We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Visiting family” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Castle Arms Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Castle Arms Hotel to your Saves list
Castle Arms Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Mey, Thurso KW14 8XH, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Thurso
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Visiting family”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2014

Stayed here for three nights and really enjoyed our visit. Our bedroom was comfy and the bathroom immaculate. We had our three year old grandson with us and nothing was to much trouble for the staff. Made to feel really welcome. Thankyou

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    54
    37
    8
    3
    4
See reviews for
15
59
7
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2014

Hotel was nice - the rooms were pleasant can't say much about the atmosphere as we were the only guest in the hotel the locals in the hotel bar were friendly and chatty the food was very good and plentiful - I would stay here again when I'm up in the area

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Renfrew, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2013

My wife and I stayed at this tastefully refurbished hotel for three nights. Our room, number 2, was very comfortable with a single and a double bed - the electric blankets were especially welcome. The modern ensuite bathroom was very well appointed with lovely towels and quality toiletries. We had dinner in the hotel on two nights - a really good menu including fish and vegetarian options and a well-priced wine list. Breakfast was a highlight with Jean, the co-owner, ensuring that we had everything that we needed.

Room Tip: The rooms in the main part of the hotel are very comfortable but nearer the (relatively quiet) road...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
191 helpful votes 191 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

we stayed here for two nights on either side of a trip to Orkney to break the journey. we had a warm cosy pretty room and the breakfast was excellent. my husband said the black pudding was the best he has ever had. it is a quiet location so nothing much around it but its nice and close for the ferry. the staff are very friendly and would not think twice about staying here again

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

Had an overnight stay as part of the Britstop scheme. Made welcome and had a nice flat space to park in. Water available which was handy. Had a lovely meal in the restaurant in the evening. All the staff were very friendly and helpful. Very handy for visiting the Castle of Mey and John O'Groats.

Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridge of Weir, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

Booked Castle Arms Hotel for tomorrow eve many weeks ago via booking .com as taking friends from Greece over to Orkney for w/end
Unfortunately our ferry ( Pentland) has been cancelled ( short notice) and we now have to go from Thurso.
After checking distances and looking at times of ferry we decided we now need to stay in Thurso.( would have had to leave Castle Arms before breakfast)
Booking.com very understanding & approached Castle Arms re cancellation but Castle Arms insisting on payment of 50%
Circumstances of cancellation are out of our control so we feel that this charge is unfair especially as 90% of hotels now offer free cancellation
Also an additional factor contributing to us cancelling was the fact that no food could be provided on arrival ( 9pm)
Have eaten at Castle Arms many times when bringing visitors up to the north but have never stayed there and probably wont now in the future

Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill R, Owner at Castle Arms Hotel, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
I consider this review to be grossly unfair and misleading particularly when most hotels have an even tougher cancellation policy than us and some even take a 50% non-refundable deposit for bookings made in advance. The fact is this person booked our most expensive room on August 12th through Booking.com and in doing so entered a contract whereby they had read and accepted our cancellation policy. When a room is reserved thorugh booking.com that room is removed from our inventory and "reserved" means reserved so nobody else can book it. To then cancel the day before arrival left us with our most expensive room empty when, had it not been reserved through booking.com we could have easily rented it several times over as demand remained high at that time. Why should we then be penalised just because this person could not face rising earlier to catch their ferry.? The tourist season is short and we cannot afford to lose out totally due to cancellations which are totally unnecessary. Perhaps if we charge a 50% upfront non-refundable deposit in future it might make guests realise that they shouldn't cancel at very short notice? We do make allowances for cancellations for good reason but feel this was a flimsy reason and our cancellation policy had to apply as accepted by the guest when booking.
Their arrival time was not made clear and we have been caught out many times by keeping our kitchen open for hours, paying staff then the guests turn up later than stated and say they have already eaten. We do not have 24 hour facilities. As far as the early start was concerned we offerred a continental breakfast and packed lunch but this was declined, and this person decided to stay elsewhere.
Every situation is different and we will continue to assess each cancellation on its own merits, but once again reiterate that our cancellation policy is very generous compared to most.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

Stayed here for one evening whilst touring Scotland. Was a handy base on our way from Durness to Inverness whilst taking in the sights of the North. Great location to go see the wonderful Castle of Mey, although not much else in immediate vicinity from what I saw.

Good and quick communications via email prior to our stay which helped us decide on room choice and dinner options.

From what I can understand the hotel is now recently under new ownership over the last 6-12 months. Upon arrival the Hotel looked lovely from outside and looks likes it been freshly maintained in terms of the white exterior and signage.
Free on-site large car park to the side and back of hotel.

On entering the front door to reception, we were hit by the smell of aged flowers (Llilies).This smell always reminds me of a hospital for some reason, so not the best initial impression. Yeah, its nice to have fresh flowers but these were way past their lifespan.

Friendly enough welcome at reception from the member of staff who checked us in, although it looked as though the reception desk could be doing with a tidy up or some sort of better admin system. Just seemed to be paper everywhere and I do think they need to tighten up on this area.

Friendly staff took us up to and showed us room. Entered room to be met with a lovely cosy and inviting room, nicely finished with a nice feature papered wall. No immediate concerns over cleanliness and bathroom seemed fairly new/efurbished with nicely tiled shower etc.

We had dinner included in our room rate although there was some confusion about this with the foreign waitress staff when we were ordering. I think the option of the Dinner,Bed & Breakfast is a good idea as there doesn’t appear to be a lot of choice in the area anyway plus after a long day on the road it was perfect for us.
Overall the food was pretty good. I opted for the prawn cocktail followed by the steak. Was pleased to see they even had some French mustard at my request.
Cooked Scottish Breakfast was pretty big and certainly set me up for a full day ahead. Freshly made which did see some delay as I don’t think the catering facilities could cope with a family of four looking for cooked breakfast at same time as us.
There was little lounge bar area between restaurant and reception which I do feel could be more inviting which would maybe encourage the odd guest to sit and have a quiet drink or two.
I have nothing but respect to anyone who tries to make a living out the hotel industry so I hope the new owners can iron out some of the issues and take the Castle Arms hotel up a notch.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Castle Arms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castle Arms Hotel

Address: Mey, Thurso KW14 8XH, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Caithness and Sutherland > Thurso
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Thurso
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Castle Arms Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Hotel was originally a 19th. century coaching inn which has been updated and extended over the years. We took over the Hotel on 7th. September 2012 and have carried out extensive refurbishments over the winter months, beginning with totally new en-suites for each room which were completed by the end of February, 2013.We have added new furniture and lamps and will be redecorating every room and adding new beds and other furniture to present a higher standard than before.The exterior of the Hotel is currently being repainted and this work should be completed before the end of May, 2013. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Castle Arms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castle Arms Hotel Thurso, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Castle Arms Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.