We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant place for studying Scottish wildlife” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Aigas Field Centre

Aigas Field Centre
Beauly IV4 7AD, Scotland
01463 782443
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 5 Attractions in Beauly
Type: Nature/ Wildlife Areas, Outdoors
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Please avoid the disappointment of being turned away. Aigas Field Centre is a residential business and not open to passing visitors. Prior booking is always required. The internationally acclaimed and award-winning field centre for the Highlands and Islands of Scotland; Aigas is a Highland estate and family home offering unsurpassed hospitality, educational holidays and wildlife experiences to residential visitors from all over the world.
Useful Information: Wheelchair access, Activities for young children, Bathroom facilities, Activities for older children
Cookham Dean, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Brilliant place for studying Scottish wildlife”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

This was a really intense week of studying nature and nothing was too much trouble for the staff and rangers who strived all the time to make the experience a fantastic one. From watching beavers in the hide on a balmy evening to a 5.15 search for otters on the Moray Firth every skill was deployed to get good sightings of all that the Scotland have to offer including great views of birds of glens and sands!. Food delicious and comfy ensuite room with our own little kitchen made for a really enjoyable week. Only problem was there were not enough hours in the day to fit everything in!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AigasFieldCentre, General Manager at Aigas Field Centre, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Thank you for your kind review, which is very much appreciated. We hope that you will return to Aigas soon. Kind regards, Warwick Lister-Kaye
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    86
    4
    0
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Inverness, UK
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“A day visit in Spring”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

The Scottish Wildlife Trust organised a day visit to Aigas Field Centre. The house and Beaver-stoked loch are the mos memorable aspects of the day, and the food, served by Lady Lister-Kaye was outstanding. School kids visit regularly, and the grounds are open a few times a year as part of the Scotland Gardens Scheme. Take any opportunity to go and experience the expertise of the naturalists who staff the Field Centre.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Aigas is magnificent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

I spent a week at Aigas, taking a wonderful photography course. I was completely overwhelmed by the Lister-Kaye's incredible hospitality (Lady Lister-Kaye's cooking is legendary), the glorious location, and the knowledge and enthusiasm of the Aigas rangers. I was solo on this trip and somewhat nervous I'd be the only single. Indeed, I was not and I had the time of my life. If you are looking for a unique educational and learning adventure, look no further.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AigasFieldCentre, General Manager at Aigas Field Centre, responded to this review, November 21, 2013
Thank you for coming to stay and thank you even more for your very lovely review. All reviews are sent to all staff and they love hearing guest feedback. Thank you.

Best wishes
Warwick Lister-Kaye
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Lovely Holiday”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

We just spent the most delightful week at the Aigas Field Centre. Our time there was both relaxing and jammed packed. Sir John and Lady Lucy did in indeed make us feel like guests in their home.
The guides were informative with a lively interest in everything we questioned them on. The food was great. The cabins were warm and comfortable. Our daily outings were productive even when it rained. Tea at 4:00 PM was most civilized and a very pleasant way to wined down after a day on the go.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Albans, United Kingdom
1 review
“The AIGAS Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

The AIGAS Experience is not to be missed. It is an unforgettable week of Wildlife Sightings and learning about the many and varied aspects of conservation and the AIGAS' involvement at this most pressing and important time.
The holiday itself could not have been better. The Lister-Kaye family, the Rangers and all the Staff went out of their way to ensure we were well catered for. Nothing was too much trouble. The accommodation was comfortable and clean, the food delicious, packed lunches, afternoon tea, drinks-all just right and very welcome at the end of very full days.
The RANGERS - a more friendly and pleasant bunch of young people would be hard to find. Their knowledge was wide- ranging and informative.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AigasFieldCentre, General Manager at Aigas Field Centre, responded to this review, November 21, 2013
Thank you for your tremendous review. We share all of our reviews with all the staff, and I can tell you that it means a great deal to them to hear such positive feedback on their work. You have made their day!

Please do come back soon!
Best wishes
Warwick
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Aigas Field Centre also viewed

Beauly, Scottish Highlands
Glencoe, Scottish Highlands
 
Arisaig, Scottish Highlands
 

Been to Aigas Field Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aigas Field Centre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.