We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Several accommodation & dining options on large site near town centre” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Macdonald Aviemore Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Macdonald Aviemore Resort to your Saves list
Macdonald Aviemore Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   Aviemore | Inverness-shire, Aviemore PH22 1PN, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 12 Hotels in Aviemore
Biggar, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
536 reviews 536 reviews
133 hotel reviews
Reviews in 199 cities Reviews in 199 cities
576 helpful votes 576 helpful votes
“Several accommodation & dining options on large site near town centre”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2011

This was a return visit in January 2011 with a ski group.

The resort consists of four hotels, lodges and several restaurants all within walking distance of the town centre. We were staying at the Academy Hotel on site. The central check-in was straight forward with our group leader obtaining all the room keycards required and everyone completing and handing in their registration card at a reception at the Aspects bar & restaurant later.

Our room had a comfortable large double bed, a table and couple of chairs, tv, tea & coffee making facilities and a hairdryer. There was plenty of storage space and an area by the door for keeping skis and boots. The ensuite in contrast was small with a shower over the bath. The controls for switching between bath and shower were not user friendly or readily accessible because the glass shower screen could not be swung away from the bath due to a lack of space (it is blocked by the washbasin). The bath was slow to fill which is disappointing if you are looking to relax after a day’s skiing at nearby Cairngorm Mountain.

We ate in the Aspects Restaurant which meant we didn’t have to leave the building to go to dinner or breakfast. The bar on ground level is comfortable and relaxing however it is expensive - most suited for a pre or post dinner drink (we ventured down to the town centre later for a more lively atmosphere and more reasonable prices!). The restaurant is large, fairly informal and has a pleasant enough ambiance. The staff, many of whom were foreign nationals, were quick at serving and polite. We enjoyed the food which had a few options for each course on the menu and the wine list provided a reasonable selection.

It may be worth mentioning that between this and my previous report we stayed here in January 2010 and noticed then that the choice and portions at dinner were smaller when booked with a group, possibly reflecting a discounted rate - we had stayed on “standard” terms the day before our group arrived.

Breakfast was self-serve from a buffet-style selection which covers most tastes. I found that the cooked breakfast option on this occasion also had less choice than I had experienced previously and the quality didn’t set my taste buds alight.

We didn't use the leisure pool so I can't comment on that aspect.

In summary the Academy Hotel at the Resort provides comfortable accommodation and if you can get a reasonable rate it is worth considering.

  • Stayed January 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MacdonaldAviemore, Guest Relations Manager at Macdonald Aviemore Resort, responded to this review, March 23, 2011
Dear Rantin Rover

Thank you for your positive comments that you have given our hotel and we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. I have passed on your kind remarks to the relevant staff members.

We note your comments about the bathrooms and will ensure that we take these points on board.

We were surprised to read your comments about our breakfast service as we pride ourselves and have won awards as a company for the high standards we offer. We regularly receive lots of positive feedback regarding the standard and quality of the breakfast that we serve on the resort and can only think that this was a one off experience for which we are truly sorry.

We hope to welcome you back to the Macdonald Aviemore Resort in the future.

Gina Macpherson
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

780 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    192
    202
    195
    113
    78
See reviews for
301
260
15
36
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
england
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2011

The rooms and beds and bathrooms were fantastic, very comfy and clean.

We did travel by train to Aviemore and then walked, and I think this caused some problems.

First off the different hotels are not labelled, seriously! You have to walk around a giant loop to find where things are. I would take a leaf out of Disneyland or any other attraction and put in (a) signposts and (b) you are here maps/boards at all the key intersections

When we did find our hotel, reception was not signposted so we tried assorted locked doors trying to get in from outside until we went around the building enough to find our way in. Even then reception was a desk in front of a bunch of bar optics that said “customer services”. It transpires you can check in and out here which wasn’t clear at all.

Ski information, hey it’s Aviemore in February I would expect large boards or screens up announcing the ski situation, but I might as well have been in a central London hotel for all the assistance given to skiers. Also no drying room. A bus up/down Cairngorn mountain would be a plus.

Breakfast was understaffed in the dining room so we frequently waited to be seated, and then sat amongst filthy tables that didn’t get cleared until after the end of service. Hot juice glasses brought out after ten minute wait. No apology. No dirty items removed whilst we’re sitting at table so we resort to putting dirty plates on adjacent tables.

All four keycards wiped one night. Navigated to reception to get them fixed, never got a “sorry” or apology just told it was probably our credit cards did it. All four, at the same time?

