We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Great Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Royal Hotel, Caithness

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Royal Hotel, Caithness to your Saves list
Royal Hotel, Caithness
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Traill St, Thurso KW14 8EH, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 8 Hotels in Thurso
Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A Great Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2014

I thoroughly enjoyed my stay at The Royal Hotel. The hotel is of an older style but does not lack in any of the comforts of modern life. The room, at a very reasonable price, was very spacious and clean with all the facilities and provisions that anyone would need. The staff were very friendly and helpful and nothing was too much trouble as I had cause to experience and observe. There is a large dining room with very good choice menus for breakfast and dinner. The Royal is well situated in the centre of town and near to public transport facilities which was very important to me as I travelled to Thurso by train. I am happy to recommend The Royal for anyone looking for first class accommodation in Thurso and I hope to stay there on subsequent visits to that area.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamish M, General Manager at Royal Hotel, Caithness, responded to this review, August 14, 2014
Many thanks for your terrific comments. I hope to see you again should you be in Thurso in the future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    23
    48
    31
    25
See reviews for
8
49
13
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Zurich, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2014

Good things first: The room was reasonable in size and clean. The rest of the hotel was OK, but a bit old. Especially the dining room which looked like id has been designed during the dark-ages (pretty depressing). Over all it was OK.

Just some advice: Try not to get the room above the bar (on the left side of the building). Until 1 or 2 am it is very loud and if you are not used to such an environment it is hard to get some rest. On the bright side you have a good outlook to the newest style-trends of the Scottish youth :-)

Room Tip: Left side (front-facing) is above a noisy bar
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamish M, General Manager at Royal Hotel, Caithness, responded to this review, August 13, 2014
Thanks for commenting on tripadvisor. Unfortunateley the bar you mention is outwith my control and i can only apologise for the noise you heard. I am glad you stay was satisfactory overall and look forward to welcoming you back in the future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perthshire, Scotland
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014

1. Reception was a bit disorganised and chaotic. Took ages to find our booking, although when I phoned the day before re dietary requirements, the booking was found instantly. Free wifi was a bonus.
2. Took lift to the 2nd floor as directed. Smiled at the lift lined with old green corduroy carpet. Remembered when people used to carpet the side of their bath.
3. Passed a fire exit where door was open and cigarette smoke caught the back of my throat from smokers outside. By then wasn't feeling hugely optimistic.
4. Room was amazing. Huge bathroom, bath with overhead shower. Complimentary toiletries and offer of more if needed free of charge.
5. Phoned down to get wifi password. Receptionist said they were busy and would phone me back. After half an hour, I phoned again, and she apologised, she'd forgotten!
6. Bed and pillows exceptionally comfy. Bedroom and bathroom spotless. Room and bathroom a combination of older style and new (woodchip and magnolia), so obviously some gradual refurbishment in progress.
7. Usual amenities in room. Delighted by powerful hair dryer. Tele good but on the small side. Cabinet too low to comfortably view TV from bed so could do with being bigger or just put on a wee plinth (or a taller cabinet)
8. Beat of all was breakfast. I'd phoned ahead because I'm vegan, and asked if I could get a couple of Linda McCartney sausages and some beans. Was told info would be passed to chef who would organise something for me. When we placed our order, it transpired that duty manager only told chef at 9pm the previous night, despite me calling in the morning, and by then chef was off duty. The waitress just took control, and said 'wait a minute, we'll get it sorted'. Next thing I knew, after a short wait, I was served my sausages and beans with a smile. Transpires the waitress had asked a member of staff to nip out to the nearby coop, and she saved the day with her resourcefulness, practical head and good humour. Well done!
9. Checked out. I wanted to highlight the particularly good service from the restaurant and this lady in particular (small, grey hair, just a wee gem), waited a bit, but there was nobody there.
Will definitely be back though. Get the reception and communication sorted out, and the fire exit/smoke issue, and we'll be cooking on gas!
I wish I could have rated the service higher on account of the waitress, but the reception and communication issue had to be taken into account. I think I've been fair however.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamish M, General Manager at Royal Hotel, Caithness, responded to this review, August 13, 2014
Many thanks for commenting on Tripadvisor. I take on board the points you have raised and assure you they will be addressed.
I am glad you enjoyed your stay overall and look forward to welcoming you back to the Royal Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

