We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best lunch, best value, best customer service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rowan Tree Country Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Rowan Tree Country Hotel to your Saves list
Rowan Tree Country Hotel
Loch Alvie, Aviemore PH22 1QB, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 33 Aviemore B&B and Inns
Chesapeake, Virginia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Best lunch, best value, best customer service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

We took the old A9 road from Aviemore to Kingussie and noticed this picturesque country girl just a few minutes outside Aviemore. It was the best decision we made. As we entered the entrance, we were warmly greeted and invited to warm up by the fire while we quaffed cider and the great Cairngorm Wild Cat ale. Lunch was tomato red pepper soup and ham and smoked salmon sandwiches. Delicious! Excellent customer service. We will be back.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

290 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    216
    65
    5
    2
    2
See reviews for
33
175
13
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Invergordon
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

This hotel is on the"old" A9 just south of Aviemore and is very definitely worth a visit if only for lunch as we did. A very friendly welcome by a chatty amusing waitress and a lovely menu which made it hard to choose from! The food was delicious and helping sizes very generous. The hotel is on Loch Alvie and I would think that in the summer eating outside must be wonderful.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Linton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

Stayed here for 1 night in early May and loved it. We had dinner in the hotel and it was absolutely beautiful. I had a cheese soufflé to start and it is one of the best I've had! When we'd booked they had told us they only had a small double room left, so we knew our room would be little. However, even though it was small it was perfectly formed and very comfortable. Staff were very attentive and helpful.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cookham Dean, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
121 reviews 121 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

Spent a couple of nights there last week. Nothing was too much trouble for the attentive staff. Spotlessly clean, local beer in the bar (Cairngorm Ales), fantastic food in the evening and such a great setting, overlooking the loch.

Highly recommended!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberchirder, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

Thoroughly enjoyed a evening meal with an excellent, mouthwatering menu choice. Food presentation and service to a very high standard. Staff most welcoming and hotel setting and surroundings inspiring. Have dined here before and would most definately return. Well done Rowan Tree.xx

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inverness, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

We have held three family gatherings at the Rowan Tree and every time the food, service, atmosphere and value for money have been superb. The staff are friendly and go out of their way to be helpful when such a disparate group as ours are trying to choose from such an interesting menu!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Macduff, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

On arriving at the hotel,,your eyes are instantly fixed at loch alvie which sits in beautiful scenery behind the hotel.
Things get even better on entering,in main reception are your greeted to a lounge with a nice warm open fire and further on in to another relaxing lounge that gives you stunning views looking out over the loch.
Booking in was done with ease and very promptly with a warm welcome smile and my evening meal time was quickly booked so to give me time to have a evening walk along the loch.
On entering my room,the room was more than I could of expected,I paid for the deluxe and oh boy,it was deluxe,massive bed that was very comfortable,goose feathered duvet just added to the overall comfort.
Room was very well presented and spotlessly clean and the view from my window looking over the loch just added to my customer experience.
On arriving at the restaurant,the member of staff informed me that everything is cooked fresh so I was taken thru to the lounge and told me that she would come and get me when my meal was close to being delivered,I was given the menu to ponder over,the selection is excellent and your spoilt and what to have,my drink order was taken and brought to me very promptly and I really can't think of any other way to wait for your evening meal in front of an open fire and stunning views.
Even though the restaurant was very busy,my starter,main and pudding arrived piping hot and to a very high standard,serving staff were just fantastic and couldn't of been more helpful and polite.
After a very peaceful relaxing sleep,breakfast time,good selection from the menu,I had the full Scottish cooked breakfast which was a delight and set me up for my day in the mountains.
I can't find any negatives about this hotel,having reviewed others in the area,this hotel is outstanding,I would put this hotel in my top three and will differently stay here again for its hospitality,friendliness,value and stunning location.

Room Tip: Ask for room at back of hotel for stunning views of loch and mountains
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Rowan Tree Country Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rowan Tree Country Hotel

Address: Loch Alvie, Aviemore PH22 1QB, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Aviemore and the Cairngorms > Aviemore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 33 B&Bs / Inns in Aviemore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Rowan Tree Country Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rowan Tree Country Aviemore
Hotel Rowan Tree Country
Rowan Tree Country Hotel Aviemore, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rowan Tree Country Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.