Worst bit, one of the mens toilets in spa had the toilet paper dispenser missing. Oops how embarrassing, so I hopped to the next cubicle, Reported it to attendant who said oh yes we’ve told maintenance for days but no action. I wondered why the staff hadn’t taken the initiative to put a sign up to save guests embarrassment. Simples eh? Later told the General Manager of my hotel and he agreed a sign would be good. Next two days, still no sign and still not fixed. So poor maintenance, poor staff and poor manager performance! The attendant started to list the multiple other items they’d told maintenance about to no avail, until I held my hand up and said I was on holiday and not too bothered.

Rail missing from deep end of pool, this is dangerous and somebody will die! You’ve been told.

Sauna/steam rooms too small for number of customers.

Footpath from hotel area to town adjacent to Tesco’s is blocked by a 3ft high forcing pedestrians to either jump the fence or walk an extra 1/2km around the resort. I can understand you may want a secure perimeter, so I would add a streetlight and gate controlled by keycard if need be. Plus the “you are here map”

Basically I think all the staff have forgotten they are there to provide a great holiday for us. They might as well be working in a shoe shop or an airport security queue. Until staff, including the hotel manager, start looking at things from a customer perspective then the Resort isn’t going to improve. Shame as the room and spa was fantastic and it’s apparent you have a huge capital investment in the resort.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MacdonaldAviemore, Guest Relations Manager at Macdonald Aviemore Resort, responded to this review, March 23, 2011
Dear nicky111england
Thank you for your comments. Delivering the highest standards of service for all our guests is at the heart of company our core values and we always welcome feedback where our customers feel that this has not been the case.
All hotels on the resort are clearly sign posted and the resort central reception which is open 24 hours a day is also signposted.
We have a large screen in the main reception area displaying the cairngorm mountain website so that at any given time during the day guests can check the status of the hill and the ski runs which are open. We will however review this process to ensure it is clearer for guests to access this information.
All of our rooms have a tent card displaying the contact details for the guest services desk who are always happy to supply you with any information that you require.
I would be more than happy to discuss all of the above if you would like to contact me at the hotel directly so that I may try to help and resolve any outstanding issues for you.
Gina Macpherson
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2011

Booked a number of rooms for our party. These were all to be double rooms. We were given twins. Hotel told us that it was our fault and rooms not guaranteed. 2 hours on the phone to the booking agent to resolve the situation on a 3 night stay. A refund from expedia but no apology from hotel or any concern shown at all.
The trip was a special occasion and this was notified and I again told them on checkin and at time of booking, nothing from the hotel at all. Would a glass of cheap cava cost 60p?
Wrote to the Operations Director for the hotel Ms Fraser, no apology in the response - again it was our fault (yet they had given us a refund!). Wrote to her boss Mr McDonald Chairman of the company no response. They have no idea.

Separate note, if your going to ski and are a beginner, don't listen to the hotel staff who seem to delight in describing apocalyptic conditions on the slopes (when its actually sunny at the top). For 3 morning we listened to this being repeated to anyone who would listen, really not nice when your travelling with your 70 year old mum who has not been on the slopes for a couple of years.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MacdonaldAviemore, Guest Relations Manager at Macdonald Aviemore Resort, responded to this review, April 10, 2011
Dear londonmadrid32
Thank you for your comments. It is always our intention to make sure our guests enjoy their stay and we would always welcome your feedback where you feel that this has not been the case.
While we always endeavour to meet special requests as made at the time of booking through Expedia, room types are not guaranteed.
The hotel during your stay was full and we were unable to accommodate your request for a double room, for which are sorry.
If you would like to contact me at the hotel directly I would be more than happy to discuss your comments further and to resolve any outstanding issue for you.
Gina Macpherson
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2011

Arrived and given free upgrade a good start to the break.
Room comfortable and clean adjacent to all facilities swimming, fitness center and childrens play area no need to walk outside.
Restuarant and bar meals lacked choice and a bit pricey Italian restuarant closed
Try out the Cairngorm hotel on the entrance to hotel if you want a good meal menu excellent and so much to chose from nice cosy bar to relax in after a very good meal,
Not much to do and see in resort but Inverness worth a visit enjoyed day sledging in lovely snow covered cairngorms only short drive from resort.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MacdonaldAviemore, Guest Relations Manager at Macdonald Aviemore Resort, responded to this review, March 23, 2011
Dear Cumbernauld13
Thank you for the positive comments regarding your stay with us.
We always offer guests a minimum of two restaurants to dine in during their visit and of course room service is also available 24 hours. I have checked with our executive chef and he assures me that there is always a choice of six main courses available on the Aspects restaurant menu and the average cost of a two course meal is £20.
We look forward to welcoming you back to the Macdonald Aviemore Resort in the future.
Gina Macpherson
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2011

We arrived on Christmas Eve to be told that the lodge we were due to stay in was frozen. We were re housed in a substantially inferior chalet. Whilst we accept that freezing weather can play havoc with pipes, we feel that management made no effort to make our stay, or the fact that we had been severely inconvenienced over Christmas, any easier. They should have contacted us before we left home that morning. The onus was then on us to check progress with the lodge, our suggestion that the towels in our new accommodation were tiny and thin was ignored and no attempt was made to bring any festive cheer to the new abode. Why couldn't they unplug the Christmas tree from the unused lodge and transport it to us??

