We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Come in", she said, "and I'll give you shelter from the storm"” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Glen Affric Youth Hostel

Glen Affric Youth Hostel
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Beauly
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Glen Affric Youth Hostel
Save
You added Glen Affric Youth Hostel to your Saves list
Allt Beithe | Glen Affric, Beauly IV4 7ND, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“"Come in", she said, "and I'll give you shelter from the storm"”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

Our two nights here were the highlight of a four-day walking trip on the wettest/windiest and coldest May Day Bank holiday I can remember. Our party used various different high and low-level approach routes, all arrived soaked to the skin and were all greatly appreciated the constantly on-the-boil kettle, the two wood burning stoves, the hot, clean and powerful showers and the snug 2-room hostel, Audrey (the warden) was cheery, helpful and welcoming, the kitchen had everything we needed (including quite a bit of free spare food) and the selection of games (cards, chess, Cluedo, Balderdash, Masterpiece etc) and books kept us all entertained all evening. Hostel was full, with a great mix of different nationalities (French, Dutch, American etc) and everyone very friendly, The two main dorms are a short walk away from the main hostel (so bring a torch and flip-flops or equivalent (to avoid having to put on wet boots in the middle of the night). Make sure you have booked in advance and check out your approach route, as the river crossings on some of the routes can be tricky if the rivers are in spate.

Room Tip: Don't spend too long looking for the swimming pool or fitness centre! If approaching from the e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Boris_the_Bold99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Penicuik, Scotland
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

We walked in from Glen Affric - its 10 miles, but with packs on our backs it took a bit longer than we'd expected at 3.75 hours (we went in via the north shore - which is basically a path and came back on the south shore which is a track, though it took effectively as long, though of the two, the views from the south looking north I thought were nicer). The hostel communal areas (kitchen, dining-room and lounge area) are real nice snug and warm - we stayed out in the dorms in a separate block - which were basic but fine (the toilet is in the main block and you will need a torch to get there) but I doubt if you are the kinda person that seeks out a place like this that you would worry about this and just enjoy the remote setting. It was nice meeting a whole range of people at the hostel - everyone was really nice and friendly - and the hostel warden, Audrey was friendly and chatty. Overall it was a great base to grab some out-of the way munros - come back have a warm shower, cook yourself a nice meal and curl up with a nice drink (note as an eco hostel you have to bring in and take out your own food/rubbish). We loved it - hope you do to.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TrickieDickie_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chaddesley Corbett, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
172 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2012

If you are expecting ensuite rooms, fancy beds, breakfast, fridge, wifi, trouser press or a TV room, then this is not the place for you! The electricity supply is sporadic and is dependent upon the wind turbine and solar panels. You need to take your own food supplies, sleeping bag, pillow case cover and to carry out your rubbish. The very remote nature of this hostel means that it is no thrills.

However, what a great location and great atmosphere. It is totally cosy. Audrey, the warden, made sure that the wood burner was always on the go and that hot was available when you needed some for the shower. There was a great sense of camaraderie between all. What a great place to meet new and interesting people!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dead_Sheep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
43 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2011

On the long walk from Loch Affric to Loch Duich with the rain driving hortizontally it was an incredibly welcome sight to see the tin roof of the youth hostel. Colin the very friendly warden welcomed us in, made us a cup of tea and let us warm ourselves by the stove. Although we didn't stay the night (we should have !!) it looked like a cosy spotless welcoming place to stay. The location is fantastically wild and if you start later in the day a great place to break the 18 mile walk through to Loch Duich.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jetqueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
86 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2011

How does a hostel sound with an incredibly cramped kitchen with only one stove and sink? Only two loos. No drying room. One shower. A dormitory which is literally an unheated outside shed. If it sounds terrible don't visit.
The wonder is that it's here at all. If you want the ultimate back-to-nature, get-away-from-it-all expereince this is for you. Three hours walk from the nearest road, you must carry all your food and a sleeping bag.
You will be rewarded with excellent camaraderie, character, friendliness, all in a truly outstanding location surrounded by high mountains. I slept like a log.
It was very popular and hard to book. The one downside was that a group of volunteer workers did rather dominate and take over the facilities, an especial pain when the weather was bad and drying clothes was difficult. Other than that I'd say it was in a class all by itself. Standard assessment is almost meaningless.
But do not try it if you really need your creature comforts.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BenHope
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Beauly
0.0 mi away
Glengarry Castle Hotel
Glengarry Castle Hotel
#1 of 3 in Invergarry
4.5 of 5 stars 543 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ratagan Youth Hostel
Ratagan Youth Hostel
#1 of 1 in Ratagan
4.0 of 5 stars 36 reviews
0.0 mi away
Torridon Youth Hostel
Torridon Youth Hostel
#1 of 1 in Torridon
4.5 of 5 stars 44 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Priory Hotel
Priory Hotel
#1 of 4 in Beauly
4.0 of 5 stars 226 reviews
0.0 mi away
Chrialdon House
Chrialdon House
#1 of 11 in Beauly
5.0 of 5 stars 84 reviews
0.0 mi away
Lovat Arms Hotel
Lovat Arms Hotel
#2 of 4 in Beauly
3.5 of 5 stars 101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glen Affric Youth Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glen Affric Youth Hostel

Address: Allt Beithe | Glen Affric, Beauly IV4 7ND, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Beauly
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Specialty Lodging in Beauly
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
len Affric Youth Hostel is a unique and remote youth hostel in a wide river valley surrounded by high mountains. Situated 8 miles from the nearest road, our remote Eco-Hostel offers an unforgettable experience. A former stalking bothy on the Glen Affric Estate it is a haven for walkers, nature lovers and those seeking solitude. On the doorstep are 15 Munro hills and good tracks through the valleys for both walking and mountain biking. The youth hostel is only accessible on foot or by mountain bike, please allow at least 3-4 hours for the walk in. (see How to find us for more information). The location is very special and it is the closest you will get to an Alpine Hut in Scotland. A great experience awaits those who are prepared to make the effort to visit. Wi-Fi during your stay: We do our best to deliver a free Wi-Fi service but apologise that connectivity, particularly in our rural locations, can be intermittent due to the level of our current broadband provision along with high usage when the youth hostel is busy. Please be assured we are endeavouring to improve where we can. We thank you for your patience and understanding ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Glen Affric Youth Hostel Beauly, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing