We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved it” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Schoolhouse Restaurant - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
The Schoolhouse Restaurant
John o' Groats, John O'Groats KW1 4YS, Scotland
01955 611714
Improve this listing
Price range: $0 - $45
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
WICK
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Loved it”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012

Really quirky place with eccentric service but loved the ambience and food. Sadly I am told this is now closed although I don't have that confirmed. Definitely a good place to eat but book first.

Visited October 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

15 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    1
    0
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Thurso, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“fab food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

great food all home made and the staff were very friendly, the shop next to it was lovely selling lots of home grown produce well worth a visit

Visited May 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caithness
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Home cooking”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2012

Good honest home cooking by owner and son. Will open to suit the customer if given notice. Great food at realistic prices.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wick, United Kingdom
1 review
“good quality local food in nice surroundings”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2011

Nice atmosphere and wonderful old fashioned food with a scottish flair.
Quality sourced produce and excellent cooking skills in a relaxing environment.
Has a private room for events, special occasions ect.....
Nice owners with the family feel and very family friendly.

  • Visited March 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Outstanding”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2011

It looks like 10 reviews for this place with 5 starts for everything. It is an amazing place.

Somewhat difficult to find, with a door that you have to force open and makes you think itis shut. It is a truly unique little restaurant. We had made the effort to seek it out after reading excellent reviews on trip adviser and being somewhat underwhelmed by the eating options in John O'Groats where we had travelled for a walk to Duncansby Stacks.

We turned up late for lunch (almost 2pm) without having made a reservation. Luckily there was a roaring fire going and we were given a table right next to it. The interior is amazingly quaint. I don't normally give too much consideration as to how a restaurant looks but this place is an exception. It really has a unique ambience - you are aware that it used to be a school yet it feels very cosy and extremely comfortable.

The food was fantastic. Straightforward menu (we had comforting chicken soup and a divine eggs a la creme to start then smoked haddock and ham with parsley sauce for mains) it was delicious and beautifully presented. The wonderful selection of vegetables which accompanied the main courses were a very welcome bonus. Service was incredibly polite yet unfussy. The emphasis was obviously on excellent home-cooking and this was reinforced by the fact you could see through into the kitchen from the dining area.

After our meals the chef came and spoke with us for about 10 minutes giving us some great information about the area with tips on where to stop on our ongoing journey and generally being very nice. She talked about the importance of making simple food, well. Everything about this place was great. If you are within 50 miles of it you should go.

Although we were very happy to have the place to ourselves and therefore the best table right next to the fire as the weather was somewhat wild outside (!) they deserve to be bustling at every sitting. It's a shame that there seemed to be more people eating at the cafes in John O'Groats itself rather than journeying less than a mile to this wonderful and reasonably priced restaurant.

  • Visited October 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shrjog, Owner at The Schoolhouse Restaurant, responded to this review, November 4, 2011
Thank you for your review - we're delighted that you had such a good experience. You will be happy to learn that the front door has been fixed by a very kind friend and it should not be such an ordeal to get in in future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Schoolhouse Restaurant also viewed

John O'Groats, Caithness and Sutherland
John O'Groats, Caithness and Sutherland
 
John O'Groats, Caithness and Sutherland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Schoolhouse Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.