We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent resort” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Macdonald Aviemore Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Macdonald Aviemore Resort to your Saves list
Macdonald Aviemore Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   Aviemore | Inverness-shire, Aviemore PH22 1PN, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 12 Hotels in Aviemore
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Excellent resort”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Great resort set up - only downside was that we had to go into Aviemore in the evening to get entertainment.great to have a cinema on site.
Would recommend going up the venicular railway at Cairngorm Mountain.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

779 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    192
    201
    195
    113
    78
See reviews for
300
260
15
36
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cookham Dean, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
138 reviews 138 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Simply couldn't fault this stay. Great value, even taking into account the shoulder season discounts available in most places. Steak Club provided fantastic food too. Often stay in Aviemore but first time here. It won't be the last.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hawick, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Generally very pleased with our stay. An excellent hotel well placed for the village facilities. Particularly enjoyed the breakfast and the breakfast room.The only downside was the reception which was not well signed and was not as we would expect for a hotel of this quality.Will definitely stay again. We will use the hotel as a base for mountain walking.



  • Stayed April 2015, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Received complimentary upgrade to the MacDonalds Highlands Hotel. Service at reception as well as breakfast service was very good. The hotel location is very nice. Room was setup in a highly professional manner. Bathroom was shining clean.
Liked the leisure centre the best with its swimming pool, sauna and steam bath. They also have a wave machine and lots of things to do for the family overall.
Highly recommended.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Calder
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We booked this through a voucher website. Which included one night stay with breakfast and a bottle of wine on arrival and even included late check out which is 2pm. Travel cot and cot bedding provided as requested for my little girl. Lovely cosy comfortable room everyone slept well. Hot and cold buffet breakfast was very tasty. Pool lovely and clean and warm. Kids huge softplay is fab £4 to use all day! And costa coffee situated perfectly to sit with a coffee and cake while they play. Lovely big shop with lots of stuff for everyone. Only very small negative we stayed at the end of april and it was very quite as expectes so there was only one restaurant open which was Aspect (fine dining) the lovely receptionist did say it was child friendly but not sure other fine diners would appreciate our rather loud and excited toddler at dinner time so we went into Aviemore for dinner. Highly recommend for all and we will definently be back.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Innerleithen, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Good sized and comfortable wheelchair accessible room in a quiet location. One of the lifts in the hotel wasn't working, which was disappointing as this wasn't the first time we have stayed there when the lift hasn't worked. However, Stephanie and the team at Aspects were outstanding in their assistance. I can recommend a hot stone massage at the Spa - thanks to Zsuzsanna, Head Therapist, for a relaxing treatment.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

Loved my stay at the hotel, very pleasant staff making us feel welcome.

Recommend it!

Room was great, complimentary wine was a lovely treat.

The 5 minute queue for breakfast was well worth the wait. :)

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Macdonald Aviemore Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Macdonald Aviemore Resort

Address: Aviemore | Inverness-shire, Aviemore PH22 1PN, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Aviemore and the Cairngorms > Aviemore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Aviemore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Macdonald Aviemore Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 404
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotels of our Macdonald Aviemore Resort are situated at the very heart of the Cairngorms National Park in the Scottish Highlands - a magical location. Stay amidst ancient Caledonian pine forests at one of our four distinctive hotels or our luxury woodland lodge accommodation. You'll find the perfect room for your stay in one of our luxurious Scottish Highlands hotels at Aviemore. Our Highlands Hotel offer four-star luxury for all the family along with our newly refurbished Morlich and Aviemore Hotels which are due to open Spring 2015. Choose one of our Luxury Woodland lodges for a stunning escape in the forest surrounding our resort. You'll find everything you need and more at Macdonald Aviemore Resort - luxury brand shopping, 3D cinema viewing, top-class restaurants, our brand new, state-of-the-art Aviemore Activity Centre, family activities, swimming pool - and for golfers, the Spey Valley Championship Golf Course. Recently voted one of the best in Scotland, this course boasts some of the most breathtaking views in the world. Designed by Dave Thomas, former Ryder Cup player, it features the longest hole in Scotland - a par 5 measuring 635 yards. Are you up for the challenge? ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Macdonald Aviemore Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Macdonald Aviemore Highland Hotel Aviemore
Macdonald Aviemore Resort Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Macdonald Aviemore Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.