We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect for Walking” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Glen Affric Youth Hostel

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Beauly
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Glen Affric Youth Hostel
Save
You added Glen Affric Youth Hostel to your Saves list
Allt Beithe | Glen Affric, Beauly IV4 7ND, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Scotland
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Perfect for Walking”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2014

This is a hostel perfect for walking the hills right on the doorstep. Basic accommodation and facilities, walk in from Cluanie Inn is bog factor 5! It would be possible to cycle up Glen Affric as it’s a decent track. Warden was very helpful.

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

11 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    1
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
2
1
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2014

This hostel makes the perfect base for bagging some of Scotland's most remote munros (plus one corbett!). It's appeal for me is the effort to get here - reasonable from east or west but a nightmare mud-fest via the right of way An Caorann Mor from the south. Don't expect luxury here - rustic and basic is how it's best described. What you will get though is a true comraderie and a feel of living in the middle of nowhere. On my visit for hillwalking the weather was oustanding, the company excellent and the accommodation totally acceptable (this is a hostel!). A special thanks to the warden Hannah who was freindly, welcoming and not "old style overbearing". You get what you put in - try it for an unforgettable experience ...

Stayed September 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Innerleithen, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

I would love to tell people not to go there. Just so I could have it all to myself next time I go. It was a welcome sight to us as it came into view. We had walked from the Glen Affric carpark on the Cannich side. It was a really enjoyable walk. Plenty wildlife. We did have a hairy moment with an adder. Neither of us saw it until we were upon it. Understandably it got a bit shirty. Luckily we didn't get bitten, as there is no phone signal in the glen. The hostel was idilic though. Nice and warm. I loved the fireplace in the kitchen, nice tiles and stove. Perfect view of the glen and the five sisters in the background.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helensburgh, Argyll
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

Stayed 2 nights after cycle in from Glen Affric.

Lovely cosy kitchen/eating area/lounge. Good mix of folk staying including walkers and a group planting trees. All very cheery and happy to be in this hostel last weekend as it closes for winter shortly.

Accomodation rather spartan but the kind of people who make the effort to get to this location don't appear to mind.

Room Tip: Book early.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

This is everything a youth hostel should be/ used to be. Small, cozy, simple, bunkbeds and likeminded people. I was last here in the 1980s when you had to be under twenty-five to be a member of the YHA. This time around there wasn't one person present who was under forty-five years of age. Sad ... maybe the young people of today are only interested in their computer games?
The only reason I didn't give a five star review is because of the value for money ... or lack of it. £24 per night for a bunk in a bunkhouse and a stay without food .... come on! That's almost £100 a night for a family. Maybe this partly explains the reason why there were no young people there? And would also explain the tents pitched outside when there was a cozy YHA available.
It makes me sad. The SYHA have lost there way and this reminds me of why I stopped using them twenty years ago. They concentrate on city hostels now with ensuite rooms, family rooms, wifi etc. etc. Hence the recent need for private hostels in rural places.
Still, Glen Affric hostel reminded me of my happy youth and the old fashioned hostels I used to frequent in my neck of the woods ... Glen Doll YHA, Dollar YHA, Falkland YHA. Sadly all closed.

Room Tip: Booking was a problem. This cannot be done at the usual SYHA booking office. I was passed around fou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

This is a brilliant place. Situation perfect. The warden - Audrey - is so welcoming. The craig is brilliant. i was with my 2 teenage kids and we were climbing the mountains nearby. We stayed 2 nights - we trekked in from Affric and we trekked out to Ratagan youth hostel on Loch Duich. Could not recommend it highly enough.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

Our two nights here were the highlight of a four-day walking trip on the wettest/windiest and coldest May Day Bank holiday I can remember. Our party used various different high and low-level approach routes, all arrived soaked to the skin and were all greatly appreciated the constantly on-the-boil kettle, the two wood burning stoves, the hot, clean and powerful showers and the snug 2-room hostel, Audrey (the warden) was cheery, helpful and welcoming, the kitchen had everything we needed (including quite a bit of free spare food) and the selection of games (cards, chess, Cluedo, Balderdash, Masterpiece etc) and books kept us all entertained all evening. Hostel was full, with a great mix of different nationalities (French, Dutch, American etc) and everyone very friendly, The two main dorms are a short walk away from the main hostel (so bring a torch and flip-flops or equivalent (to avoid having to put on wet boots in the middle of the night). Make sure you have booked in advance and check out your approach route, as the river crossings on some of the routes can be tricky if the rivers are in spate.

Room Tip: Don't spend too long looking for the swimming pool or fitness centre! If approaching from the e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Glen Affric Youth Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glen Affric Youth Hostel

Address: Allt Beithe | Glen Affric, Beauly IV4 7ND, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Beauly
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Specialty Lodging in Beauly
Also Known As:
Glen Affric Youth Hostel Beauly, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Glen Affric Youth Hostel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.