We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great start to the holiday” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Cairngorm Hotel

The Cairngorm Hotel
77 Grampian Road, Aviemore PH22 1PE, Scotland
44 1479 810233
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 51 Restaurants in Aviemore
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $15 - $23
Cuisines: British, Scottish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Large groups, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Dessert, Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Buffet, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Perth, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great start to the holiday”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014 via mobile

Ok, so I've been here before, but this is my first review of the restaurant.

Staff - excellent (particularly with the kids)
Food - plentiful and tasty.
Prices - reasonable.

Last 3 or 4 visits to Aviemore, we've had a meal here. Always busy, always tasty and always reasonable. Can't say much more than that.
Definitely one to experience on your trip.

Visited August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

643 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    355
    199
    60
    22
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, UK
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Friendly staff, terrible food”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

Just came back from a weekend in Aviemore and stopped here for lunch on our last day, Although the staff were friendly and welcoming enough we found the menu uninspired - basically fairly basic pub food with a bit of a Scottish twist. The chicken dippers we ordered were dry, the goulash fairly tasteless and we had to send the the hamburger back as it was so tough and dry as to be completely unedible.

Lots of other people seem to be raving about it on here so you may have a better experience than we did, or it might be better in the evening but one of the worst meals we have had and not cheap at the price.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014

Great food and service. Have been several times and always good. Plenty seating outdoors if weather is good

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leuven, Belgium
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great food and service !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2014

We had fresh grilled salmon with asparagus. Staff was great and helpful. A lot of locals ... so the food must be good :-)

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Enjoyable evening”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

We didn't have a dinner reservation on a busy Saturday night and we told that the Cairngorm Hotel don't take bookings so we headed along. The place was very busy but we were welcomed warmly and told it could be an hour wait. We didn't mind as it was a Saturday night so took a buzzer and sat up at the bar for a few drinks and enjoyed the busy atmosphere. When we were seated we really enjoyed our meal, the mussels are excellent as is the 'Black Beauty' a starter of black pudding and glazed apples. The only negative was my wine wasn't cold enough and there was a lot of cheese on my fish pie. Relaxed and friendly service, and reasonable prices. We went back to the bar afterwards and had a few drinks listening to some live music. Would definitely recommend.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Cairngorm Hotel also viewed

Aviemore, Aviemore and the Cairngorms
Aviemore, Aviemore and the Cairngorms
 
Aviemore, Aviemore and the Cairngorms
Aviemore, Aviemore and the Cairngorms
 

Been to The Cairngorm Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Cairngorm Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.