We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb Food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Rowan Tree Country Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Rowan Tree Country Hotel to your Saves list
Rowan Tree Country Hotel
Loch Alvie, Aviemore PH22 1QB, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 33 Aviemore B&B and Inns
Scotland
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Superb Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2014

Visited for Valentines night and was not disappointed - the food, service, atmosphere and final bill were all very satisfactory. We especially enjoyed the pre and post dinner drinks at the fireside - very homely and welcoming. Will definitely come again.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

290 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    216
    65
    5
    2
    2
See reviews for
33
175
13
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, Scotland, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2014 via mobile

Stayed 2 nights in the Rowan Tree Country Hotel, room 14.

This is a marvellous place, incredibly welcoming and warm. Staff are very nice and helpful. A stay here is very relaxing and the surroundings are breathtaking.

Getting there by public transport - £7.00 or so taxi from Aviemore rail station. I got a great Mega Bus deal (£2.50 advance return from Glasgow). I walked to the hotel but I wouldn't recommend it even if you are very fit. You will have to walk on a fairly busy road.

The room - room 14, good few stairs so people with a mobility problem might struggle. Double bed, 2 bedside tables, hanging room with hangers (space for rucksack / walking gear), ensuite with shower (soap, shampoo, conditioner, shower gel and body lotion). The shower worked fine and was warm, desk and leather stool, free view TV and kettle. Complimentary tea, coffee, biscuits and hot chocolate. Get this - cafetiere with a satchel of real coffee!

The breakfast - sensational!!! Great variety. I has the full breakfast and the black pudding is the best I have ever had!

The dinner - biggest regret - I didn't eat at the hotel, I was a bit disorganised but read the reviews, the food looks amazing. The restaurant was buzzing both nights. The bar seemed really nice and friendly.

Other facilities - lounges, room with real fire (check out the book on the unexplained!). I almost fell asleep in a chair I was so relaxed. There are lots of leaflets on things to do locally and in Scotland. The hotel guest book in each room has a really comprehensive guide to things to do in the Cairngorms and the staff are very knowledgeable. You get a key to the front door too so you can come and go.

The surroundings - just wow! Spectacular. Check out the Loch and wonder at the mountains

Shops - stock up in Aviemore if you don't have a car - fantastic outdoors shops.

Staff - just lovely. Special mention to the cleaning staff, they are supremely jolly!

Last advice - book for dinner when you book the hotel if you can, it is so popular with locals. Dress for the cold with good boots so you can explore safely.

Amazing place. Higher end than I am used to, great price. I will be back!

Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2014

Do not hesitate to book up this hotel. The rooms are very modern and comfortable, the atmosphere is lovely, and the Food is the Best I have had ina Long Time. Finally the Staff are Extreemly kind and helpful, Just a Joy!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwickshire, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2014 via mobile

Went for an evening at the Rowan Tree to celebrate a 60th Birthday whilst on a skiing trip. Superb night had by all, staff very friendly on arrival, seating us in a traditional Scottish room by the fire whilst our dinner was being prepared. Steak was the best I've ever had! Local cairngorm ale served - white lady recommended.

Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014

I was climbing in the Cairngorms for a week and had the good fortune to stay at the Rowan Tree hotel. Steve is a superb chef and the food is amazing. The room was warm and comfortable with everything you need. The hotel and bar had roaring fires making light of the cold weather outside. But the real key to this hotel is the truly helpful nature of Steve and Monique and their staff. Nothing is too much and they are smiling all the time! They clearly enjoy satisfying their guests and this totally makes any stay there. Go and enjoy!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stirling, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

We stayed one night on 1st Jan with our small dog. Made very welcome and sheena was particularly helpful. Lovely roaring fires and great seating areas to relax and unwind. Room was spacious and comfortable. Dog was welcome in most areas of the hotel which was great. Dinner was outstanding and good choice on the menu. Breakfast was excellent. Would recommend especially for anyone with well behaved dog.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stromness, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014

Stayed here on the first leg of our mini Highland Road trip after Christmas. This is one of the cosiest and comfortable hotels we have stayed in and would recommend to anyone.
The welcome - as always - is great, given the key to Room 5 which has a huge King size bed or bigger (not sure what you call the type!) and is so comfortable. Lovely complimentary tea, chocolate and coffee in the room with some nice biscuits too. As usual after we put the cases in the room, down for a refreshment at the bar in front of a roaring log fire. Plenty choice of drinks and excellent whisky selection.
Dinner is First Class and is always beautifully presented by the excellent chef and co-owner Steve. Such a huge choice, always amazes me how they come up with such fabulous creations - worthy of Masterchef!
Nice selection of wines to go with the meal and after dinner coffee can be taken in the lounges - each with their own fires to cosy up to.....
Breakfast is another beatifully presented affair with a huge choice along with fresh fruit salad and creamy yogurts for the healthy eaters.
We have stayed here now around two or three times a year over the past few years and cannot think of a better place to relax - either coming from home or going away on holiday. Thanks Monique, we will return soon!

Room Tip: They are all good, each with their own character.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Rowan Tree Country Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rowan Tree Country Hotel

Address: Loch Alvie, Aviemore PH22 1QB, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Aviemore and the Cairngorms > Aviemore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 33 B&Bs / Inns in Aviemore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz and Odigeo so you can book your Rowan Tree Country Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rowan Tree Country Aviemore
Hotel Rowan Tree Country
Rowan Tree Country Hotel Aviemore, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rowan Tree Country Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.