We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Dinner” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Cairngorm Hotel

The Cairngorm Hotel
77 Grampian Road, Aviemore PH22 1PE, Scotland
44 1479 810233
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #8 of 49 Restaurants in Aviemore
Price range: $16 - $23
Cuisines: Scottish, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Bar scene, Large groups, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Buffet, Late Night, Dessert
Cowdenbeath, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Good Dinner”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

My girlfriend and I went to the hotel for dinner whilst on holiday. Decor was lovely, some of the staff were a bit short with us when trying to ask where to go, waiting 40 minutes instead of 30 like we were told but the hotel was very busy. Grabbed a drink each whilst we waited in the lounge which was equally pleasant.

Food was quite good, I had a 10 oz steak dinner which came to around £18.50 alone. It was good but not £18 good. Dessert was really nice. I had a "White Lady" whilst my girlfriend had a sundae which we both thoroughly enjoyed.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

571 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    313
    176
    55
    21
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nairn, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Hen weekend”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014 via mobile

We visited here for a meal on a hen weekend and all I can say was fantastic variety, quantity, price and service were exemplary. We will certainly return and will be recommending it to anyone and everyone. Recommend the ribeye steak and the venison meatballs with linguine mmmmmmmmmmmm

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Lovely food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

Visited followed high recommendation by our B&B and we were not disappointed. Arrive early - or later - to be sure of a table in this family owed Hotel. Characterful surroundings typical of the area and era; excellent food, reasonably priced. Friendly, welcoming staff. Highly recommended.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Highlands
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Family Meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

Great food, extensive menu. We had our 2 little ones with us, and they were very well looked after. The staff were all really friendly, and i wouldnt hesitate to recommend this place.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Wayne, Indiana
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Tasty bite and good bar”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

Not much of a fan of Scottish food, this was the best meal I had. Fresh salmon, home made soup, steak cooked perfectly.... everything was tasty. It is a relaxed atmosphere with good service, and a wide selection to offer. You will not be disappointed.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Cairngorm Hotel also viewed

Aviemore, Aviemore and the Cairngorms
Aviemore, Aviemore and the Cairngorms
 
Aviemore, Aviemore and the Cairngorms
Aviemore, Aviemore and the Cairngorms
 

Been to The Cairngorm Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Cairngorm Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.