We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Treated like a Guest” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Lovat Arms Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Lovat Arms Hotel to your Saves list
Lovat Arms Hotel
Beauly | Inverness-shire, Beauly IV4 7BS, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Beauly
Romiley, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Treated like a Guest”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2014

Rarely do you get the customer care from all staff, but it was there at the Lovat Arms.
Friendly and professional..everyone seemed to care.
The room was fine. Instant Hot water and the cleanest of rooms and sparkling white bed sheets.
The hotel feels slightly dated, but in a way that makes it work well.
It is comfy and welcoming. The food..which has been mentioned by others is good.
Breakfast can be huge if you want it, with plenty of choice for meaty's and veggie's.
A honest hotel that does what it does very well.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    26
    9
    9
    8
See reviews for
16
29
5
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Broadstairs, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

We didn't stay at the hotel, but had dinner there twice during our stay. The food was very good; fresh, reasonably priced (cheaper than our own hotel) and the surroundings were pleasant. We sat in the room off the public bar which was a little noisy, but conversation was still possible. The service was a little variable but one wasn't quite sure if one should order at the bar or from the waitress.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stonehaven, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

Very good very well priced hotel.
Although a wee bit dated its bright, clean, brightly painted, comfortable and a little quirky which adds to its appeal.
Although i did not have an evening meal here the menu looked good with a good selection of vegetarian options (better than some in the area). Also offered a full vegetarian breakfast which was most welcome.
Rooms are quirky but clean and comfortable.
Staff helpful and friendly.
I paid £120 for 2 nights B&B as a solo traveller so very good value.
I was pleasantly surprised.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dullstroom, South Africa
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014 via mobile

We had dinner there on a recommendation and were not disappointed. The young lady managing the restaurant was in her own to start with, but seemed to cope well. The restaurant is well situated, bright and airy, clean and neat. The service was good, the dishes were very well presented, portions small to average, and very tasty.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014

We came to the Lovat Arms for a meal because my daughter was born a Fraser and wanted to see the hotel associated with her clan. Just inside the entryway a very large family tree hangs on the wall, along with what we assumed were more recent family photographs. The floors and staircase to the upper levels are covered in clan crest carpeting, and there are several chairs in the reception area upholstered in the Fraser hunting tartan. The carpet carries on into the pub area, where the banquettes and a number of chairs are covered in the dress tartan. The waitstaff was a bit slow getting to us but pleasant and otherwise efficient. The menu offered sufficient variety, and everything we had was well prepared and tasty. But for us -- and especially for my daughter -- the Fraser clan associations were the real stars of the evening.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kendal, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
139 reviews 139 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

We were travelling down from the Orkneys to Kendal and booked here. We arrived late (8.40pm); checked in briskly and had a good bistro meal in the bar area. (The dining room was packed with an italian coach party.) Our room was on the third floor (be aware NO LIFT) and was quite spacious. In fact it was set up for accommodating three people. Bed was firm but the room was quiet.
Breakfast was very average and coffee was poor. My wife switched to tea after one small sip!
Because the coach party had been in early there was not much fruit juice and cereal choice left.
Its location - serving both west and east coast is its main advantage, as well as being quiet - except when the Italians chatter.

Room Tip: Be aware that there are three floors, and no lift.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

I stopped off here overnight recently and, despite its limitations, I quite liked the place.

The first, and very obvious, limitation is the lack of an elevator. This is important as, to get to the second floor rooms, one has to negotiate a very steep and narrow stairway from the first floor to the second.

The second limitation - at least with the room I was given on the second floor - was the far-too-small shower cubicle. The room, otherwise, was large and clean.

I did not eat here as the dining room was off for some reason or other and I didn't wish bar food in the evening. However, breakfast the following day was first-class.

I left with the impression that the Lovat Arms is missing its full potential by quite a margin. However, all in all, a decent enough place albeit rather gloomy in parts. But, if you don't like tartan, avoid like the plague!

Room Tip: Whatever else, make sure your room is on the first floor!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Lovat Arms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lovat Arms Hotel

Address: Beauly | Inverness-shire, Beauly IV4 7BS, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Beauly
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Beauly
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, LateRooms, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Lovat Arms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lovat Arms Beauly
Lovat Arms Hotel Beauly, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lovat Arms Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.