The hotel is well maintained and the staff could not be more helpful. Service is always with a smile and friendly suggestions of places to visit. Rooms spotless and fresh towels every day. Food was on par with typical hotel food served for coach parties. Restaurant was a bit regimented waiting for everyone to sit before orders were taken then waiting for everyone to order before they start serving. There was a vegetarian option available each evening and always tasty not the usual veggie option of the mac cheese. Manager checked with guests regularly if everyone was comfortable and did they need anything. Nice to see a manager out and about checking on things and not hiding in an office.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamish M, General Manager at Royal Hotel, Caithness, responded to this review, August 13, 2014
Many thanks for your kind comments and i look forward to welcoming you back to the Royal Hotel in the future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberlour, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2014

Booked via booking.com, 2 x single rooms. Easy check in, rooms OK but looking tired. Shower had seen better days. Overall clean and warm though. Noisy rooms at front of hotel with smokers from the pub below (request rear room advised). Traffic also non stop. Breakfast OK. Staff friendly. Would use again if I could get a rear facing room.

Room Tip: Try to get a room at the back (not overlooking the main street)
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamish M, General Manager at Royal Hotel, Caithness, responded to this review, August 1, 2014
Many thanks for your comments. Unfortunately i cannot do anything about the noise from the street, we are in the town center, however we have an on-going refurbishment programme and will shortly be making improvements to the room you had. I look forward to welcoming you back to Thurso
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wigan
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here in march and the comments I had I addressed in a letter to the manager mainly about the front doors needing some TLC as that is the shop window! It is sad that there are so many negatives written when you can see there is an ongoing refurbishment here. Take the positives and support the Royal.the staff are so helpful.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamish M, General Manager at Royal Hotel, Caithness, responded to this review, August 1, 2014
Thank you for commenting on Tripadvisor. I am glad you are seeing the ongoing improvements and hope to impress you further on your next visit
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Terrigal, Australia
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014 via mobile

I am so glad that I was not dissuaded from staying at the Royal by most of the bad reviews it seems to have received. It is a refurbished 19th Century coaching Inn. What an opportunity to come to Historic Scotland and actually experience history! I loved it! I stayed three days. I was a solo traveller. I was in room 1 - which is fine!Yes the shower maybe a bit smaller than usual but I believe they have done a great job restoring this ancient hotel. It was great to have to go through two fire doors even to get to room 1. The breakfast was adequate. They cater for coaches too so on the days that I ate breakfast they were also feeding hundreds of other tour travellers. Wifi is good in the room. TV and tea/coffee is provided. My room was quiet apart from the local revellers outside my window on Friday night! but if you are in the centre of town you have to accept that. Round the corner from the bus stop to JOG. Near to the centre of town. Next door to the ice cream parlour - which I managed to walk past all but once during my stay! What more can a traveller want? I say "well done" to BESPOKE HOTELS and Hamish, the manager for retaining the authenticity of a significant Thurso landmark. Enjoy your stay, everyone but please don't expect a boring modern 5-star hotel. You are in HISTORIC Scotland.

Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamish M, General Manager at Royal Hotel, Caithness, responded to this review, August 1, 2014
Many thanks for your comments. Hopefully we will welcome you back to Thurso in the future and i trust you have had a safe return to Australia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Royal Hotel, Caithness? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Hotel, Caithness

Address: Traill St, Thurso KW14 8EH, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Caithness and Sutherland > Thurso
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 8 Hotels in Thurso
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal Hotel, Caithness 3*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the centre of Thurso, one of the most northerly towns in Mainland Scotland, the Royal Hotel provides a perfect place for business or leisure breaks. There are 103 en-suite rooms, all offering wireless Internet access, Freeview TV and tea and coffee-making facilities. The hotel is close to the beach and guests wishing to visit the exquisite scenery of Orkney can take a short ferry journey to this captivating island. Further sightseeing opportunities can be found at John O’Groats, the Castle of Mey or Old St Peter’s Church. Guests arriving for business purposes can make use of our business centre services and conference rooms, all with Wi-Fi access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Royal Hotel, Caithness reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Hotel, Caithness Hotel Thurso
Royal Hotel Thurso
Royal Hotel, Caithness Thurso, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Royal Hotel, Caithness, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.