We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant service, Setting the standard for all other hotels!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cairngorm Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Cairngorm Hotel to your Saves list
Cairngorm Hotel
Grampian Road, Aviemore PH22 1PE, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in Aviemore
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Brilliant service, Setting the standard for all other hotels!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2012

Brilliant hotel in the heart of Aviemore. Central and ideally located for all local activities on offer - and there are lots. The service was second to none. The room was very clean, tidy and tastfully decorated. We ate in the hotel on our second night and again the service and food were outstanding. The bar seems to be the hub of Aviemore with nightly entertainment on offer. Would highly reccomend this hotel. And will most definately be visiting again.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

432 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    229
    141
    39
    11
    12
See reviews for
82
189
19
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2012

Did not stay at this hotel but had lovely 3 course Sunday lunch for 2 people with 2 soda & limes for £28.50 great friendly staff great table service nice old surroundings in the dining area you can also have other menus in the lounge bar with conservatory but is more noisier.

Would recommend to all ages including family with small children

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Letchworth, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2012

My friend and I were on a long winter climbing weekend in the cairngorms.

The hotel was superbly situated just opposite the station. The staff were friendly and well trained.

The food was tremendous with huge quantities (great mountain food!) and however busy the hotel was, the service was always prompt. The bar was lively but friendly and I didnt hear any noise once I got to my room.

Would return without hesitation

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room away from the bar
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Broxburn, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2012

I booked this hotel again after staying here 4 years ago and i was not disappointed.
This hotel has a very wide gluten free menu with foods that taste fantasic. It is in a great location, the rooms were clean and comfy and the staff were all very friendly & helpful
Food and atmosphere was so good we didnt even leave the hotel.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mansfield, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2012

We booked this on the way to a Winter Skills Course at Glenmore Lodge. It was excellent - just opp the station. V friendly, nice room and huge breakfast. Good soup too.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
n.ireland
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2012

A friend and I booked a weekend in Aviemore so that I could tick skiing off my bucket list. The location of the hotel is perfect, being opposite the rail station in the main street and withing walking distance of all the town amenities but you would need transport to the ski slopes which are about 9 miles away. Hotel parking was not a problem and the reception area like the rest of the hotel is welcoming with all things Scottish everywhere ( tartan carpets, suits of armor and pictures of bygone Scottish people). We were able to check in early, our room being on the 2nd floor but alas, and this was honestly the only downside, no lift, so a bit of a trek up the stairs. Not so bad for us, but not so good for the elderly or infirm ( I would be classed as elderly by anyone under 30, but definitely not infirm yet).
The room was small but clean and well presented and had everything we needed. We decided to set about exploring the town and other local hostelries and to discreetly enquire with willing locals as to important matters like nightlife, food and drink. We kept getting the same response that the Cairngorm was the best choice for all of that, which was encouraging.
The bar at the Cairngorm is large and really nice, with a mixture of all ages, locals and visitors alike. The bar staff were very friendly and made us feel welcome and having sampled at least 4 other bars in town we decided to stay there in the evenings. There is live music most evenings and on the Saturday night, the place was packed out due to the popularity of the musicians who were playing that evening. The atmosphere reminded me of a night out in the Temple Bar, Dublin with traditional music played with unbridled frenzy. Busy though it was, there was no pushing or shoving to get a drink and the whole place felt really comfortable. There is a separate restaurant, plus food also available in the bar and outer areas. We elected to eat in the restaurant, and despite being very busy we were found a table promptly. The menu is good and well priced and after having eaten breakfast there earlier, I had no worries about the food.
The speed at which we were served was nothing short of a miracle and the entire service was fantastic. It is really refreshing to go to a restaurant where the food is perfect, the service is exceptional and there is absolutely nothing to complain about- I was really impressed.
We both thoroughly enjoyed our stay and I will return to the Cairngorm but give the skiing a wide berth as infirmity may have begun to set in, or maybe the whiskey seemed a better choice. Incidentally there are a number of nice bars and restaurants around the town, but the Cairngorm suited us just fine with less of a walk in the freezing cold later.
The Cairngorm is great value for money and a really good choice if you are staying in Aviemore or even just passing through en route to even more remoter and colder places further north and you will not be disappointed if you go there, unless you are anti Scottish or don't like their music.




  • Stayed January 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thurso, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2012

Stayed in December with my friend for the 6th Year in a row....Love it more every year! Can't wait to get back this year. Lovely, comfy rooms....amazing breakie. All the staff are very friendly & helpful. Stayed with my friend for my birthday in December and we didn't even leave the hotel bar...the atmosphere and live music was brilliant! Defo have dinner in the hotel....at least once during your stay, gorgeous menu and yummy puddings!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cairngorm Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cairngorm Hotel

Address: Grampian Road, Aviemore PH22 1PE, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Aviemore and the Cairngorms > Aviemore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in Aviemore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 31
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, LateRooms, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Cairngorm Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cairngorm Hotel Aviemore, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cairngorm Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.