We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Christmas Trip with friends” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cairngorm Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Cairngorm Hotel to your Saves list
Cairngorm Hotel
Grampian Road, Aviemore PH22 1PE, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in Aviemore
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Christmas Trip with friends”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2011

Have visited Aviemore for several years now for a one night "Dinner Dance and stay" at another hotel but decided to try this hotel on a recommendation from travellers we met last year. We were booked in for the "Christmas Party Night." Despite our reservations of a "party night" we had no need to worry and had a great time. There were only about 80 people there and it did feel like we were at someone's party, it was lovely. The atmosphere was great and the other guests as well as all the staff were very friendly. The menu was not typical "party food" and the food was very nice. Our room was very cosy, the bathroom was a little bit cold and a bit dated but it had everything we needed and the heater soon heated it up. There were 13 of us and all of us were very impressed and thoroughly enjoyed ourselves. The bar at night was very busy and had live music in it. They do lovely food in the bar and restaurant-can also recommend their soup and sandwiches! The Hotel was decorated as a typical "Scottish" Lodge and was very warm and welcoming.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

390 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    206
    124
    36
    12
    12
See reviews for
79
167
17
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
scotland
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2011

You dont get chic rooms and fashionable food here. You do get a comfortable hotel that feels cozy and welcoming, food that's good quality with generous helpings and staff who are professional yet friendly and who work hard to ensure guests have a good stay. I love staying here.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2011

Have stayed here often.....fantastic well priced all day menu....tidy rooms....great bar with fantastic ambience
well worth a visit all year round

Room Tip: overlooking front car park -view to cairngorm mountain range
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2011

We decided not to eat again in the nearby hotel and after searching on line before we walked to the Caringorm. There was a spectacular firework display and then we dined in the hotel. The welcome and staff were 1st class. We had our wine and order taken extremely quickly altough it was busy. The food arrived which was beautifully presented and tasteful. We had a starter and main and was not disappointed. Loved how the wine menu was not over priced We would recommend to any traveller.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2011

We stayed at the weekend, and the music from the live bar didn't stop until 2am, which was not ideal after a 6 hour drive and totally unromantic.... The room was clean and bed comfortable, the evening food uninspired, but the breakfast good. I have given a low rate, since I didn't get much sleep and when reporting to reception they were not really that sympathetic and told my room was nowhere near the bar.... (room 103)

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petra - Wadi Musa, Jordan
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2011

The bedroom was bright and fresh and the bed was very comfortable Breakfast was excellent.
I had dinner in the restaurant and my only minor complaint was that the specials were not really different from the main menu and lacked imagination. (Smoked Mackerel & Tuna Specials were identical to the main menu & price - I don't call that special!!!) Charge a bit more and offer different quality specials rather than basic food. The service made up for my disappointment in the Specials. Staff show signs of being well trained and some nice little touches. The competition should be take note

I will stay again

Room Tip: This has to be one of the friendliest hotels in Scotland. The staff are delightful, helpful and can...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2011

Booked in for one night with an internet deal - cheaper than the hotel can offer by phone. Room above the bar which was suprisingly quiet, although I wouldn't be so confident if there was live music on.
Room was clean, enough space - we ate in the restaurant at about £11+ for a main course - house wine came in at about £12 - pretty good standard of food for the price - staff were friendly and helpful.
Breakfast was really good - freshly cooked.
We will stay there again but I will look for internet deals as the standard £90 for x 2 is a bit pricey on my salary.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Cairngorm Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cairngorm Hotel

Address: Grampian Road, Aviemore PH22 1PE, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Aviemore and the Cairngorms > Aviemore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in Aviemore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 31
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Cairngorm Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cairngorm Hotel Aviemore, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cairngorm Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.