We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The epicenter of the tradional high tea” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Priory Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Priory Hotel to your Saves list
Priory Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   The Square, Beauly IV4 7BX, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Beauly
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Inverness
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“The epicenter of the tradional high tea”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

An on spec drop in on Friday early evening .The place was very busy ,always a good sign , and most of the clientele appeared to be local ,( another one ) We were slightly surprised to see nearly every table had a toast rack ,tea pot and cake stand and found that this place is one of the last bastions of traditional high teas hence popularity with he mainly mature locals . We just had a main course and my wife (gluten intolerant) was well pleased with the way her menu queries were dealt with . She had the Monk Fish special and reckoned that she had never had monk fish better cooked . We will probably return for a high tea at some time ... The ambience , the pleasant staff and the reasonable prices will ensure that

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

182 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    88
    59
    19
    11
    5
See reviews for
28
84
10
17
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Cumbernauld, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Staff friendly and helpful, public areas and bedrooms spotlessly clean, nice white crisp bed linen and towels. Food in bistro is very good, the bumper burger my favourite. Plenty of choices at breakfast. Free WiFi around the hotel is great. Another great two night stay in a relaxing environment.

Room Tip: (mobile phone signal in Beauly would appear to be no existent).
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abergavenny
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

While visiting family in the area, I had to join an important Video Conference. I was able to use a quiet bedroom out the back and WiFi connect in. Connection was stable and only dropped once in two full days (likely due to my error!)

Room was very clean and comfy. Food was very reasonable and the staff friendly and accommodating.

Cannot thank them enough for helping out.

Stayed April 2015, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bmw535i, Manager at Priory Hotel, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Thank you for your review - we are happy to be of help to you.

Glad everything worked OK as the wi fi around here can be bit iffy.

Hope to see you back at The Priory soon

Blair Sinclair
Priory Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kilmarnock, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We were recently visiting friends in the area and stopped off in Beauly for a wander around the town. As it was lunch time we decided to eat and duly looked for somewhere to go. We were drawn by the sign outside the Priory advertising a 2 course lunch for £7.95 and went in for a look.
Inside we found it modern with a pleasant atmosphere and decided to give it a go. We are certainly pleased we did. The food and service was excellent but what struck us most was the value for money. Normally at most places cheaper fixed price menus are of slightly lesser quality and smaller portions. On this occasion none of this applied, the food was of an excellent standard and the portions were huge leaving us stuffed and needing a lie down!!
I can't fault the quality of the service or food and certainly not the value for money.
My only other recommendation is book or go early as a lot of people obviously think the same and it was understandably very busy.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bmw535i, Manager at Priory Hotel, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Thank you very much for your positive review.

We are really happy you found the quality and value for money to be above expectation, that is what we aspire to all of the time.

Our set price menu has been a very positive addition to our lunch time trade and is very popular with local repeat customers and visitors alike.

Thank you for taking the time to review, it is much appreciated

Blair Sinclair
Priory Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We visited for the first time for Sunday Carvery today and although the carvery lunch was tasty it wasn't very hot. We also had to pay extra for a dessert and there was no starter. Coffee was also extra. Our bill came to just over £40 . Compare this to the Morangie house carvery where you get a great choice of starters, as nany visits to the carvery as you like and loads of choice, lots of choices of desserts or cheese, all this with wine and a soft drink for 38 pound is much better value and high quality. I don't think the Priory is good value unfortunately.

Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bmw535i, Manager at Priory Hotel, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Thank you for your review - really sorry you did not find your meal was value for money.

You can visit the carvery as often as you like and yes the starters, sweets etc are chargeable. This is the way we have offered our carvery since the beginning a few years ago and you are the first I have heard make comment - I do not know if some other places offer all 3 courses for a set price - we do not because we find most guests do not want 3 courses so we offer it like this and they can order as they wish.

We at The Priory have always prided ourselves on offering good quality and value for money and I am sure you would have noticed how busy the carvery was yesterday so we think a lot of people agree.

The bulk of our Sunday trade is repeat trade - I am sure if they felt it was poor value they would inform us.

Sorry you did not find it to your liking.


Blair Sinclair
Priory Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Muir of Ord, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The Priory Hotel is one of my locals and I really can't recommend it highly enough!

We have lived in the Beauly area for over 20 years and used to have our Sunday lunch here with my father-in-law every week. After he died we stopped going.

Just over 2 years ago we had an impromptu large family meal and haven't looked back since. My mum-in-law and I now regularly (ie weekly) pop in for lunch or a cuppa.

The staff are FANTASTIC and can't do enough for you - fantastic recruitment skills by the management!

The restaurant is large and can cater for large groups - even at a moment's notice - but it's always best to book ahead to avoid disappointment.

The lounge area is quite large and caters for residents, tourists and locals alike, You can have your meal in the lounge area or in the restaurant - the staff don't seem to mind so long as the customer is happy and comfortable. The best bit about the lounge are the super-comfy leather seats and sofas - a definite favourite of ours!

The hotel also has a public bar with pool table, etc. Again, great staff and service.

The menus on offer are varied and cater for all dietary requirements - which in this day and age is essential. From sandwiches, toasties and burgers to the full dinner menu - you will always find something lovely to eat. They cater for children with their kids menu and all the staff are very patient and understanding when kids are in the hotel/restaurant. The High Tea menu is amazing with traditional 3-tier cake stands for afterwards! Highly recommended.

I can't comment on the bedrooms at this hotel as I've never stayed here myself - after all, I only live a few miles away! We have however had a few family members stay here over the years and they all LOVED it! Clean, modern, relaxing and everything above!

So,.....if you're in the Beauly or Muir of Ord area why not pop in by and experience some lovely Highland hospitality!

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bmw535i, Manager at Priory Hotel, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Thank you for a fantastic review - I think it is time you had a night in The Priory for all your nice comments - next time we meet I will sort out a night for you both, then you can complete the review !!!

Thank you very much

Blair
Priory Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundee, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Another great break at the Priory. Food was excellent even better than before! Can not fault our stay in any way. staff very friendly and efficient. Rooms are both roomy and comfortable. Looking forward to our next visit.

Room Tip: All rooms are good
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bmw535i, Manager at Priory Hotel, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Thank you again for your positive review. Repeat customers are so important to our business it is always good to know they are still happy with the product.

Hopefully will see you again.

Blair Sinclair
Priory Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Priory Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Priory Hotel

Address: The Square, Beauly IV4 7BX, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Beauly
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Beauly
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Priory Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and LateRooms so you can book your Priory Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Priory Hotel Beauly, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Priory Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.