We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Scottish Feel!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Cairngorm Hotel

The Cairngorm Hotel
77 Grampian Road, Aviemore PH22 1PE, Scotland
44 1479 810233
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 51 Restaurants in Aviemore
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $15 - $23
Cuisines: British, Scottish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Bar scene, Local cuisine, Large groups
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Dessert, Buffet, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
London, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Scottish Feel!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2014

Traditional Scottish feel with good sized menu and decent portion sizes. Definitely a place to get into the Scottish routine with bag pipes included! If it's your birthday make sure you let them know as you'll treated to a solo performance on the bag pipes. Whatever you do, go for the haggis lasagne finished with the epic sticky toffee pudding - it's huge!

Visited August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

642 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    355
    198
    60
    22
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wuhan Hubei China
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“The Cairngorms Inn”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2014

A great stay with very good food and some soccer. It was rowdy but was funny the food was a great pub food and do disappointments were noted. Start their and enjoy life on the highlands to great food and stays. Thanks

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harwich, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Good Quality and Plenty of it!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2014

We ate here twice while we were in Aviemore, and visited the hotel bar on a few occasions also!

The menu is a good mix of pub grub (of a high standard) and traditional Scottish meals. Its get very busy in the evenings and you cant book in advance, so be prepared to wait in the bar until a table is ready, although that is no problem as far as we were concerned.

The second time we ate was a Thursday and we went for the Highland Buffet. The different Scottish dishes were all amazing and we struggles to walk back to our cabin afterwards.

The hotel is right bang in the centre of Aviemore, opposite the train station, you cant miss it.

Great friendly staff who really look after their customers, lovely atmosphere and traditional music in the bar most evenings.

We also loved the piper who performed in the car park every evening.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Outstanding”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2014

We ended up eating here a few times as everything about it was brilliant. Service was excellent. Menu was a mix of traditional Scot and other dishes. Atmosphere was wonderful. They even had a menu that "won't-eat-nothing" son would dig into. Two thumbs up!

Visited August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“excellent lunch value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2014

Recommended by the lady in Waterstones book store this turned out to be right on the money. My wife and I were looking for a light lunch, what we got was a feast, 2 meals and 2 drinks for £12 great value. The soup I had came with 2 large chunks of fresh bread and enough butter to kill any normal person. My wife's sandwiches were simply humongous. Other meals I observed being served looked to be good quality and of the large portion variety.
The staff were all excellent quick and polite.
We were on holiday otherwise I would definitely eat here on a regular basis.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Cairngorm Hotel also viewed

Aviemore, Aviemore and the Cairngorms
Aviemore, Aviemore and the Cairngorms
 
Aviemore, Aviemore and the Cairngorms
Aviemore, Aviemore and the Cairngorms
 

Been to The Cairngorm Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Cairngorm Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.