We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“stunning” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Loch an Eilein

Loch an Eilein
Aviemore, Scotland
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 31 things to do in Aviemore
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Hidden in the forest of Rothiemurchus, this beautiful place is one of the most loved in the UK. Loch an Eilein (loch of the island) with its 13th century island castle, was voted Britain's Best Picnic Spot as part of the celebrations to highlight the 10th anniversary of Warburtons National Bread Week which took place in May 2010 - a big thank you to everyone who voted. Step back in time and retrace the steps of the Highland cattle raiders as you enjoy views of the dramatic and mysterious Highland castle and enjoy the exceptional wildlife of the forest including Red Squirrels and Scottish Crossbills. You can enjoy some of the best low level walking in Scotland. Sheltered by ancient pine trees with views of the mountains, the path round the loch is suitable for motorised wheel chairs, off road buggies and is part of the 50km Rothiemurchus way marked network of paths.
Larkhall
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“stunning”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

one of the most stunning places I have ever visited in the world. Please keep this place secret for special occasions only - treat your soulf to this place soon.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rothiemurchus, Manager at Loch an Eilein, responded to this review, February 22, 2013
Thank you, we feel the same!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

385 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    280
    85
    16
    1
    3
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dundee, Scotland
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
31 attraction reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Beautiful walk and scenery”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

Had a lovely walk here Friday 8th Feb - daughter built a quick snowman when we arrived in the car park, then we put on our hiking shoes and went for a walk. There had been a fall of snow so the place was beautiful and stunningly picturesque as we came upon the water with the mountains as backdrop. Didn't think our daughter would have made it around the loch without complaining at some point, however we met a family with a 2yr old and another in a pushchair and suddenly there was no stopping - games of hide and seek and good company all the way around. A lovely place to visit in winter, must also be lovely in summer. Had no problem with paying a parking fee for this place's upkeep - and if you used the loo you would have found it clean, warm and very welcome after a chilly walk ! Well done Loch an Eilein

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful sunset!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

Spectacular winter sunset and clean sandy beach, beautiful walks, unspoilt, lot of car parking and easy to reach!

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gifford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Great dog walks”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

Lovely scenery and brilliant for dog walks. Sheltered woodland walks with the ability to walk round the whole loch. Car parking needs to be paid for but if that helps keep the area as clean and beautiful as it is, then it is well worth paying for.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Scottish Loch! ((it's not a lake))”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

I'm sorry but the latest review of comparing the LAKE DISTRICT to Loch an Eilein is just ridiculous!.. I can only think that they went their in the dark!
I stayed at Boat Hotel in Boat of Garten and came along here to visit with my young son. The scenery is so beautiful, magical even. The castle was eerie and my little boy was dying to get over their.
The cost is nothing really, a few pound and by parking and paying you are helping to care/preserve the forest and wildlife in the area. You also get a map from the attendant who couldnt be more helpful. He pointed us in the right direction to see some wildlife and was very friendly to my little boy. I was proud to pay, knowing it would be helping the area for future generations.
We try and come up to the area when we can, but haven't been up since my son was born. It was so nice to finally show him the loch with cairngorms covered in snow in the backdrop.
Scotland at its best!

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Loch an Eilein also viewed

Aviemore, Aviemore and the Cairngorms
Aviemore, Aviemore and the Cairngorms
 
Aviemore, Aviemore and the Cairngorms
Aviemore, Aviemore and the Cairngorms
 

Been to Loch an Eilein? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Loch an Eilein, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.