We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Views and Yummy Coffee” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Storehouse Cafe

Storehouse Cafe
Natural Retreats, John O'Groats, Scotland
0844 384 3166
Website
Improve this listing
Restaurant details
Glendale, California
Top Contributor
448 reviews 448 reviews
294 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 113 cities Reviews in 113 cities
232 helpful votes 232 helpful votes
“Great Views and Yummy Coffee”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2013

My husband and I stopped here for coffee and cake during our vacation. We live in Los Angeles, where we have endless choices for coffee houses. I must say that the Storehouse Cafe is on par with any of our big city cafes. The coffee and food were delicious and they have a nice section to buy goods.

My favorite thing about the cafe is the giant windows that both let in a ton of light and gave us a fantastic view of the sea. It's modern, tastefully decorated and relaxing. A very lovely cafe.

Like my review? Check out my blog.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    17
    10
    5
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Bundaberg
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Very decent lunch”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

After a scenic drive to John O'groats we were very happy to find The Storehouse as an option to some of the other sad looking options. The vegetable quiche was delicious with yummy potato salad and coleslaw. We were also very happy to see a fresh side salad...sometimes difficult to find in the UK. Also a view out to the ocean made for a lovely lunch experience.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stornoway, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Two visits”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

My partner and I stopped here on the way to Orkney. He had a delicious roast beef sandwich and I had a toastie. Both were served with a side salad and crisps. It's a modern café in a beautiful setting with views out to Orkney. We enjoyed our lunch so much that we stopped here on the way back and had the same food again!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
119 reviews 119 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Modern and better than expected”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

Modern cafes in popular tourist spots tend to be very mediocre. We needed a tea and sandwich snack. There was not much choice of venues at the time we visited the location so Storehouse it was.

To our surprise, the sandwiches were substantial, well filled and on a delicious home baked bread. each was served with a small salad and a pot of good tea. The whole John O'Groats complex has been recently upgraded and is perhaps lacking in style but it is now designed to handle the crowds in the summer season.

If you are there, the Storehouse should do the trick for some light food.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Great Food with a View”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

Really enjoyed my soup. Sandwiches looked great too. They serve Starbucks coffee, which was my only turnoff, but other than that really the best place in John O'Groats. Large windows provide a great view of the Pentland Firth. Staff was nice and service quick. Overall, good food and good view from inside a warm café. Much better atmosphere than the other options at John O'Groats.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Storehouse Cafe also viewed

John O'Groats, Caithness and Sutherland
John O'Groats, Caithness and Sutherland
 
John O'Groats, Caithness and Sutherland

Been to Storehouse Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Storehouse Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.