A very grudging letter outlining proposed compensation was given to us at checkout, which just appeared to refund us the difference between the two types of accommodation. Management has taken 6 weeks to respond to our subsequent letter, which is not really acceptable.

Come on Macdonald hotels, you can do better than this. The resort is in a stunning part of the world, the lodge we should have been in is superb and it's not hard to give more acceptable levels of service.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MacdonaldAviemore, Guest Relations Manager at Macdonald Aviemore Resort, responded to this review, March 23, 2011
Dear why-not-have-a-go
Thank you for your comments. It is always our intention to make sure our guests enjoy their stay and we always welcome feedback where our customers feel that this has not been the case.
During the Christmas period we experienced unusually extreme temperatures below freezing and this caused several issues with frozen pipes in our lodges. Whilst we would always endeavor to advise all our guests of any problems prior to their arrival, our local team was confident that we could overcome the issues that were faced. Sadly this was not the case and alternatives had to be sourced.
If you would like to contact me at the hotel directly I would be more than happy to discuss your comments further and to resolve any outstanding issue for you.
Gina Macpherson
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tillicoultry
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2011

we spent a very enjoyable couple of nights in the Macdonald Highland Hotel last week,and, as always, could not fault the food and accomodation ,with attentive and helpful staff.It is a hotel ,and resort ,that we are always eager to return to,winter or summer ,and are never disappointed.The bedrooms are spacious, well furnished and very comfortable,with beds you sink into and sleep like a top in, and the facilities for leisure are second to none.All in all a lovely place to spend a holiday.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MacdonaldAviemore, Guest Relations Manager at Macdonald Aviemore Resort, responded to this review, March 23, 2011
Dear Valerius
Thank you for the positive comments about your stay. We have always had as a company a passionate approach to hospitality and it is wonderful to hear that you enjoyed all aspects of your stay with us.
We look forward to welcoming you back in the very near future.
Gina Macpherson
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2011

Despite having booked 8 months earlier we did not find out that Bed, Breakfast & Evening Meal meant Evening Meal up to £18.50 per person and £4 supplement if you went over this! We were also not told we had to book in the restaurants until we turned up at the restaurant ready to eat! Then, the 1st morning of our 2 night stay there were no hot, warm, or even mild water. We reported this to the hotel manager who said it was due to high demand in the hotel but it would be fine the next day. Next day, same problem! When we asked for any sort of compensation they said that was not possible and apologised! I'd have been better staying in my car in the Esso Garage down the road, atleast I could have a wash there!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MacdonaldAviemore, Guest Relations Manager at Macdonald Aviemore Resort, responded to this review, March 23, 2011
Dear DoubleBlackDiamond83
We note your review of the resort and the points you have made. We refer to the correspondence we have subsequently had with you and would ask you to contact us directly if you feel there are matters still outstanding.
Gina Macpherson
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Macdonald Aviemore Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Macdonald Aviemore Resort

Address: Aviemore | Inverness-shire, Aviemore PH22 1PN, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Aviemore and the Cairngorms > Aviemore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Aviemore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Macdonald Aviemore Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 404
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotels of our Macdonald Aviemore Resort are situated at the very heart of the Cairngorms National Park in the Scottish Highlands - a magical location. Stay amidst ancient Caledonian pine forests at one of our four distinctive hotels or our luxury woodland lodge accommodation. You'll find the perfect room for your stay in one of our luxurious Scottish Highlands hotels at Aviemore. Our Highlands Hotel offer four-star luxury for all the family along with our newly refurbished Morlich and Aviemore Hotels which are due to open Spring 2015. Choose one of our Luxury Woodland lodges for a stunning escape in the forest surrounding our resort. You'll find everything you need and more at Macdonald Aviemore Resort - luxury brand shopping, 3D cinema viewing, top-class restaurants, our brand new, state-of-the-art Aviemore Activity Centre, family activities, swimming pool - and for golfers, the Spey Valley Championship Golf Course. Recently voted one of the best in Scotland, this course boasts some of the most breathtaking views in the world. Designed by Dave Thomas, former Ryder Cup player, it features the longest hole in Scotland - a par 5 measuring 635 yards. Are you up for the challenge? ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Macdonald Aviemore Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Macdonald Aviemore Highland Hotel Aviemore
Macdonald Aviemore Resort Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Macdonald Aviemore Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.