We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Macdonald Aviemore Highland Resort

Save Saved
You added Macdonald Aviemore Highland Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Macdonald Aviemore Highland Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   Highland Resort, Aviemore | Inverness-shire, Aviemore PH22 1PN, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 8 hotels in Aviemore
oohsun
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Superb”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2009

Stayed over the easter break, last minuite booking through local tourist board, (helpful). No view as such from window, but far too many people moan, what can they see from their windows at Home!!!!
Room was clean - modern and comfy. No problems what so ever, check in quick - polite - attentive. Breakfast first class. Book with confidence.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

455 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    97
    113
    121
    76
    48
See reviews for
163
137
9
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
bournemouth
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2009

If you are the kind or person who finds themselves drawn to the intrigue of German Concentration camps, I think this Hotel might be for you. From the moment you ascend the driveway to the main body of this Colditz style '60s poured Concrete eyesore, you may, like me, feel a 'sinking feeling' within your stomach.
Now don't get me wrong, I did not expect the Ritz, but I did expect somewhere akin to my own home for living standards.
You'll be greeted by a whole new shade of 'depressing grey' which when you think might subside, the psychedelic Tartan in the hall ways will almost certainly make you feel as though you are on a boat.
Do you believe in the after life? are you a fan of the Camp Scouser Derek Acorah? well if you are you are in for a Double treat...for summoning a member of staff to one of the out-lying hotel blocks is Very similar to contacting 'the other side' but unlike the fake ability to contact people who have shuffled off this mortal coil, the prices charged by the hotel, is very real, and far scarier. When entering the room I thought, 'ah house keeping have left the window open, now bearing in mind I was visiting Aviemore in the first week of June, the temperature was a scorching 10 degrees, but even this was a little too cold to have the window flung open. I was ofcourse wrong on the House keeping idea, as I soon realised when I went to close the window myself, I did however manage to shut it sufficiently using the complimentary bar of soap a pencil and 20 mins of effort.
The room smelt of damp, and wasn't very clean and the towels had an odd aroma probably caused by past guests trying to seal the window.

This hotel is rated slightly differently to most, so take note. the stars awarded to this (of which are 4) are based upon... Terrible outward appearance, Poor quality rooms, insufficient heating in said rooms, and lack of service. Perhaps I may suggest a Fifth star for prices?

Well.....having said all of this the choice is yours, but don't say I didn't warn you.

  • Liked — Leaving
  • Disliked — Arriving
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2009

We had a weekend break staying in the Four Seasons - reasonable price at £90 Dinner, B&B (breakfast was fantastic) for Hubby & I plus our 2 year old. Location is great as you are right in the centre of Aviemore and local shops, pubs, etc. The staff seemed to be mostly foreign but friendly, helpful and proffessional. I think the hotel must have been recently re-decorated as I was concerned after reading some previous reviews but I have to say that all areas we experienced (Reception, Restaurant and Bedroom) were clean and fresh. The Bathroom in our room looked brand new - the shower was a bit pathetic but that would be my only complaint. We ate in the Pizza/Pasta restaurant and it was lovely with a brilliant kids buffet with lots to choose from. The sports complex/swimming pool was ideal (better than the coylumbridge) with wave machine, flume you can take kiddies down on your knee and the changing areas were spotless and had family cubicles. Our 2-year old loved the fun factory, the wee softplay room and also the outdoor play park in the resort. The whole family also really enjoyed the nearby Highland Wildlife Park - well worth a visit to pass a few hours. We will definately be back and would reccomend it to families with young children.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2009

This resort is huge, several different purpose-built hotels within one resort. It's right in the heart of Aviemore village so location is good, but the resort is souless. The rooms are like any other rooms in a chain hotel - you could be in any hotel, anywhere in the world. They are comfortable, well presented, clean, not overly spacious etc...

The communal areas of this hotel are a bit odd - the corridors are very long and dingy, some staircases aren't really decorated so you feel like you're in a school or hospital. It's a very family focused resort - the leisure complex is very child-friendly and orientated - so if you have kids it's a great place. Gym looked good and the restaurant was also pretty good for breakfast. It's not unpleasant in anyway - it just has a "purpose built" feel and has no charm or character, and not really any luxury.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newquay
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2009

Stayed at the Aviemore Inn on the Resort for 3 nights in early Feb. We had booked a suite and were not disappointed.

When we were walking towards reception with our luggage, a passing member of staff stopped and offered us a lift to the main reception !

The bathroom was a little dated but clean and tidy so no real problems there. Bed and room was very comfy and cosy with wonderful views of the surrounding mountains.

Breakfast was served in a different building on the complex but was more than satisfactory. Healthy options as well as full cooked buffet style. Ate in the pubs and restaraunts in Aviemore just a few minutes walk away in the evenings - highly recommend Roos Leap near the train station!!!

We had a really lovely stay here - we even plan to return next Feb to do more skiing on Cairngorm. My only grumble is the staff. Although helpful and friendly - they were almost all eastern european and sometimes it felt like we were on holiday in Warsaw rather than Scotland.

  • Liked — The views of the mountains,
  • Disliked — foreign staff.. i wanted to hear scottish accents!!!!
  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolton
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2009

We Stayed in the Acadamy Hotel for Christmas with our 2 children (13 & 8) We found staff very friendly on arrival and throughout our stay. The whole experience was magical with the mulled wine, santa, twinkling lights, carol singing and fantastic surroundings even the bagpipes gave me goosebumps walking from the hotel on the last night. The food was buffet style for breakfast etc but christmas dinner and the last meal were excellet and could not be faulted. The staff work very hard to make your stay enjoyable. You must take advantage of the surrounding area with lots to do even at christmas. If you are thinking of getting away from it all next christmas, then this is the perfect place. But don't tell everone!!!

  • Liked — It was away from the main Hotel
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ayrshire
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2009

We stayed in the Academy Hotel in between Christmas and New Year on the Twixmas break with our two year old son. After reading previous reviews I was a little apprehensive about the resort, however we were pleasantly surprised upon our arrival. Having stayed in a number of MacDonald Hotels, I would say that the Academy was quite basic (the bathroom was very small and tired looking). However, the room itself is ideal for families who are spending the day skiing or other outdoor activities.

The facilities for kids were excellent and the indoor play area with the inflatable bouncy slides etc. was fantastic. The pool, gym and soft ball play room were also great and the staff very pleasant. My only criticism would be that on arrival were not told about the facilities and events at the resort and also we did not know about the kids disco and entertainment in the Pereguine Suite. We only found out about the evening entertainment on our last day through another resident which I was disappointed in as we could have enjoyed the entertainment on previous nights rather than sitting in our hotel room! The staff should really inform residents on check in and give a facilities and events program of some sort. Having said this, the staff in general could not do enough for you.

I think the resort is excellent for families and very under rated, there is plenty to do both in the resort and in and around Aviemore and we will definitely be back at the end of this year!

  • Liked — Pool and kids play area
  • Disliked — Lack of information on facilities and events
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Macdonald Aviemore Highland Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Macdonald Aviemore Highland Resort

Address: Highland Resort, Aviemore | Inverness-shire, Aviemore PH22 1PN, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Aviemore and the Cairngorms > Aviemore
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 8 hotels in Aviemore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Macdonald Aviemore Highland Resort 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Venere and Tingo so you can book your Macdonald Aviemore Highland Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Macdonald Aviemore Highland Hotel Aviemore
Macdonald Aviemore Highland Resort Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Macdonald Aviemore Highland Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.