We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“perfect b&b” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Old Minister's House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added The Old Minister's House to your Saves list
The Old Minister's House
Rothiemurchus | Inverdruie, Aviemore PH22 1QH, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 33 Aviemore B&B and Inns
Bradford, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“perfect b&b”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

Best B&B I've been to in 15 years - great location, beautiful room, fantastic breakfast, friendly helpful owner, really top value. Excellent evening meals 15 mins walk away at the Old Bridge Inn; the pizza house on the roundabout is friendly and cheerful

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    111
    10
    6
    4
    3
See reviews for
26
78
8
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

I feel very sad writing this review about an area in which I have grown up but my experience at The Old Minister's House this week was disappointing enough to warrant a word on here. Don't get me wrong, the Aviemore area is one of the most stunning areas in Scotland and the people are normally warm and welcoming, friendly and helpful.. especially at New Year.. Not here!! Upon arrival, a lady (who never introduced herself to me for the entire stay) opened the front door halfway to prevent us entering and sent us away immediately as we had arrived 20 minutes before check-in time. When we eventually were allowed in, we were informed when she would serve us breakfast as there was no choice of time. She was rude, abrupt and absolutely the worst hotelier I have met - ever! On our departure, she was even worse.. There were some positives about the B&B - Our room was lovely with many festive touches but the fire in the lounge was unlit and there was a tiny handwritten note stating that Shelagh (this is how I know her name) will light it if you ask her!? It's the 1st of January!!!! You'll get no warm welcome here... literally!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

Big hotels take note - The Old Minister's House provides a master class in how to take care of guests. From start to finish everything was absolutely perfect and I would highly recommend staying here.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

Our fist visit to the highlands was made even more enjoyable by staying at the Ministers house, we had previously stayed 3 days at the Savoy in London so to compare is praise enough. Shelagh is a wonderful host and did all the little things such as booking restaurants advising on walks etc. that make it easy for international guests to maximise their experience. We had the best time ever, loved Scotland,loved the highlands,loved the snow,loved the people.

Room Tip: All rooms are equally great
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Macclesfield
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

We booked for 3 nights in mid-Oct. After booking by phone, we were met by Shelagh who gave us a warm welcome and also gave some local info about things to do and places to eat. The house is nicely laid out with a highland feel, but not at all twee and tartan! The guest lounge with bookshelf, wood-burning stove and well stocked honesty bar is a pleasant place to spend the evening. Breakfast was freshly cooked and with a good choice - excellent service from the staff - and there are nice views out across the garden and river. The home backed biscuits and banana loaf were particularly nice.
We stayed in "the Dell", immaculately clean and nicely furnished. Fresh biscuits, gourmet tea and coffee and complimentary sherry in the room added a nice touch. The only very slight drawback to this room was the fact that it was slightly overlooked by the nearby treezone place, but this is the only minor criticism with the whole stay.
Shelagh was a very friendly host, who made us feel welcome without being overly intruding. She let us store our bikes overnight in the shed, and offered the use of drying facilities too.
There are a select few top notch guest houses in the local area but this is right up there with the best of them, and we'll definitely be returning!

Room Tip: The Dell room is overlooked by the nearby treezone facility, so maybe you would ask to have a differ...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

Shelagh met us warmly at the door when we arrived. The rooms were large and sumptuous with great facilities. Our group had the use of the lounge with a fire going to ward off the cold weather. The staff provided a comprehensive breakfast menu and could not have been more helpful. Altogther a wonderful stay and highly recommended.

Room Tip: All the rooms are great
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

One of the best places I've stayed. You know how almost all accommodation makes you think 'I wish it had X and Y..' - nothing like that here. The room had everything and so did the breakfast. Highly recommended.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Old Minister's House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Minister's House

Address: Rothiemurchus | Inverdruie, Aviemore PH22 1QH, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Aviemore and the Cairngorms > Aviemore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 33 B&Bs / Inns in Aviemore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Old Ministers House is located at the foot of the Cairngorms and in the heart of the Rothiemurchus Estate. The Guest House is beautifully decorated and exceptionally comfortable. For guests comfort, you will find in the sitting room - an honesty bar, log burning stove, an i-pad, dvd libary, free wi-fi and many more extras. In the bedrooms, there are slippers and gowns, a selection of teas, coffee and fresh milk and most importantly ... Sherry ! Dinner is available by prior arrangement, as is packed lunches and afternoon tea. Sports equipment can be safely stored and wet clothes can be dried. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your The Old Minister's House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Old Minister's House Aviemore, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Old Minister's House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.