We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't delay...book now!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pennyland House B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Thurso
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Pennyland House B&B
Save Saved
You added Pennyland House B&B to your Saves list
Pennyland House, Thurso KW14 7JU, Scotland   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 19 Thurso B&B and Inns
Upminster, Essex
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Don't delay...book now!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

I stayed for 4 nights in "Carnoustie" room, single occupancy, whilst visiting Thurso Rotary Club.
Lovely large, bright and clean room with a King size bed plus a single alongside.

I can't fault it, everything you would want is here, everything is top quality, so very comfortable, masses of hot water too. Breakfast is huge and delicious and you can have exactly what you want at a pre-arranged time.

All the previous reveiws say it all...if you are looking for a B&B in Thurso, situated just nicely a short walk out of town, so nice and quiet with lovely views across the Pentland Firth to Orkney, you really can't go wrong.

Give Carol and Raymond a ring and book before it's too late!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

191 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    188
    3
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
22
114
9
13
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

Carol and Ray are such good hosts, making sure we had everything we needed through-out our stay. Breakfast was superb with lots of healthy options and freshly brewed coffee. Our room was a good size with such a gorgeous big bed! Just wait until you sample the amazing bath! So nice to be able to stretch out and soak our tired legs. The small touches made our stay special, such as the DVD selection and home-made shortbread, but really it's the owners that make this house a home from home, and we wish you all the success with your future plans.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

Although we usually use TripAdvisor to search out our hotels/b&b I must admit that we do not always follow up our stay with a review.
In this case however we felt that the attention to detail and hospitality shown by our hosts at Pennylands warranted our comments, if only to supplement the many glowing reviews already posted by others.
To be honest we cannot find sufficient superlatives to fully convey just how welcome we were made to feel during our two day stay. This trip was part of my 65th Birthday celebrations and although the Scottish weather could have been a little better, the overall cleanliness and quality of the rooms coupled with the extensive and freshly prepared breakfasts, certainly made it a birthday to remember.
If you are planning to tour the North of Scotland or are intending to travel on to the Orkneys we can wholehearted recommend a stay here.

Room Tip: We had Royal Dornoch and enjoyed a view across the Pentland Firth to the Orkneys.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

Catol and Raymond could not have been more accomodating. Ferry cancellations dissarranged our entire holiday necessitating last minute changes of dates of travel. Carol and Raymond were kind, patient and exceedingly helpfull. They were able to refer us to a (nearly) equally memorable B & B nearby when they could not accomodate us. Comfortable room with a generous bathroom and beautiful view, plenty of electrical outlets (it may seem like a small thing but it makes a BIG difference). Breakfast was very nearly perfect. The haggis was wonderful!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lancashire
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013 via mobile

I sayed four nights at this beautiful B&B from 22nd January 2013 I must say this is the most beautiful B&B I have ever had the pleasure to stay in,
The rooms were very modern comfortable and spotlessly clean with amazing views, the hosts Carol and Raymond are very friendly and can not do enough for you, Carol makes her own Jams marmalade and tasty homemade shortbread, and you are welcome to sit in there lounge/dinning area to relax and take in the lovely views of scrabster and on a clear day the Orkney's, I must say you arrive as guests and leave as friends, I can not wait for my next stay with them in September.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hobart
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

We stayed at Pennyland House for three nights in April '13. A warm welcome was received from Raymond and Carol, who were thoughtful and kindly hosts throughout our stay. We stayed in the St Andrew's room, overlooking the sea, and could watch the ferry for Orkney come and go. The bedroom and bathroom were both very spacious and attractive. In fact Pennyland House has been restored beautifully and it was a pleasure to stay there. It was easy to either walk or drive to the town center, and there was so much to do in the area we plan to return. A good value, very special place to stay.

Room Tip: We loved the St Andrew's room, but expect others would be of similar character and ambience.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

We were lucky enough to find a room at this great guest house the night before taking the ferry to the Orkney Islands. The hosts are lovely, gracious people an they've created an entirely comfortable and welcoming guest house. The rooms are very large and nicely decorated, with spotless ensuite bathrooms. We had a great stay and recommend Pennylands very highly.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Pennyland House B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pennyland House B&B

Address: Pennyland House, Thurso KW14 7JU, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Caithness and Sutherland > Thurso
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Thurso
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pennyland House is located on the edge of Thurso in a quiet, but convenient location and boasts wonderful views of the Orkney Islands, Dunnet Head, Scrabster and Thurso Bay. It is a three story building dating back over two hundred years. Built in 1780 it is historically noted for being the birthplace of Sir William Alexander Smith, the founder of the Boys Brigade. Over the past few years we have sympathetically renovated this historic building and turned it into a comfortable and interesting bed and breakfast for our guests. Although not yet rated, we are confident that you will not be disappointed with the quality and service during your stay with us. We have enjoyed putting our personal stamp on Pennyland House and have tried to reflect what we believe people want in a 'home from home'. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Pennyland House B&B Thurso, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pennyland House B&B, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.