We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super 6 offer” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Scottish Steak Club

Scottish Steak Club
Inverness-shire | Macdonald Aviemore Resort, Aviemore PH22 1PN, Scotland
0844 879 9152
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #20 of 49 Restaurants in Aviemore
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
1 review
“Super 6 offer”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

Visited for the great super 6 offer which is six mains between 5-6 for £6 each, was so glad the food amazing and the service was great! Will go back !!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, General Manager at Scottish Steak Club, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
Dear Guest

thank you for your review, both our front of house and kitchen team enjoy our daily super 6 event, so we are always pleased to hear customer comments on their experience whilst dining in our restaurant, our super six promotion has been a great success, so we appreciate customer feedback as a form of communication to future clients to the Scottish Steak Club. once again we thank you for your review , and look forward to seeing you on your next return to Aviemore

Best regrads

The General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    16
    2
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
West Yorkshire
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Excellent steak pie...excellent service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

We have 'owned' at this resort for more years than I care to remember but have only eaten here twice. The latest time being Saturday 14th Sept. We ate from the 6 for £6 before 6pm menu and were highly impressed with the food (steak pie). The pie contained plenty of large pieces of tender, tasty steak in an equally lovely gravy and served with veg & boiled potatoes. The service by Richard and Shirley (? ) was just right: friendly, professional and attentive without being too intrusive. Richard also managed to sell me a bottle of wine instead of a glass and this was equally as good as the food. The latte was the only let down - either a new machine is needed here, more training or price reduction to the cost of a normal coffee. We would love to eat more in the clubhouse instead of self-catering every day - even just pop in for a coffee - but the cost of the restaurants offering and the lack of a bar snacks/meals menu (either for during the day or an evening) prohibits this. All in all, a pleasant experience which we hope to repeat next year.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MacdonaldAviemore, General Manager at Scottish Steak Club, responded to this review, September 28, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for your review, all of the team here at Steak Club work hard to provide all of our guests with an excellent dining experience, I will pass on your comments which are always well received from the whole team, especially our kitchen team who are always happy to hear feedback from customers, thank you once again for your feedback

The General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
teesside
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Bargin 6 for £6 before 6, and Heineken only £3.30 a pint!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013 via mobile

We popped for a quick drink to have a look at the restaurant in antipitation of booking a table for Friday evening first of all great selection of draft largers and beers and Heineken is only £3.30 a pint, after asking to look at the menu, the waiter told us about the 6 for £6 before 6, 6 mains 2 veg options, we had Steak pie, Macaroni cheese and Sausages with mash, all far better than they sound and service was outstanding.

BONUS that the main tourist map from the Information centre in the town has a 10% discount voucher

Booked a table for the Ala carte on friday and are looking forward to the Food Beer and amazing Service

Only let down was a Latte was wait for it £3.30 have a pint and get a jug of chilled water lol

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MacdonaldAviemore, Manager at Scottish Steak Club, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Thank you for your lovely review, our 6 for £6menu is a popular choice for early evening diners, The kitchen team here at the Scottish Steak Club work hard to provide quality dishes to our clients, I will pass on your comments to our team, who are always happy to receive feedback from our tripadvisor reviews. Once again thank you for your comments, and we look forward to seeing you again in the near future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gateshead (where all the interesting bits of
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Wouldn't go back.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013 via mobile

We visited here tonight for a birthday celebration as we're staying at the spey Valley golf and County club. Having visited Aspects earlier in the week in the main resort, it was from the sublime to the ridiculous. It's difficult to believe they are under the same Macdonald ownership. We chose from the'Six for Six' menu (a choice of 6 mains for six pounds before 6pm). The burgers were ok, but my husband doesn't eat meat so paid 14.50 for a distinctly average portion of fish and chips. Our kids choice of chicken and chips was way over priced at 7 pounds. Their kids desserts were equally overpriced at 4 pounds. The service was poor. The waiter's English was poor so we had to clarify the order several times and the eventual bill bore no resemblance to what we actually ordered. The restaurant was very quiet, so there was no excuse for poor service. I wouldn't go back. Macdonalds really needs to sort out this resort. I would suggest you pay a bit more and go to Aspects (free transport provided).

  • Visited August 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MacdonaldAviemore, Manager at Scottish Steak Club, responded to this review, August 2, 2013
I can only appologise on behalf of all the team here at Scottish Steak Club, We as a team will take all of your comments on board, your feedback is very important to us, to allow us to learn from our downfalls, and recify any future situations that may arise concerning customer service. if you feel that you were not given the service you required, then we can only appologise for any misgivings.
Your feedback has been very important from a training point of view, we will as a team use your comments to build a more effective team within the restaurant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nethy Bridge, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Scottish, tasty, superb”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

First impressions are very positive when you enter the club from the street, tasteful scottish decor and furnishings and its surprisingly large, the restaurant was not a let down, again tastefully decorated, the waiter and waitresses encountered were extremely professional and attentive, the menu was quite varied, the chips and steaks are also delicious.

The bar area seemed to do good trade. They have good quality ingredients and superb service on the two occasions we have dined there. And we will definately return

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MacdonaldAviemore, Director of Sales at Scottish Steak Club, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for your great review on TripAdvisor. I am delighted to hear that you had an enjoyable lunch with us. Our daily specials are an excellent value for money and I am glad to read that you really enjoyed both the atmosphere and the food itself.

Hope to see you stopping by again soon.

Kind regards,

Zsolt Balogh
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Scottish Steak Club also viewed

Aviemore, Aviemore and the Cairngorms
Aviemore, Aviemore and the Cairngorms
 
Aviemore, Aviemore and the Cairngorms
Aviemore, Aviemore and the Cairngorms
 

Been to Scottish Steak Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Scottish Steak Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.