We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent food, friendly staff.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ski-Ing Doo Restaurant

Ski-Ing Doo Restaurant
9 Grampian Road, Aviemore PH22 1RH, Scotland
01479 810392
Improve this listing
Ranked #9 of 44 restaurants in Aviemore
Cuisines: Hamburgers, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Bar scene, Large groups
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Scotland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Excellent food, friendly staff.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

We've eaten here numerous times, during winters and summers, the food is always excellent and the staff are always friendly.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

220 reviews from our community

85% Recommend
    124
    65
    17
    10
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Erskine
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Excellent Venue - busy even in off season”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

Good food, excellent service, and an extremely imaginative and eclectic collection of beers. Was there with a stag night and the staff couldn't have been friendlier

Oh, and it's got possibly the most interesting loos you'll see in Scotland.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen ,Scotland, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Friendly service, nice atmosphere and good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

As ever when we went in the Ski-ing Doo restaurant was very busy so we popped downstairs for a drink until a table was available.

I had a steak with pepper sauce and it was lovely. My my boyfriend and I eat our steaks cooked differently and when they arrived they were actually good med/rare med/well which was great.

There is always a bit of a buzz in the restaurant with plenty to look at whilst you are there. The staff are very friendly and show an interest in what you've been up to without being overly intrusive.

Every time I go to Aviemore I go to Ski-ing Do and this will definitely continue.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ballater
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Great wee place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

Great wee place to eat and lovely warm atmosphere!! The staff are friendly and eager to help! Hope to get back again soon!

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Freuchie
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Stood the test of time”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

Unable to secure a table at another restaurant, I suddenly remembered the skiing doo. Our family used to holiday in aviemore every year when I was younger and we always visited the skiing doo. Well,I was very glad to discover it was just as good as ever- maybe better. Very friendly staff, cool decor and great atmosphere, even when fairy quiet. Food very good. My young daughter, quite a fussy eater at times, cleared her plate. Looking forward to our next visit when we're back up in Aviemore.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ski-Ing Doo Restaurant also viewed

Aviemore, Aviemore and the Cairngorms
Aviemore, Aviemore and the Cairngorms
 
Aviemore, Aviemore and the Cairngorms
Aviemore, Aviemore and the Cairngorms
 

Been to Ski-Ing Doo Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ski-Ing Doo Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.