We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“beautiful bed and breakfast” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Skara

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Thurso
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Skara
Save
You added Skara to your Saves list
Dixonfield, Thurso KW14 8YN, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 19 Thurso B&B and Inns
Brisbane, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“beautiful bed and breakfast”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2011

We stayed at Skara for 3 nights and it was one of the best bed and breakfast's we encountered in two months travelling around the UK. The location was excellent, just outside Thurso with fantastic views of the coast from our room and a lovely hostess in the person of Gloria. She displayed the friendliest, most welcoming hospitality. We travelled halfway round the world to see the UK and staying at Thurso was one of the highlights. It is a great location for exploring the top end of Scotland and the Orkney's. We would come back and stay at Skara in a heartbeat and recommend it to anyone who wants a quiet, peaceful retreat with lovely hosts.

Room Tip: Book early as there are only a handful of rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    6
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
3
34
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tacoma, Washington
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2011

My wife and I stayed two nights at Skara B&B in Thurso. It is situated on a hill top about a mile out of town, We arrived without reservations and were greeted enthusiastically by the owner Gloria Swanson. Gloria is an energetic and gracious host. She has everything highly organized and had us settled in quickly.

The room was clean and neat. The view from our window was a panorama of the local countryside and the Orkney Islands in the distance. The Internet, shower and coffee/tea service worked well. And we were well fed the next two mornings. Gloria also was good at giving local travel advice.

Two improvements I would like to have had:

1. Heat in the morning. The radiator in the room did not turn on until 7:00 a.m. so it was very cold for an early riser.

2. A bigger wash basin. The one in our room was microscopic and difficult to access. It made shaving in a cold room a real challenge.

The total cost for two people for two days was 112 pounds - a reasonable value.

Room Tip: Pick the room at the end of the hall with the view of the Orkney Islands.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elgin, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2011

We rang early evening for rooms for 3 people the same night and Gloria was able to accommodate us. We were warmly welcomed and nothing was too much trouble. Rooms were excellent, great showers and we all slept well. Breakfast was great and the best tea around.
Definitely would return here and will certainly recommend it.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2011 via mobile

This out of town B&B was a great find. Our only improvement suggestions would be an update of the website to reflect the first class accommodation and a wireless Internet booster to reach the bedrooms. Neither of which affect our intention to return.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atherstone, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2010

Had a fantastic stay at Skara and Gloria was a wonderful host and felt very welcome and comfortable imediatley. The rooms were newly decorated, clean and very well presented. But the best and most suprsing (we only found Skara the day we stayed!) were the breathtaking views of the Orkneys from the bedroom windows! Breakfast was lovely and had a good veggie option too. We will definitley be staying again as an ideal place to stop wen touring the coast road.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2010

Skara was our mid point on our road trip around Scotland. Lucky find here as we needed 3 rooms and Gloria was a great host. Great location and a very nice B&B with great views from all the rooms. For thos in the party that eat breakfast no one went short.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2010

Upon arriving in Thurso, we contacted the local tourist information who booked us a room at the Skara. We were not disappointed. The tastefully decorated room and ensuite were immaculate and had stunning views of the north scottish coast. The breakfast in the morning was fantastic. We both enjoyed a scottish breakfast and the eggs were cooked to perfection. Afterwards, the owner Gloria recommended some local sight should see before heading south and we were not disappointed.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Skara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Skara

Address: Dixonfield, Thurso KW14 8YN, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Caithness and Sutherland > Thurso
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Thurso
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
Skara Thurso, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Skara, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.