We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wouldnt do it again thats for sure” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Macdonald Aviemore Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Macdonald Aviemore Resort to your Saves list
Macdonald Aviemore Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   | Inverness-shire, Aviemore PH22 1PN, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 11 Hotels in Aviemore
Elgin, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Wouldnt do it again thats for sure”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2013

Have stayed in the macdonald highland hotel before and left a good honest review,only fair i do the same for the academy one.
Took my nephew as it seemed a perfect place to take kids.
On arrival we checked in at the highland hotel as the academy reception never seems to be manned. Room was nice and clean as expected, bit silly though that we had 4 single beds. Thought this was strange so called to ask for a double bed,was told there was nothing could be done and that sometimes 3rd parties advertise them as double rooms - sorry but thats not good enough and is false advertising!!
Made the most of it and id two beds together to make a double bed with the danger aspect of falling to the ground if was tempted for a cuddle in the night. Breakfast we were told by a staff member to head to the highland hotel, turned up there to be pointed to the conference room area - food was pretty decent and catered everyone,was all a bit mad in there though with kids running everywhere. Cant knock the food as it was decent.
As in the last review i cant knock the excellent facillities or the shops or that. Though they could explain there offers a bit better,was told nothing of a passport thing we needed and was refused entry to a kids entertainment Party without it-paying for it wasnt the problem-no one knew where to get it from.
All in all i wouldn't tell anyone not to come here but i will make them aware of the difference in treatment when going as a couple or a family.

Stayed December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

656 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    144
    166
    171
    102
    73
See reviews for
252
206
12
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2013

I was disappointed in the Aviemore Resort!
Its supposed to be a 5* hotel - not!

Check-in at the Conference Centre closed so directed to the Highland Hotel, receptionist foreign and I had trouble understanding her but we got there in the end.

Room was ok - smallish on the ground floor, 2 single beds (clean enough), very small bathroom

Hotel: all I can liken it to is a "motel", you have to come out of the hotel reception & bar/restaurant to get to the rooms, thru what is i suspect is a fire door and they are unlocked and on the hinge all day! so to me very little security.

Restaurant, I was offered 2 choices, the Italian at the Conference Centre or Aspects in the Hightland Hotel, plumped for the Italian - sorry I had - dismal place, huge area of the public space which is un-used, waiter on duty but asked if we had "booked"! only 2 other people in the place! could im sure be a nice dining area, overlooking the car park but on a good day might be nice , the deep red decor put me off. Food was ok, bowl of pasta was a bit glupy but tasted ok, dessert of choc cake was nice. Waiter could do with sponging his jacket and trousers as he was a bit grubby.

Breakfast was in Aspects which was very nice, helpful staff and a full cooked breakfast.

"leisure" - well thats a joke ! you have to leave the hotel - coats on and pack bags to get to the "leisure" centre - which is also open to the public. Pool cold, and have to say dirty, Jacuzzi wasnt working , communal shower and change area no private shower cubicles.

The whole of Aveimore really needs to "pull its sock up" - it would be a fab place to visit but its currently a very tired and expensive place to visit.

Doubt I would pay the money to stay again, would preferr to travel a bit further to Inverness or go to the Hilton at Colymbridge which had more life, even sitting having a coffee in their lounge had more feeling

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2013

Had a very good stay at this hotel just recently but rooms are a little dated with huge TV's which spoil the overall effect of the room. Needs a better wifi system as well. Having said that, the staff in the hotel and at other parts of the resort were more than welcoming and very efficient. Cinema on site was a plus and the shopping there is always a welcome distraction.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, General Manager at Macdonald Aviemore Resort, responded to this review, November 23, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed that facilites that we offer onsite and that they were accommodating for you whilst staying with us.
Thank you for your kind words in regards to our staff, that is something that we work very hard on.
Your feedback regarding the decor has been taken on board.

We hope to welcome you back again in the near future.

