We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“At last that breakfast Eureka moment!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cairngorm Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Cairngorm Hotel to your Saves list
Cairngorm Hotel
Grampian Road, Aviemore PH22 1PE, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in Aviemore
Kidderminster, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“At last that breakfast Eureka moment!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2013

I will come back to the hotel in general in a moment but first i have to say that, as someone with a reasonable appetite, I have often commented on how hotels etc could perhaps push the boat out with an additional sausage or rasher of bacon at breakfast.

I am no hotelier but i do understand the basic principles of waste and cross-subsidy, and as such have wondered why a hotel could not perhaps offer an "upgrade" option.

Ta-daaaa. Whilst the 'standard' size breakfast would no doubt be fine for many visitors, there is an option to have a larger version for just a few pounds more - thus those with smaller appetites are not wasting food or being over-charged, whilst folk such as myself are more than happy to accept the upgrade option.

The hotel could not really be better situation for Aviemore, being on the main road, directly opposite a train station (there was no noise disturbance) and having adequate car-parking.

The hotel exterior and interior has character - this is NOT your typical characterless lump of corporate friendly brick and glass. Now i am not going to say it is the most plush or luxurious of hotels BUT it is the sort of place you can walk into and instantly feel comfortable.

The hotel has an adjoining restaurant and then bar - seemingly popular with both visitors and locals alike (which i feel suggests something). There was a minor irritation that, having initially sat in the bar, we had to move into the restaurant area in order to eat a 'proper' meal rather than a bar snack but that was hardly the end of the world.

Our meals were chosen from an expansive menu, were of good home-cooked style and service was astoundingly quick given how busy the place was.

The room itself, again was not luxurious, but was pleasantly adorned and decorated tastefully, it was clean and not claustrophobically small - although the bath was not meant for anyone of 6ft2.

Hotel reception and restaurant staff were pleasant and engaging - overall a great place we shall delight in revisiting.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

390 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    206
    124
    36
    12
    12
See reviews for
79
167
17
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2013

We have stayed at The Cairn several times and have always had a great experience. The staff are really friendly whilst still being professional and could not do enough for us. Breakfast offered a good choice from fruit and cereals to a full Scottish breakfast. The restaurant at night did not disappoint either with a great choice and huge portions. We will definitely be back again.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2013

Very friendly and comfortable hotel. I love to stay here because of the warm welcome and the flexibility of the staff who help make your stay enjoyable e.g. allowing us to have breakfast in the main restaurant after the agreed finishing time at no extra cost.
Late drinks from the night porter are at a reasonable price and there is always a good mix of people to chat to.
Try it you will love it!!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2013

Stayed here for the night due to a works party happening in aviemore. I've stayed here before too previously and both times have been excellent. Welcoming, warm, clean. Just what's needed. Didn't eat here but the bar is fantastic and friendly. A real traditional feel to the place, without being too expensive. Would recommend.

Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2013

Good hotel and accommodation. Very friendly and attentive staff. Breakfast on first morning was greasy and over fried but second morning was very good. Welcoming and relaxed bar. Restaurant meal in the evening was average pub food. Lack of drawer space in the room. But overall an enjoyable stay.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2013

My sister-in-law had her wedding at the hotel and we stayed for 5 nights. The staff were more than helpful to make sure the day ran smoothly. Nothing was too much trouble and so I was able to prepare her bouquet and the buttonholes in our room with no distraction - my lunch was even bought up on a tray - their idea not mine, but it was extremely appreciated. Food was always hot, nicely presented and service was excellent. Lots of choice for breakfast. The staff were very friendly and any problems were dealt with immediately. The room was comfortable, clean and reasonably spacious. As we traveled by train having the station across the road was a plus and hotel is well situated for shops. We would certainly come back.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

We stayed in this hotel on the evening of the 6th November, room was a spacious room just above the restaurant.

Room itself could possibly do with slight upgrading but overall it was spacious warm and well appointed. It had beautiful views and spacious enough.

Although the sign on the bathroom wall suggests if you would like a bathmat for standing in the bath for a shower they are available at reception – I am unsure why they would not just be placed in the room? This would be muy only minor complaint re this hotel.

We had a few drinks in the bar which was cosy and welcoming and staff were very friendly.
The whole place is decked out in a very traditional Scottish feel, I have to say I enjoyed this immensely!

That night we ate in the Cairngorm Restaurant staff again were helpful, meal was served quickly and would recommend sampling the food, we certainly didn’t have any complaints.
If you are staying in Aviemore you couldn’t go far wrong staying here.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cairngorm Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cairngorm Hotel

Address: Grampian Road, Aviemore PH22 1PE, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Aviemore and the Cairngorms > Aviemore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in Aviemore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 31
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Cairngorm Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cairngorm Hotel Aviemore, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cairngorm Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.