We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Conmfortable and Welcoming” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Lovat Arms Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Lovat Arms Hotel to your Saves list
Lovat Arms Hotel
Beauly | Inverness-shire, Beauly IV4 7BS, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Beauly
Peebles, Scottish Borders
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Conmfortable and Welcoming”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

Stayed one night on a recent business trip and ate in the bar.

Friendly greeting on arrival with swift and efficient check in.

Well appointed bright room with en-suite bathroom with over bath electric shower. It was nice and clean and soon warmed up on turning up the thermostatic valve. Room to get the laptop out and wi-fi available so was able to catch up with business.

Comfortable bed, slept well.

Food in the bar was good with locally sourced produce and a great breakfast served in the dining room.

Clearly a loved family run hotel with character, such a pleasant change form the chain boxes.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    26
    9
    9
    8
See reviews for
16
29
5
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Charwelton, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

After a long days househunting in Scotland we needed some luxury! and the room we were given in the Lovatt Arms was definately that. Tartan clad room very spacious and warm nice bathroom lovely hot water and comfy bed! The bar food was tasty and locally sourced and reasonable. The real star was Mel a lovely friendly girl who appeared to be every job in the Hotel from reception to bar staff to waitress to check out girl and very efficient she was there first thing at breakfast after apparently finishing at 1 the night before!! She told us she was moving on and it will be their loss!! good luck Mel!

Room Tip: Ask for room 2 its lovely!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Muir of Ord, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

Went to the Lovat Arms for Sunday lunch along with two family members as I usually do about 5 times per year.We went with high expectations that we were in for a meal to remember. Something has GONE WRONG. The soup for starter was fine...end of story! Poor choice for main meal. Two of us went for roast beef which was thin-cut and tough. The vegetables were lukewarm..the parsnips would require a chisel to cut them. Deciding, that there was still room for a desert, asked for menu. Guess what? There was nothing on it that appealed to either of us! Something wrong when 3 out 3 drew a blank. What was left? Pot of tea or coffee maybe. Not much could go wrong there one would think but decided not to take the chance.The Lounge-bar/Restaurant was unusually quiet for a Sunday afternoon so I suspect that one of my favorite food places is in decline.I sincerely hope not as this centrally placed Hotel in Beauly has long had a good reputation for good food and a friendly welcome ( the nice welcome is still there).I will be asking around to get a feedback on the standard of meals before I venture back.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inverness, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

Last week four of us had afternoon tea at the Loval Arms. We had booked as it was a special occasion for one of the ladies.This is not necesary though.
We were given the Garden room to ourselves which was perfect. We had an amazing selection of sandwiches and homemade cakes, shortbread, profiteroles and meringues to die for.The tea pot kept getting topped up and to crown all this, we were given containers to take home what we didn't finish ! All this for under £5 per head. What more can I say ?

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inverness, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

Thought we would see if this hotel takes customer feedback seriously. Well we gave it a try and the food was really good. The presentation and taste was 10 out of 10. Its like the chef has got his spark back. Well done. Service still needs slighly improved but still an 8 out of 10. This is well worth a second chance, i hope the keep the standards we experienced.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

Great ambience with antiques and huge but relaxed rooms.have stayed here 7 times and it never fails to charm and provide a haven with good facilities nearby.Very reasonable prices,good food and a bar to enjoy.The surrounding countryside offers a lot.Hotel is a flat comfortable walk from the railway station and this would be a good place for a winter weekend break via rail from any major scottish city.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burton upon Trent, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

On arrival we were told cases would only be taken to rooms if we paid a Pound a case with a further Pound to be paid for bringing them down. I don't mind paying a gratuity but don't expect to have payment demanded in advance! Given a room on floor 2, no lift! Nothing on the hotel web site forewarns of the lack of this facility. The room had a sagging floor, torn wall paper hanging from the wall, dirty and stained carpet and a faded dusty curtain. No shower, just a bath.The wooden toilet seat was chipped. Many drawers but only a broom cupboard in which to hang clothes, no wardrobe, no case stand.
On top of all this we had to endure the music of a Wedding party until 10 past 11.00. Either the hotel is catering for parties or for traveller's/tourists, not both at the same time!
Downstairs the "warm and comfortable" foyer was cold and cluttered. The main front door opened directly into this area and the cold air was therefore constantly refreshed!
The price of a pint of 3.6% Scottish Bitter was £4.15 in the hotel bar and a 330ml bottle of Becks £4.10.
Cooked breakfast served to our party consisted of 1 egg (fried no choice despite asking for scrambled this was refused) 1 rasher of bacon and 1 sausage.
There was tea and coffee in the bedroom but this was hidden away in the bottom of the bedside cabinet perhaps in the hope we didn't find it!
Regretfully I cannot think of any redeeming features and I am surprised at this Hotel's 3 star rating.

Room Tip: Go elsewhere.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Lovat Arms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lovat Arms Hotel

Address: Beauly | Inverness-shire, Beauly IV4 7BS, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Beauly
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Beauly
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, LateRooms, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Lovat Arms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lovat Arms Beauly
Lovat Arms Hotel Beauly, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lovat Arms Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.