Best regards,
The General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shoalhaven, Australia
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2013

Whilst it didn't quite live up to expectations, we still enjoyed our one night stay here last month. The whole place is in need of a redo, it's been knocked around a bit, mirror fallen off in the lift, bathrooms a little worse for wear and decor a bit dark and dismal. But the room was warm, the bed comfortable, the food excellent and the wifi was free! We also had a lovely view from the 4th floor over the surrounding countryside and all the lights in the trees. We didn't try out most of the facilities so can't comment on the pool or spa. Probably never will return to this beautiful part of the world but would likely stay here again if we did.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, General Manager at Macdonald Aviemore Resort, responded to this review, November 23, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your resort experience with us.
I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay at the resort and found it accommodating and comfortable for yourself. It it great that you dined in the restaurant and found the food excellent.
Thank you for your comments regarding the decor, the feedback has been taken onboard.

We hope you welcome you back again in the future.

Best regards,
The General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

We picked this one purely for use of pool and steam room, sauna. We expected to get a clean, modern hotel. It is dated, the corridors need renovating and the hotel needs to lower the drinks prices. Great location and helpful staff but they are pricing it as if it is the London Hilton!
I would pick somewhere smaller and more friendly.

Room Tip: If you do not need the spa etc; pick somewhere cheaper.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, General Manager at Macdonald Aviemore Resort, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
Dear Guest
Thank you for the time taken to write a review. I am sorry that you were disappointed with certain aspects of your stay with us.
I am happy to hear that you found the staff helpful and that the location of the resort was ideal for your stay.
Please note that your comments and concerns have been taken on board.

Best regards,
The General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

we stayed at the Macdonald highland hotel in Aviemore we had a great time the hotel was of a high standard the rooms were very clean, warm and all facilities were available. we had free use of the beautiful spa. The dinning room was well set out plenty of staff to attend to our needs and the food was first class. I can highly recommend this hotel if you are staying in Aviemore. Well done to all the staff

Room Tip: we had an ordinary room and it was very good
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, General Manager at Macdonald Aviemore Resort, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for your time taken to write a review.

I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and found the resort accommodating. We always aim for the highest possible guest service and it is always a pleasure when guest find that this is the case.

We look forward to welcome you back again.

Best regards,
The General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

Our stay with our friends at the McDonald didn't get of to a great start , could only find one room reserved . The receptionist had an unfortunate manner and seamed to be on auto pilot. The mistake in the booking was "Booking.com's " fault !!!!. We had asked that we be located on the same floor , this seamed to be a task that was beyond the system and the receptionist capability. 3 room changes later we got a room. It must be said that our room was very nice and well appointed , sorry to say not the same for our friends , there room was in much older decor and had a damp smell in it. It must be said that the wife's used the Spa and had nothing but praise for the staff and the facility's . I found most of the staff to be very helpful and courteous . The only other issue I have with the Hotel is the price of bread !!! £8 for a sandwich , witch takes 20 minutes and £ 1.70 for a slice of bread and some oil at dinner . I think on our next trip north we will give the McDonald experience a miss

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, General Manager at Macdonald Aviemore Resort, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for the time taken to write a review on Trip Advisor.
I am sorry that you experienced some difficulties with getting checked in when you initially arrived at the resort. I am however delighted to hear that you enjoyed the room you were staying in and found it accommodating.
Thank you for you kind words regarding the Spa facilities on site, I know the girls in the Spa will be delighted to hear that you enjoyed what they have on offer.
Please note that your comments and concerns have been taken on board.

We look forward to welcome you back to the resort again.

Best regards,
The General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Macdonald Aviemore Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Macdonald Aviemore Resort

Address: | Inverness-shire, Aviemore PH22 1PN, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Aviemore and the Cairngorms > Aviemore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Aviemore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Macdonald Aviemore Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 404
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Tingo, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Venere and Travelocity so you can book your Macdonald Aviemore Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Macdonald Aviemore Highland Hotel Aviemore
Macdonald Aviemore Resort Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Macdonald Aviemore Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.