weenatz89,

thanks for taking the time to review your stay with us, we are delighted you enjoyed our wee home from home.

We do hope you will come and visit us again soon,
kind regards
Andrew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

Went to Thurso to try and see the Northern Lights - our receptionist was very helpful in providing information that would have helped us had it not snowed every night!
Room was satisfactory, dated decor, adequate amenities. Shower a bit weak, and had to wait for hot water to splutter through. Food was ok, but Castletown is a modest place and the local scenery and views more than made up for it. Overall friendly and clean, but it did feel as if we were in a hotel on a tight budget. Despite the hotel being full, once in the room we were not disturbed by any outside noise.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew M, Owner at The Castletown Hotel, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Dear Pokerdungeon,

thanks for taking the time to give us your feedback and please accept our sincere apologies that you were disappointed. Thanks for detailing all the aspects of your stay as it gives us a chance to monitor our performance and allows us to take corrective action where necessary.

We do hope we get a chance to welcome you back in the near future and an opportunity to show our hotel in a truer light.

Thanks once again
Kind regards
Andrew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
270 reviews 270 reviews
59 hotel reviews
Reviews in 168 cities Reviews in 168 cities
189 helpful votes 189 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

We stayed her for a night whilst on our way to the Orkneys. The room was no frills but perfectly adequate. The hotel has good wifi and a decent sized car park. The staff were very chatty and helpful and the food - both evening meal nd breakfast - was excellent, worth visiting for that in itself!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

Good value hotel. Friendly staff.
The hotel public areas having been refurbished look good and the bar has a lovely open fire.
The rooms are dated and need revamped but the price reflects the accommodation.
Foodwise, usual pub food and i ordered a salmon beetroot salad starter which did not have any beetroot!
Breakfast was excellent with a fantastic array of fresh fruit including strawberries.blackcurrant and melon to go with yoghurt. Also a good hot buffet breakfast available from 7am.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Castletown Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Castletown Hotel

Address: Main Street, Castletown, Thurso KW14 8TP, Scotland (Formerly St Clair Arm Hotel)
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Caithness and Sutherland > Thurso
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 9 hotels in Thurso
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — The Castletown Hotel 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the curve of Dunnet Bay, within the picturesque fishing village of Castletown, this family-run hotel is perfect for exploring Caithness, offering quality, affordable accommodation with free Wi-Fi and parking. Run by two local brothers, this attractive 18th Century property is infused with an authentic Scottish charm and it embodies all that is great about traditional Highland Hospitality. Comfort and relaxation are very much the cornerstones of their ethos and they are committed to creating a warm and welcoming ambience. Whether business or leisure, guests are perfectly positioned to make the most of North Scotland’s rugged coastline.The Hotel features 24 en-suite bedrooms, each of which has been lovingly decorated and furnished to a very comfortable standard. All rooms come fully equipped with all the necessary amenities one needs to make their stay as cosy as possible, including free Wi-Fi access, flat screen TV with freeview, hairdryer, duvets and complimentary tea & coffee making facilities. The Hotel offers accommodation to suit all different kinds of traveller, from Classic Double and Superior Double or Twin Rooms to Single and Family options.Specialising in traditional Scottish and British cuisine, the on-site restaurant has garnered an impressive local reputation for its delicious cuisine. Committed to using locally sourced produce wherever possible, there is a strong emphasis on creating quality home-cooked food fresh from the natural larder that is the Scottish Highlands.With its spectacular location and great facilities, the Castletown Hotel is an ideal venue for hosting a wide range of events and functions. Perfect for small parties such as wedding anniversaries, birthday celebrations and family gatherings, the Hotel can supply a tailor made menu to suit all palates and budgets.The Hotel is located in the flagstone village of Castletown, just a 5 minute drive from the A9 at Thurso. What’s more with free on-site parking, it is both convenient and accessible. The nearest city is Inverness, which is roughly a 2 hour 30 minute drive through some of the most spectacular scenery in all of Scotland. Thurso train station provides regular services to Inverness and the hotel is also located on the main bus route to and from the city. There are two car-ferry ports; one at Gills Bay and another at Scrabster, each just a 15 minute drive away. For those travelling by air, Inverness Airport offers flights to a range of national and European destinations, whilst the regional Airport at Wick is just a 20 minute drive away and receives flights from Edinburgh, Aberdeen and Kirkwall. The Hotel is located in the picturesque village of Castletown within Dunnet Bay in the northernmost Highlands of Scotland. Situated just a short distance inland, this historic village features its own local harbour and heritage centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Tingo, Priceline, HotelsClick, BookingOdigeoWL, HostelWorld, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your The Castletown Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St Clair Arms Thurso
The Castletown Hotel Thurso, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Castletown Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.